This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

122 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

92% success

Oryx

65% success

Giraffe

63% success

Black Rhino

35% success

Zebra

35% success

Wildebeest

6% success

Spotted Hyena

6% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 122
Duration
Arrival date
Mr and Mrs B
Chiswick

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2024
"We stayed three nights in Damaraland Camp. It is a remote camp in an area of staggeringly beautiful mountains.

Our main reason for going there was to track black rhinos on foot. We had a wonderful rhino encounter in a valley about an hour’s drive from the camp where we saw a mother and calf on the valley floor and three adult rhinos up on a ridge above. We approached the rhinos on foot. One of the adults came down from the ridge to the valley floor and came to within about 50 yards of us.

We were also lucky to see a herd of about 30 desert adapted elephants in a dry river bed on our last day. They had left the area for about two weeks so we were lucky to catch them. Apart from the rhinos and elephants, the only animals we saw over three days of game drives were three scrub hares and two black-backed jackals (and 11 ostriches on the drive back to Doro Nawas air strip). However, our visit was in April which we were told is not a peak game viewing month.

Many of the bush roads we travelled along were covered in rocks and were very bumpy. You need to be prepared for an “African massage”!

The camp was very comfortable and we enjoyed our room.. The food was outstanding. It was varied, imaginative and delicious. It was some of the best we had eaten over many years of safaris.

We were particularly impressed by the staff. They were cheerful, friendly and helpful and seemed to take delight in their work and in each others’ company.


Our guide, Joas, was very experienced, knowledgeable and personable. He was a pleasure to be with." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs A
Kent

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2023
"Damaraland is a special place. The welcome and send-off from the staff was unique. The staff were all so kind and helpful, and made us feel totally at home. Special mention must go to our guide, Joas. He is a deeply courteous and thoughtful man - we loved our trips out with him, including some walks on the trails surrounding the camp. We were thrilled to see the desert adapted elephants in the dry river bed and amazed that we were able to get so close to them.

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay here." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

The S Family
Plymouth

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Aug 2023
"One of the most welcoming places we have ever stayed. Their ability to deliver such hospitality in the “middle of nowhere” is spectacular.

We were accompanied in our 4wd from the road to the lodge to be welcomed with singing, refreshing towels and juice.

Our guide was knowledgeable and attentive. Whilst most go to see the desert adapted elephants (which we did on three occasions) he was equally keen for us to learn about other aspects of the environment and culture. He was keen for us to drive across the desert to the rock art and living museums and we were not disappointed!

We particularly enjoyed a short walk on our day of departure.

We only spent two nights at DWC but could easily have spent longer had time allowed." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

VicJ
Perth Scotland

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2023
"Particularly lucky that for one day we were the only guests (same at Kulala).

Wonderful attention from staff - LLewellyn, Richard, and others. Special candlelit barbecue in hills behind camp unbelievable.

Game drive excellent. Room excellent.

Who knew that desert landscape could be so interesting?" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

PC Green
Schrassig

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2022
"Highlight, upfront with Elephant. Camp all round was very good." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Dr.C&Mrs.M
Manchester

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2022
"As we were the only guests at this resort the care was unparalleled to anything we had received anywhere. Surprise dinners under the stars, long chats with staff and sharing experiences .

Manager/ Chef (who shared recipes ) staff were fantastic. Our guide was extremely knowledgable and helpful.

We had forgotten our water flask and had taken off on short flight to pick up another passenger from a neighbouring camp . We were surprised beyond belief when the guide drove up to that airstrip to hand us the water bottle. He deserves a medal." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Mr and Mrs F.
USA

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2022
"The camp and staff were great, we really enjoyed stargazing at night.

The chef was the best on our trip and did an amazing braai our first night under the stars. We came back late one day from a Rhino drive and decided to go straight back rather than stop and eat. The staff surprised us with a picnic lunch under a grove of trees near the camp. They didn't have to do that but it was a wonderful surprise and very welcome.

Little touches like a hot water bottle in the bed on a chilly evening were extra special." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2021
"The views around Wilderness Safaris’ Damaraland Camp and in the Torra Conservancy go on forever. The red earth is punctuated by ash bushes, euphorbia and the occasional shepherd’s tree. Look in another direction and you will see jumbles of rocks of every color, mountains of all shapes and eventually the wide, sandy Huab riverbed. And there are vistas that are otherworldly. It is a landscape that is at the same time harsh and so beautiful it will move you to tears.

The sight of a small family of desert-adapted elephants moving slowly across this vast, dry environment feels very lonely. Black rhino call this part of Namibia home as well. They are studied and kept safe through the efforts of Save the Rhino Trust whose trackers are in the field every day. These animals are magnificent, even when viewed from a great distance. Giraffe wander the vastness and watch safari vehicles bouncing along the rocky roads with curiosity. Springbok head for the hills when they hear us coming. Guinea fowl, aka ‘government chickens’ because no one owns them, wander in small flocks. We were fortunate to spot a family of double-banded sandgrouse with newly hatched chicks. It is amazing how many animals can exist is this difficult environment.

Damaraland camp is less fancy than any of the other camps we stayed in during this trip to Africa, but that doesn’t matter at all. The individual rooms are more than comfortable, and on a chilly evening we were thrilled to find hot water bottles in our bed when we returned from dinner. Camp manager Helen (of Troy), who called us Nancy (Drew) and Peter (Pan), has created a fun and musical camp atmosphere. The camp staff are the best and the food was outstanding.

Damaraland Camp put an exclamation point at the end of our best visit to Africa yet. You won’t want to miss it when you visit Namibia.

Note: The roads are very rough in this area if you have a sensitive back but that did not bother us." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr K
New York

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2021
"Beautiful location.

I was scheduled to be picked up by the camp at the road end, but arrived early and decided to drive. Road was fine. It was very cold when I was in camp, but I was well taken care of (arrived back from dinner to find 2 hot water bottles in bed).

I was originally booked to go to the Desert Rhino Camp and was a bit skeptical about the substitution. The guide, Bons, was exceptional. We found two rhinos on both days and each sighting was better than the last. Amazing to be standing there with a rhino walking towards you completely unaware of your presence and then have to retreat because she was getting too close." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
New Jersey

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2021
"We had a good stay at Damaraland camp.

The location is stunning. Rooms very basic.

Food was a lowlight.

Boma setting was exceptional but food quality for really all of the meals fell short. Guiding very good.

Staff very friendly and personable." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 122
95%
122 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
98
21
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (469 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (152 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (115 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (115 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (97 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


83% (54 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (38 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


82% (9 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


97% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa