This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

116 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

89% success

Oryx

69% success

Giraffe

53% success

Zebra

38% success

Black Rhino

33% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Spotted Hyena

8% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 116
Duration
Arrival date
Mr and Mrs F.
USA

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2022
"The camp and staff were great, we really enjoyed stargazing at night.

The chef was the best on our trip and did an amazing braai our first night under the stars. We came back late one day from a Rhino drive and decided to go straight back rather than stop and eat. The staff surprised us with a picnic lunch under a grove of trees near the camp. They didn't have to do that but it was a wonderful surprise and very welcome.

Little touches like a hot water bottle in the bed on a chilly evening were extra special." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Pete & Nancy
Stockton

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2021
"The views around Wilderness Safaris’ Damaraland Camp and in the Torra Conservancy go on forever. The red earth is punctuated by ash bushes, euphorbia and the occasional shepherd’s tree. Look in another direction and you will see jumbles of rocks of every color, mountains of all shapes and eventually the wide, sandy Huab riverbed. And there are vistas that are otherworldly. It is a landscape that is at the same time harsh and so beautiful it will move you to tears.

The sight of a small family of desert-adapted elephants moving slowly across this vast, dry environment feels very lonely. Black rhino call this part of Namibia home as well. They are studied and kept safe through the efforts of Save the Rhino Trust whose trackers are in the field every day. These animals are magnificent, even when viewed from a great distance. Giraffe wander the vastness and watch safari vehicles bouncing along the rocky roads with curiosity. Springbok head for the hills when they hear us coming. Guinea fowl, aka ‘government chickens’ because no one owns them, wander in small flocks. We were fortunate to spot a family of double-banded sandgrouse with newly hatched chicks. It is amazing how many animals can exist is this difficult environment.

Damaraland camp is less fancy than any of the other camps we stayed in during this trip to Africa, but that doesn’t matter at all. The individual rooms are more than comfortable, and on a chilly evening we were thrilled to find hot water bottles in our bed when we returned from dinner. Camp manager Helen (of Troy), who called us Nancy (Drew) and Peter (Pan), has created a fun and musical camp atmosphere. The camp staff are the best and the food was outstanding.

Damaraland Camp put an exclamation point at the end of our best visit to Africa yet. You won’t want to miss it when you visit Namibia.

Note: The roads are very rough in this area if you have a sensitive back but that did not bother us." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana; 7n in Namibia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr K
New York

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2021
"Beautiful location.

I was scheduled to be picked up by the camp at the road end, but arrived early and decided to drive. Road was fine. It was very cold when I was in camp, but I was well taken care of (arrived back from dinner to find 2 hot water bottles in bed).

I was originally booked to go to the Desert Rhino Camp and was a bit skeptical about the substitution. The guide, Bons, was exceptional. We found two rhinos on both days and each sighting was better than the last. Amazing to be standing there with a rhino walking towards you completely unaware of your presence and then have to retreat because she was getting too close." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs P
New Jersey

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2021
"We had a good stay at Damaraland camp.

The location is stunning. Rooms very basic.

Food was a lowlight.

Boma setting was exceptional but food quality for really all of the meals fell short. Guiding very good.

Staff very friendly and personable." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
L family
Germany

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2021
"We are a family of four travelling with two teenagers. Our overall experience at Damaraland and Damaraland Camp was excellent. Damaraland Camp setting is impressive, however, the best part of our experience was meeting its people: Patricia, Donovan, Llewellyn, Richard and Colin.

We arrived late from Swakopmund the first night and were welcome with refreshments and a small singing performance by all the staff. We were shown to our rooms and dinner was ready in short order. The overall quality of the food/drinks was excellent, dinner, breakfast and during tea time. Also, no attention was spared to make us feel welcome.

As for the premises, everything was excellent, our lodges, facilities (swimming pool), the view and the setting, the terrace.

On our last night, we were trated to grill dinner at the small Boma with candlelight and a small bonfire. This was the cherry on top of the cake.

Again, the best part of the experience, was meeting the local people and having the opportunity to learn more about and from them and have some nice conversations." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

FunOnly
Calgary

"Great facility in rugged terrain"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2019
"Our stay at Damaraland Camp was at the end of three busy weeks of Safari and sightseeing so we were a bit jaded and fatigued. We would have rated it excellent if we had started our trip there.

The property has well laid out chalets and very comfortable common areas. It was the only camp that offered WiFi in each individual chalet, but strangely it was not available at the main lodge! However given a choice it is better to have it in the chalets only if we had to choose!

Damaraland Camp had the strongest association with the local community and culture of all the camps in Namibia or Botswana. The traditional BBQ in the wooden stockade and the mountain top breakfast was special. We also loved that the staff sang in the local language and announced the dinner menu in both English and the "click" language.

Our Guide, Limbo, took us to see the desert adapted animals, including Elephant, Giraffe, Oryx and Springbok. The highlight was being able to track and view a Black Rhino at close range, an unexpected bonus!

The scenery here is true Desert and in a lot of ways is similar to the American southwest of Utah, Arizona and New Mexico but with terrible unimproved roads. The main difference is culture of the people and the presence of wildlife. Expect to spend two to three times as long if driving between destinations." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Zebra

2 sightings

Mr L
Leicestershire

"Wonderfull"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2019
"Only regret was that we couldn`t stay longer.

Luckily we were there for the night of the Boamer, a great experience with everyone sitting round one table, more`s the pity more places don`t have one big table for all the guests.

Staff absolutely great." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Harrow

"V good guides and camp but wildlife v sparse"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2019
"Good rhino sightings of rhino and elephants but wildlife and birdlife v sparse.

Good guide with good knowledge. Food OK but not great." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs N
USA

"Beautiful csmp"

3 nights Arrived 14 Jan 2019
"Beautifully appointed camp. Enjoyed bush blast - One Boma meal was enough - we got two!

The search for desert rhino went on way too long - we were all exhausted by the day but Richards kept going then got us back late after a harrowing ride back to camp" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 16n in Tanzania; 10n in Botswana; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Halifax

"Great camp but poor food"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Everything about this camp was excellent except for the food which was poor, except for breakfast.

It is set in a beautiful location and the accommodation is very good with a feel of Africa about it. Very good game drive when we saw a large group of elephants which we were able to photograph against a backdrop of beautiful mountains.

Staff very friendly and helpful and noted we had a slow puncture just as we were about to depart and without asking repaired the puncture for us without charge - and washed our car!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 116
95%
116 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
93
20
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (438 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (133 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (111 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (103 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (91 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (51 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (25 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (6 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa