This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Mr JM & co
Portugal

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 May 2017
"Lovely camp with excellent accommodation and food.Great welcome by singing and dancing staff who seemed to be very happy welcoming all their guests.

Very interesting village visit meeting the head man who explained the history of the village as well as his own personal history which was quite amazing." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
N & R
Essex

"Many Surprises"

2 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2017
"The surprise bush breakfast was fantastic and the toilet in the same location really made us giggle.
Lunch under the trees and the bush dinner were also lovely.
The guide we had was very disappointing and if anything he seemed angry the whole time. Again he failed to explain about all the small things and even when we asked he was not interested." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
Lancs

"ex"

3 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"another ex stay and staff here are exceptional but I guess its the management that really makes the difference here.

Management were there all the time welcoming you back from drives and eating with you at meals. We particularly love the fact that everyone eats together at one table almost like a large family. The atmosphere was so friendly. Guides and drives were ex

Pool was excellent. Food was excellent. Wonderful from start to finish" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Swindon

"Damaraland Camp."

3 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2017
"A nice large room but it's layout is not altogether practical. I gather that management is aware of the shortcomings. The chief problem is that the bathroom door is a roll up affair made of canvas with miles of cord to raise or lower it, life is too short to struggle with it. But without a door anyone on the verandah looks straight at the W.C.! I though the food here was sometimes a bit variable. But being dependant on the skills available in the local community must make it very difficult. The staff are charming all smiles and songs but do their work efficiently. The afternoon activities are a bit restricted by the wind from the coast which blows up the Uniab valley causing a dust/sand storm every afternoon. This pretty much rules out the riverbed in the afternoon, we tried it and it was unpleasant. An enjoyable stay that could even been for three days." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs M
Egham

"A treat to stay here"

1 night Arrived 15 Nov 2016
"The drive up to the camp is stunning and is the lodge.

Fantastic room and ensuite with views down towards the mountains and the staff who were very entertaining with their singing were friendly and the food was delicious. Nice pool as well.

We didn't do any activities as we were only here for one night." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Bristol

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"A very beautiful camp in a stunning location.

We didn't have time to do any activities but the marked walks were great.

The 'family' meals are a great experience and the women staff were outstanding." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Clitheroe

"Welcome, welcome to DMC"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2016
"We missed the 14:00 pickup deadline, but this was no problem and we were quickly collected by our guide, Teek. As we cooled off with refreshing towels and drinks, the staff choir assembled to greet us with their welcome song performed in multi part harmony.

Dinner was a delight with the menu announced by Patricia and translated into the Damaraland tongue by Korbiana. After dinner the choir assembled once again to joyfully perform tracks from their CD. On Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays dinner is served in the Boma on the hill. This is an enchanting spot with a candle lit path from the lodge.

An exciting morning trip took us searching for the desert adapted elephants. Teek clearly loves these animals and spoke with passion about how they have adapted to their environment. The scenery is stunning and we enjoyed exploring the local geology.

Probably our favourite camp of the whole trip." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & D
Cork

"Remote luxury"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2016
"We were very impressed with Damaraland Camp. In such a remote location to achieve this level of accommodation and service is really something.

The main area was a lovely place to relax. The afternoon tea on arrival a lovely bonus. The staff were really lovely. The food was excellent as was the wine with dinner. The communal dining table was a good feature.

We went on a Drive in the morning with Teek our guide to look for the desert-adapted elephants which was excellent. He proved a good guide - very knowledgeable about the area." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms M
dublin 22

"Simply fantastic"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"we loved this camp it was one of our absolute favourites during the trip. We were made to feel so welcome by all the staff. The food was great and we were luck to be able to participate in a traditional evening meal outdoors. This was a real treat.

We had a lovely evening walk with Richardt when we arrived which was ideal after our long drive- the views were breathtaking. The following morning we had a drive to find the desert elephants - Richardt is so knowledgeable and he made sure we got great photos without interfering in the elephants' routine we also had the added bonus of Richardt finding some giraffe.

our only minor comment was that everyone went to bed and the bar etc closed right after dinner. I know most people want to head off to bed early but we were on our holidays and would have liked to lounge around a bit over a drink. this is a minor point though and didn't take away from our stay at all.

This is a really special place." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Damaraland Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Aug 2016
"Excellent rooms, friendly staff and a wonderful boma dinner. We were given no information about the activities on offer though which was very annoying - we found out was available from other guests by which time it was too late to do everything that we wanted. Having said that we did go on an excellent trip to find the elephants and see the rock paintings.

If you go walking on one of the trails then be aware that only the start is marked and the Shepherd's Trail at least just peters out and isn't a circular walk. We ended up walking along animal tracks before turning back as we were in danger of getting lost.

The drive to the camp from the road is not too difficult in a 4WD." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (89 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa