This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs E from Herts

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

5

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

2

My Sep 2018 trip

Namibia between 18 Sep 2018 and 7 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia was an amazing place to visit - quite different from any other country we've been to in Africa - the landscapes were awesome.

Starting the trip at Galton House and ending it there was excellent - it gave us time to recover from the flights etc and at the end of the holiday we could relax, have a shower, a nice meal and get out of our safari clothes, put our normal clothes on ready for the return home and generally chill out!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Flying between camps was ideal as having spoken to people who were driving the distances involved were long and this meant they couldn't cover as much ground as we did. When the Brandt guide is next updated you may want to note that the restaurant 22 Degrees South is closed.

We recommended Expert Africa to several people who were thinking of future African adventures so hopefully more business will come your way in the future."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"Perfect place to overnight on the start and finish of the trip. Lovely staff.

After the trip David said it was like an oasis in the desert!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"Good food, good guides and activities."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Strand Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"The rooms were lovely and the staff very attentive.

Service in the Farmhouse Deli restaurant was haphazard and slow.

Breakfast was ok but nothing special."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Of all the camps this was probably the most ordinary.

The highlight as far as food was concerned was breakfast on the hill top to see the sunrise - that was really good and took a lot of effort on behalf of the camp staff.

Again the guide was good."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2018
"Very luxurious.

Modern and well appointed.

Good food and varied activities."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"A good camp and one of the best guides of the trip.

The trip to Etosha wasn't as good as the drives we had around the reserve. Etosha we thought was rather overrated."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2018
"Another luxury camp but I was really annoyed to see that they water their lawns! There are notices in the bathrooms asking guests to conserve water and then they waste water watering the lawns. A very mixed message considering this is a very arid environment. I did make this comment to them on their feedback form.

Apart from that the guide was good and the food good also.

I haven't included the animals in the Afri cat compounds in the survey as they are basically captive."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"as before [Ed: see below]"
Excellent

My Sep 2015 trip

Botswana and 1 other country between 5 Sep 2015 and 19 Sep 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"A magical experience as always in Africa and especially Botswana.

We would like to go back to Africa again in the future - it's a place that keeps drawing you back.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I would not book an African holiday with any other company other than Expert Africa. You are simply the best!"

Baines' Camp

Baines' Camp

"Baines' Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2015
"Facilities were very good - they even supplied slippers, hair dryers and dressing robes.

The safety briefing was very thorough and our guide was excellent.

Mel, the locum manager was brilliant, especially as I had a bad reaction to my malaria tablets - she got me back on track straight away. She was very "on the ball" and made sure everything ran smoothly.

We arranged an Elephant Experience for them here - and they commented:

So worth doing. A magical experience I would recommend to anyone with a love of elephants.

At no time did we feel in any way threatened by these huge animals. To be able to actually get up close and touch them was a rare privilege"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elephant Activity

Elephant Activity

"A Magical Experience"

7 Sep 2015 • Morning excursion

So worth doing. A magical experience I would recommend to anyone with a love of elephants.

At no time did we feel in any way threatened by these huge animals. To be able to actually get up close and touch them was a rare privalige
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2015
"The camp was more basic than the other 2 we went to - no wooden walkways - just tracks to the cabins.

The facilities were not as good - no provision of robes or slippers.

We didn't get a safety briefing before our first game drive (perhaps they assumed all safety aspects had been covered at the previous camp - but they should have still gone over safety issues)

The floor in shower was wooden and polished. It was very slippery when wet."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura review"

4 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2015
"Lovely camp - our favourite of the 3. Plenty of variation in the activities due to its location in the Delta. Robes and slippers supplied.

Al the staff wore name labels - so very useful. I wish all camps would follow suit.

The Land Rovers were covered and the seats seemed extra padded - very comfy when bouncing about on the "roads" having an "African massage"!

Guides very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2015
"Pure luxury!

Staying at the hotel after the safari was definitely the best way to end the holiday - gave us time to relax and enjoy some free time. Would definitely stay there again."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Express

Royal Livingstone Express

"All aboard!"

16 Sep 2015 • Afternoon excursion

Another very relaxing and enjoyable excursion.

The meal was first class and the staff very attentive and courteous. Would recommend this to any one staying in Livingstone.
Excellent

Our 26th anniversary trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 24 Sep 2013 and 4 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"It was excellent - we have wonderful memories of a really fabulous part of Africa to make our anniversary a date to remember.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You have a very good reputation in the camps as they like the fact that each person in the Expert Africa team is an expert on the country they deal with. We wouldn't book with any one else for an Africa trip."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Beho Beho review"

5 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2013
"They thought of everything - even down to supplying washing powder. The food was first class - as good as any restaurant and the staff were all very friendly and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team