This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

111 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

87% success

Oryx

67% success

Giraffe

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Wildebeest

10% success

Black Rhino

9% success

Spotted Hyena

9% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 111
Duration
Arrival date
Wendy
Melbourne

"Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"This camp was the disappointment of the trip.

Because we did not fit into the guide's routine, we felt that we missed out. Firstly, we missed out on the breakfast 'out', because we did not want to go in search of desert adapted elephants, which we had seen lots of at Desert Rhino. We weren't given the option of the breakfast even though it would have fitted in with the walks we did on our own in the morning.

Secondly, we told the guide when we met him that we were interested in going to the petroglyphs. We were essentially told it was too far and depended on others wanting to do it as well. We agreed to withdraw our wish. We later found out that other guests had indeed gone for the day. Very disappointing.

Thirdly, the guide had arranged for us to go on an evening drive on our second day, but it became apparent when we waiting for him, that he was preparing to go on a walk. When approached, he did change his plans and we did go on the drive, but neither of us was all that happy." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Very enjoyable stay at Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"On arrival, I was greeted by a lovely welcoming team determined and genuine to make your stay enjoyable. The atmosphere around the camp is very good. The guide (Elias) was professional and with very pleasant manners. Even though my stay was short, I felt we did a lot with a desert breakfast, great sightings of the desert adapted elephants, a full day drive with a visit to Twyfelfontein, and a Boma dinner in a gorgeous setting to round up the day. On my last morning, I walked the Sheppard's trail. Some of the roads are bumpy, but the surrounding landscape is truly beautiful! " See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Samantha
London

"Beautiful Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"We loved Damaraland - beautiful landscapes and also got the chance to do some walking which was very welcome after a lot of sitting in vans. Rooms were lovely, though I'd ask to be away form the communal areas next time as noise of clearing up and then early morning setting up did carry.

Great activities including drives to look for desert adapted elephants, and really fantastic staff. Some confusion about whether you could drive to it yourself - if you have a 4x4 then do as we wasted a lot of time hanging around as the message didn't get through about our arrival time.

We loved the outdoors evening meals at the boma, and learning click language. Highly recommend staying." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"What an absolute treasure - Damaraland Camp "

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"We really really loved our stay here and with hindsight, would have had an extra night here. On the extra day we could have taken a couple of unguided walks (this is not possible at many places) and sat either on our verandah or in the common area and just soaked up the views.

Were lucky enough to have had arrived on one of the days when they have a special bush dinner in a Boma. This enclosure was set up like fairyland. We also had a bush breakfast which was at a lookout point.

We also enjoyed the shared dining experience on our other night here.

On our first drive we tracked the elephants along the river for a whole morning watching them grazing, and then after our graze on morning tea, we saw the two little ones sleeping while mum kept guard. Mum also had a dirt bath or was she trying to put up a dirt screen? Next morning when we left the camp we saw 'our group of elephants' again.

Our second drive was to a local kindergarten which was both inspiring (the government providing a kindergarten/childcare in such a remote location) and somewhat heartbreaking as some little ones seemed very eager for our attention. After that we visited a nearby village which was supported by the camp. Unlike some of our experiences in other countries, this visit was an enlightening insight into the lives of some of the people that still live on the land in this conservancy.

It is great when the guide, as our guide did here, talks to you only when they have stopped the vehicle.

And that's not all! The staff here were especially warm happy and friendly and we were treated to a couple of joyous singing performances.
" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Mr G
Alstonville

"Great desert camp"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"Remote desert camp among the hills. Very helpful and friendly staff. Can do a few short walks here. Visit to a local village and a separate kindergarten were illuminating. Rough, rocky road in if you drive yourself, so best to leave vehicle at the main road and be ferried in. A great experience overall." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr M
Midlothian

"DCamp great despite torrential rain"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2018
"Our first real Namibian wildlife experience. Camp and accommodation was great.

Staff were delightful and food was good. Despite getting one years rain in one afternoon and the camp flooding we had a great time.

Saw the ellies before the skies opened." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D
Cambridge

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Damaraland. The staff were absolutely wonderful and felt like they were connected to the community. Our drives out to the riverbed included some excellent elephant sightings and the guide really knew how to approach them. We got extremely close to these amazing animals, in was that would not likely have happened without the guide. Additionally, we were treated to a traditional meal out in the moonlight one evening, and a breakfast with a spectacular view. Truly memorable." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L
Heathfield

"The best place we stayed on our holiday"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2017
"We would give Damaraland Camp the accolade of 'best camp we stayed in on our holiday'! Everything was so well done, from the welcome, to the activities and the food. The staff couldn't have done more to make our stay enjoyable.

There was a large party of 14 staying at the camp at the same time as us, leaving us as the only couple. This could have been awkward but the staff went out of their way to talk with us and make sure that we had all we needed. They even gave us a hut on the edge of the camp so that we would have a quiet stay.

Situated in the true wilderness of Damaraland, our pick up from the village (where we left our car over our stay) to the camp half an hour away was prompt and efficient. We were given a very warm welcome (singing and drinks!) and then the manager spent some time chatting to us.

Our hut was beautiful, with a smart bathroom and lovely view over the mountains. Little lanterns guided us on the path to the main area after dark. The food was great and we enjoyed the singing and dancing entertainment provided by the staff after dinner!

We had one whole day at the camp and discussed with our guide that we would like to see the desert elephants and also the etchings at Twyfelfontein. He suggested that we leave before dawn and have breakfast on the road, returning for a late lunch in the afternoon and we agreed. Shortly after leaving, he turned off the road and climbed a steep hill. To our amazement the staff had set up breakfast on the hill top- including a stove! We saw the sunrise as we ate our freshly prepared scrambled eggs. They do this regularly but it was lovely that they kept it as a surprise for their guests.
We did see the desert elephants up close, watching them for some time. On returning after a full day they served us a lovely lunch, as promised.

In the evening, again kept as a surprise although a regular event, dinner was served at a Boma which is hidden from sight from the camp. We were guided to it by candles along the path and it was a lovely evening.

What makes Damaraland Camp stand out is that the staff really work as a well-managed, happy team. They chat to their guests in a non-intrusive way and go that 'extra mile' to ensure they are well cared for. We were quite emotional when they all sang a farewell song to us as we left. We cannot recommend the place highly enough.

" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Bucks

" Wonderful, special place with fabulous staff"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2017
"We cannot praise this camp enough.

Boertie, our guide was fabulous. He spent hours tracking and circling around the desert adapted elephants and he never gave up. Eventually we found the whole group and spent a good time observing the family including baby Christmas. A special time.
Thank you so much Boertie...

Everything about this camp is fabulous - the welcome, the staff, their good humour and sense of fun, and their desire to make every stay an experience is evident from the moment one arrives. Food was super - breakfast, lunch and dinner, and a lovely evening at the boma eating outside under the stars.
Interesting walks in stunning scenery nearby. Even had an astronomy lesson!

We feel privileged to have been to this very special place. Heartily recommended." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & PJ
Reading

"Friendly community at Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2017
"The staff welcomed new visitors with singing, sang to us after the evening meal and sang farewell. They are very friendly and happy to talk. We did not go on the day-long activity to look for desert elephants that most people went on, but went on a walk with a guide and later visited the nearby village. Next day we gave a lift to a young woman from the village from Damaraland towards Etosha, where she worked.

We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere which encouraged guests and staff to talk to each other.

Our voucher stated that we were only entitled to Half Board which is what we expected. On our second day the administrator apologised and said that there had been a mix up, which he had sorted out, and that we were actually entitled to Full Board and free activities. We were happy to accept this. It possibly saved us £100 in lunch and two minor activities.
" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 111
95%
111 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
89
19
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (88 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa