This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp
Damaraland Camp

Reviews of Damaraland Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

117 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Damaraland Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jul-2018, 22 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Damaraland Camp.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

90% success

Oryx

71% success

Giraffe

58% success

Zebra

41% success

Black Rhino

31% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Spotted Hyena

7% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 117
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs S
Halifax

"Great camp but poor food"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2018
"Everything about this camp was excellent except for the food which was poor, except for breakfast.

It is set in a beautiful location and the accommodation is very good with a feel of Africa about it. Very good game drive when we saw a large group of elephants which we were able to photograph against a backdrop of beautiful mountains.

Staff very friendly and helpful and noted we had a slow puncture just as we were about to depart and without asking repaired the puncture for us without charge - and washed our car!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"We felt part of a family"

2 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"We stayed here for two nights and both nights were very different. We opted to be collected from the meeting point as they had said the drive from there was a bit more difficult. As we had come from Sesriem and had encountered some bad roads we thought this would be easier, which it was. We were welcomed to the camp by Gwen and her team who serenaded us and gave us a welcome drink before showing us around. You truly felt like part of the family at this camp, with all the people working there being locals.

We were shown to our tented cabin (Number 1), which was the furthest from the main building up the hill. This camp has a lovely feel to it and you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere, well you are! The cabin was very spacious with a super king bed facing out towards the hill. The bathroom is very spacious with his and hers sinks and a large shower area. There is also an outside balcony. There is a turn down service and they put the mosquito nets down and close the window flaps. The pool at the main building is unheated but wasn’t too cold and there are plenty of loungers and towels for you to sit and relax or get a drink from the bar.

The first night we stayed there were a variety of nationalities staying and we all sat on a long table. It was very sociable. The second night there was us and a group of Spanish tourists so we had a seperate table as most of them didn't seem to speak english and Gwen thought that would be better for us, they were very thoughtful like that. The food was very good on both nights, with the second being a bbq along a short path away from the main building. Wine was also served with the meal and for pre dinner drinks, which was unexpected. We also had lunch on our second day which again was very tasty and well cooked, although we were given massive portions.

Elias was allocated as our guide and he was very knowledgeable and easy to get along with. We did the morning game drive and as all the other people were checking out that day, this was a private drive. We tracked some desert adapted elephants who were from the north and a bit grumpy, they even tried to charge us! Also saw various other animals including desert adapted mountain zebras. There is a lovely surprise to this game drive, which I will not tell you about so you get the surprise too! We also did a guided walk with Elias to the top of the hill beyond the camp. You get some great views up there and it wasn’t too difficult to do.

Overall this camp was definitely the most friendliest and Gwen and the staff do a great job. If I went back to Namibia this camp would definitely be on my list." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr M & Mrs R
London

"Excellent, community-run camp."

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2018
"This was the best of the three camps we stayed at. The staff were very warm, friendly and helpful. It appeared to be managed by Wilderness Safaris but run by the local community. On our first morning my wife and I were driven a short distance into the hills for breakfast where we were amazed to find that a table with a white tablecloth and chairs with white covers and decorated with coloured shawls had been set out for breakfast for us and our guide. A member of staff and a waiter and a chef, with a barbecue for a hot breakfast, were waiting for just the two of us. We felt really pampered.

There was a single large dining table for all the guests where we exchanged experiences. On the second night dinner was served near a boma in a large kraal or stockade made of stakes with romantic lighting. We ate at a large table and had buffet service. It was a most enjoyable experience. A manager was always present at dinner.

We had a knowledgeable local guide who took us on a walk on the first afternoon and then for a long drive the following morning. We saw a pair of ostritches looking after about 20 babies, oryx and a herd of desert elephants." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs E
Hereford

"Damaraland Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2018
"Of all the camps this was probably the most ordinary.

The highlight as far as food was concerned was breakfast on the hill top to see the sunrise - that was really good and took a lot of effort on behalf of the camp staff.

Again the guide was good." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Oryx

2 sightings

Mr D.
Chelmsford

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs Braddock
UK

"Damaraland camp"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"I admit to being somewhat concerned at the instructions provided for directions to this camp. A 13km drive after turning off the road and on tracks that were described as requiring a 4X4. Now, we had indeed hired a 4X4 and although special care was needed in some places provided care was taken, the drive wasn't bad. But intrigue mounted as the road wound itself deeper and higher into the mountains eventually leading into the camp!

Fabulous reception with an open aspect that at night was transformed into a magical setting with burning fire with oh so comfortable sofas around to relax on, the fire taking away the chill of a desert night. Food was served at a large communal table affording the demand that all guests sit together giving the ability to exchange stories!!! Meals were "announced" with a degree of flourish describing our forthcoming culinary delights with pride and announcing the accompanying wine with heart felt pride!

Barriers broken down between guests as they sit together over a meal conversation flowed easily helped by the attentive staff until it was time to retire. Now, I must say that the lighting to our individual chalet was somewhat limited, however, that suited me as I could then step out only a few yards away from our chalet and set up my camera to photograph inky black skies of Namibia studded with oh so many twinkling stars!!!!

Such an awe inspiring Milky Way arching majestically over the camp!!!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Wendy
Melbourne

"Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"This camp was the disappointment of the trip.

Because we did not fit into the guide's routine, we felt that we missed out. Firstly, we missed out on the breakfast 'out', because we did not want to go in search of desert adapted elephants, which we had seen lots of at Desert Rhino. We weren't given the option of the breakfast even though it would have fitted in with the walks we did on our own in the morning.

Secondly, we told the guide when we met him that we were interested in going to the petroglyphs. We were essentially told it was too far and depended on others wanting to do it as well. We agreed to withdraw our wish. We later found out that other guests had indeed gone for the day. Very disappointing.

Thirdly, the guide had arranged for us to go on an evening drive on our second day, but it became apparent when we waiting for him, that he was preparing to go on a walk. When approached, he did change his plans and we did go on the drive, but neither of us was all that happy." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Ms D
Ireland

"Very enjoyable stay at Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2018
"On arrival, I was greeted by a lovely welcoming team determined and genuine to make your stay enjoyable. The atmosphere around the camp is very good. The guide (Elias) was professional and with very pleasant manners. Even though my stay was short, I felt we did a lot with a desert breakfast, great sightings of the desert adapted elephants, a full day drive with a visit to Twyfelfontein, and a Boma dinner in a gorgeous setting to round up the day. On my last morning, I walked the Sheppard's trail. Some of the roads are bumpy, but the surrounding landscape is truly beautiful!" See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

5 sightings

Samantha
London

"Beautiful Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"We loved Damaraland - beautiful landscapes and also got the chance to do some walking which was very welcome after a lot of sitting in vans. Rooms were lovely, though I'd ask to be away form the communal areas next time as noise of clearing up and then early morning setting up did carry.

Great activities including drives to look for desert adapted elephants, and really fantastic staff. Some confusion about whether you could drive to it yourself - if you have a 4x4 then do as we wasted a lot of time hanging around as the message didn't get through about our arrival time.

We loved the outdoors evening meals at the boma, and learning click language. Highly recommend staying." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr R
Australia

"What an absolute treasure - Damaraland Camp "

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2018
"We really really loved our stay here and with hindsight, would have had an extra night here. On the extra day we could have taken a couple of unguided walks (this is not possible at many places) and sat either on our verandah or in the common area and just soaked up the views.

Were lucky enough to have had arrived on one of the days when they have a special bush dinner in a Boma. This enclosure was set up like fairyland. We also had a bush breakfast which was at a lookout point.

We also enjoyed the shared dining experience on our other night here.

On our first drive we tracked the elephants along the river for a whole morning watching them grazing, and then after our graze on morning tea, we saw the two little ones sleeping while mum kept guard. Mum also had a dirt bath or was she trying to put up a dirt screen? Next morning when we left the camp we saw 'our group of elephants' again.

Our second drive was to a local kindergarten which was both inspiring (the government providing a kindergarten/childcare in such a remote location) and somewhat heartbreaking as some little ones seemed very eager for our attention. After that we visited a nearby village which was supported by the camp. Unlike some of our experiences in other countries, this visit was an enlightening insight into the lives of some of the people that still live on the land in this conservancy.

It is great when the guide, as our guide did here, talks to you only when they have stopped the vehicle.

And that's not all! The staff here were especially warm happy and friendly and we were treated to a couple of joyous singing performances." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana; 3n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Showing 11-20 of 117
95%
117 reviews of Damaraland Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
93
21
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (447 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (139 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


95% (110 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


91% (93 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (52 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (34 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (31 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (7 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


80% (6 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


93% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa