This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by L family from Germany

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Mar 2021 trip

Namibia between 28 Mar 2021 and 9 Apr 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our overall trip experience was excellent. The decision to book the trip with Expert Africa was to a very large degree due to Sabina's advice, responsiveness and enagement to make sure I had all the necessary information and also to answer all my questions. Sabina was very good at providing the various tour options and accommodation combinations and subsequently at organising the whole tour once we had settled for an itinerary.

Sabina was in contact with me and/or available before departure and well as throughout the whole trip to help or provide advice. This was very good as a first traveler to Namibia as we felt that there was always someone available to help us with any unexpected situation. Sabina is very personable and also very good at what she does. I felt 100% comfortable dealing with her and receiving her advice.

The literature, advice and information provided was also comprehensive and very good. The map, itinerary and instructions were also very good and also the logistics and communication with the various lodges. They were all expecting us and checking in and a fast service was never an issue.

In particular the advice regarding the following points was useful:
- Purchase local Super Aweh SIM card at the airport
- Exchange EUR/USD at Maerua Shopping Mall in Windhoek/withdraw cash at Cash Machines along the trip (roughly 100 EUR per day on a self-drive tour to provide for fuel, food, entrance fees and payment for extra activities at the various locations)
- Covid tests in Windhoek (Rennies Travel)
- Payment of the tour quote in USD with Euro credit card (everything worked well with this)

The quality of all the lodges/accommodation was very good, except for Halali as already explained, and I also understand the reasons for it.

Doing a self-drive tour was also a good experience and luckily we did not experience any negative issues on the roads and also not with Herz the car rental company upon returning the car (Isuzu 4x4).

We were also lucky to meet another family with teenagers during out trip, which we coincided with at two locations during our trip, and so this was a very good experience for us and for our kids to get to know other people.

We would be very happy to book again another tour with Expert Africa and with Sabina in particular.

Damaraland Petrified Forest: One minor negative comment...
On the C39 road, a couple of Kms. from the crossing of the D2612 and the C39, on the right hand-side of the road there is a hand written sign for the Petrified Forest, we did not realised this is not the "official" site after driving into the side road a few hundred meters upto a parking and agreeing to pay N$100 per person to a "local community". The locals were very friendly and did show us some pertified trees lying on the ground in addition to some Welwitschias. This was only maximum 20 Minutes visit or so, it was interesting, however, it was clear that this was not the official site. All other archeological/official attractions provide an official fiscal receipt upon payment. We did not make an issue of it, however, were disappointed to be tricked into this site. Because of this experience and the time that we had already spent, later a few Kms. along the road we did not stop to visit the "official" Petrifed Forest."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Dead Valley Lodge

Dead Valley Lodge

"Dead Valley Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2021
"We are a family of four (travelling with two teenagers) and had a very good experience at the Death Valley Lodge. Even though we arrived late, we were promply checked in and helped to our lodges. A nice dinner buffet was already waiting.

The next morning, we got up very early and went to Dune 45 and Sossusvlei. Our guide Julio was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. We spent the whole morning and until lunch time together and the experience was definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

The food was excellent and so was the service. No attention was spared to make us feel welcome and the personnel were also family friendly. The lodge is managed in a sustainable way and as everywhere in Namibia attention to saving valuable resources, such as water are observed.

The lodge's location is excellent and so is the setting, individual lodges, amenities (swimming pool) and atmosphere.

Our overall experience was excellent and so we would gladly recommend it to other travelers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2021
"We are a family of four (travelling with two teenagers). Our overall experience was very good at the Cornerstone Guesthouse.

We had everything we needed for our stopover at Swakopmund. The location is very central, only a few minutes from the beach, center, supermarkets, cash machines, etc. Breakfast was very good. The owners and the personnel were very friendly and helpful.

We would gladly recommend the Cornerstone Guesthouse to other travelers."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2021
"We are a family of four travelling with two teenagers. Our overall experience at Damaraland and Damaraland Camp was excellent. Damaraland Camp setting is impressive, however, the best part of our experience was meeting its people: Patricia, Donovan, Llewellyn, Richard and Colin.

We arrived late from Swakopmund the first night and were welcome with refreshments and a small singing performance by all the staff. We were shown to our rooms and dinner was ready in short order. The overall quality of the food/drinks was excellent, dinner, breakfast and during tea time. Also, no attention was spared to make us feel welcome.

As for the premises, everything was excellent, our lodges, facilities (swimming pool), the view and the setting, the terrace.

On our last night, we were trated to grill dinner at the small Boma with candlelight and a small bonfire. This was the cherry on top of the cake.

Again, the best part of the experience, was meeting the local people and having the opportunity to learn more about and from them and have some nice conversations."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Apr 2021
"The best part of Halali Camp is it location within Etosha. We were able to start our days before sunrise and drive around to explore the park and see the wildlife.

Unfortunately, the quality of the premises and the service is poor. The room and the camp in general is in need of major maintenance. It it clear to me that Namibia Wildlife Resorts is not sufficiently reinvesting not only in maintaining but also in improving the premises and the services offered at the Camp.

The personnel are friendly (this also depends on how you approach them), however, in general, they do not seem to be too service oriented. This is also a clear sign of how the whole Etosha Resorts are managed and not a reflection of the individual people.

Having said that, our beds and rooms were clean. However, the maintenance condition of the rooms, furnishings (worn out), appliances (kettle, terrace table and chairs) is poor in general.

The offering for dinner was quite limited, only three main dishes.

Breakfast was OK, normal breakfast buffet with toast, jam, eggs, bacon, coffee, tea.

For lunch, we had brought some food in advance and had sufficient snacks for a couple of days to eat whilst out visiting the park. However, I would recommend that travelers at least bring some of their own food.

We used the swimming pool at Halali, the pool is nice and clean although again some maintenance is needed in the pool itself and in the pool area.

During our stay (Easter time), the Resort was not too crowded, there were a few people camping. The service was not overwhelmed by the amount of people.

Even though we did not stay at Okaukuejo, we did pass through it three times to pay for the entrance fee and go to the toilet and try to buy food. One morning at the supermarket, most shelves were empty, there were only two loaves of bread in stock.

For the travelers, it would also be good to know that there are no Cash Machines anywhere inside the park, however, credit cards are widely accepted.

We also had issues getting fuel (diesel) at Namutoni, there was a problem with the pump and so it was not possible to get fuel there for a couple of days (the nearest place was to drive back to Halali or some 30 Kms. outside the park).

Overall, we would repeat our stay at Halali to be able to stay inside the park and make the most of our time in Etosha."
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Poor
Facilities
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Apr 2021
"We had an excellent experience at Mushara Bush Camp.

The service and the premises were very good, and so was the food and drinks.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the lodge atmosphere is family friendly. The manager was very helpful and gave us useful advise regarding touring the park and later for our return trip to Windhoek.

The swimming pool area is very good and refreshing after a whole day out in the park.

The restaurant and common area are very nice and spacious.

The location of the Camp is very good, only a short distance outside of Etosha and so it is easy to drive back in to spend the day in the East side of the park.

We did not do any activities at Mushara Camp nor did we see any wildlife inside the camp other than a small Antilope."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel

"Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2021
"The Am Weinberg was the last stop on our trip. It is well located in Klein Windhoek and in short distance to the center of Windhoek (supermarket, Covid test center, musea) and also to the international airport.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The facilities and amenities are very good as well as the Internet connection. The pool is in the spa area and so not in the main hotel building, it is small but sufficient for refreshing swim. No children below 12 yrs. are allowed.

The hotel offers a variety of restaurants and a very nice roof terrace with a beautiful view of the city.

We would gladly recommend the Am Weinberg to other travelers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team