This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr and Mrs F. from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Jan 2022 trip

Namibia between 22 Jan 2022 and 6 Feb 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall an amazing experience!

We had many adventures and met some wonderful people. We definitely preferred the lodges run by Wilderness Safaris and saw a level of service and hospitality above the other camps. In hindsight we would not have done two camps in Damaraland and felt it was a bit of a wasted opportunity to see another part of the country (a minor quibble).

Overall we are very happy with our experience and will (and have) recommended Expert Africa to people who might consider a trip to Africa."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jan 2022
"Very nice boutique hotel. Good way to start the trip and get over jet lag.

Room was fantastic!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Kulala

Little Kulala

"Little Kulala review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Jan 2022
"Amazing everything!

The people, place, we loved it all. We consider this the highlight of our trip! We are still in touch with some of the people we met at the camp there! Selma, the lodge manager, treated us like family, and Gabriel, our guide, became a friend.

It was nice that due to Covid there was only one other couple in the camp with us."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2022
"The camp and staff were great, we really enjoyed stargazing at night.

The chef was the best on our trip and did an amazing braai our first night under the stars. We came back late one day from a Rhino drive and decided to go straight back rather than stop and eat. The staff surprised us with a picnic lunch under a grove of trees near the camp. They didn't have to do that but it was a wonderful surprise and very welcome.

Little touches like a hot water bottle in the bed on a chilly evening were extra special."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2022
"In hindsight I would not have done another camp In Damaraland after the last one. I'd also note that since our first two experiences were so great our expectations were high.

The location of the camp and it's integration into the boulders was amazing. The sundowner location overlooking the cliff was great too. The food was below expectations. One evening we had a been served some tough meat and the manager didn't offer to replace the dish. My wife and I thought the manger tried a bit too hard and his attention to the guests was a bit forced and not sincere.

One after noon we went on a hike, took a wrong turn and found ourselves in the staff accommodation area. We were really disappointed to see the liquor bottles and trash strewn across the beautiful landscape around the area."
Average
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"Onguma The Fort review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2022
"This lodge was another highlight for us. We saw more animals on our short ride to the lodge from the airstrip than in our previous three camps, including a pride of lions!

Accommodations were top notch, maybe a bit over the top? No!

Amazing experience hearing three lions vocalizing one evening near the camp. Staff and guides were great and we had some amazing adventures in Etosha.

An extra touch was our guide shared some umbrella mushrooms with us that the chef fried up for dinner."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

"Am Weinberg Boutique Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 3 Feb 2022
"We just stayed here one evening.

The hotel was fine, it was good to be in 'civilization' for one night after being out in the camps."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Omaanda

Omaanda

"Omaanda review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2022
"Accommodations were great and the food was some of the best we had. Spa services were superb. Staff was happy to light a fire for us in our room one rainy afternoon.

Was disappointed by the horseback riding activity. Horses were not well cared for and it seemed not many guests did this. I won't spoil the surprise but would recommend the cheetah walk!

Even though we were on full board, they tried to charge us for some included services they ended up taking off our bill."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team