This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Omaanda
Omaanda
Omaanda
Omaanda
Omaanda
Omaanda
Omaanda
Omaanda

Reviews of Omaanda

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Omaanda and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 6 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Omaanda.
Lion

50% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

40% success

Wild dog

33% success

Giraffe

100% success

White Rhino

100% success

Oryx

80% success

Eland

67% success

Meerkat

67% success

Elephant

50% success

Brown Hyena

33% success

Wildebeest

33% success

Zebra

33% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G & Ms B
Hove

"Omaanda review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2022
"We had 3 nights here at the end of our trip and that was probably too long.

The individual lodges are incredibly well designed and luxurious, but felt very cold on the night that we had a rain and thunderstorm, despite having a fire made up in the bedroom. The staff are very good and our guide Jonas was great company out in the reserve.

The food was pretty good but without much variety. The dining area itself was desperately underlit in the evenings so that people were reading wine menus with their torches. How many times the management must have watched that, but not thought to invest in a few candles for the tables, defies my imagination given how well thought out the rest of the place is.

It's a great place near the airport to start or end your trip, but I wouldn't stay more than a night or two at the most." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
M&A
San Diego

"Omaanda review"

1 night Arrived 6 Oct 2022
"All around fantastic lodge: accommodations, top-notch food, services and staff. Beautiful pool! Sorry we only stayed here one night due to our flight issues!

As our first stop on a month-long trip, interesting to learn many of the animals at this lodge/preserve were rescued from other locations. With large electric fences keeping the animals in and poachers out. And that this is the case at many reserves throughout the country." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Meerkat

2 sightings

White Rhino

2 sightings

Mr P.
Vienna

"Omaanda review"

3 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2022
"Outstanding. We had very high expectations for this place - and they were exceeded!

The "hut" we had (No 5) was superbly designed and perfectly laid out with a good, unobstructed view over the bush and a waterhole. We only ever saw two kudos there, though.

The main building was also beautiful, the staff all friendly and likeable - and the food absolutely top notch. My wife's special dietary requirements were well taken care off. We didn't do any activities with the Lodge itself, but joined the carnivore feeding tour at the associated Naankuse Wildlife Sanctuary nearby. That was perhaps a bit too touristy - with a large group of Italians, but nevertheless very worthwhile. Seeing caracals was a highlight of the trip.

Back to Omaanda Lodge: My wife used the spa facilities and had a massage, which she reported was excellent too. What impressed us most about this Lodge, beyond the lavish luxury, the food and the nice staff, was the incredible attention to detail, not only in the designs but in the timings. They must take note of when guests go to breakfasts (and there's a wide time window), then the room is made up during that time, so it's done when you return. Same with turn-down and setting up a log fire while we were at dinner.

The fires were indeed needed as it was bitterly cold at night (minus 5 degrees Celsius during our second night - there was frost on the wooden walkways in the morning!); so we were glad we had brought our thermals to sleep in after the fire had gone out. Also: they provided a two litre jug of purified water every day - unlike at all other lodges where it was still a wasteful use of plastic bottles. Extra green credits to Omaanda on that front!" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms & Mr P
USA

"Luxury in the Making"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2022
"Overall, my husband and I had an enjoyable stay at Omaanda, which was a great option to ease into our vacation after a long journey.

However, certain elements did not live up to the luxurious experience we initially anticipated. Aside from the close proximity to the airport, we selected this property given its lovely design and views. The huts are spacious and well appointed, but are exposed to the elements (vented gap between the walls and roof) and only have one small unit to combat cold / hot air flow from outside. While we experienced a cold snap during our stay, each night the staff kindly made a fire, which did help.

Also, we experienced roughly a 4 hour period without running water throughout the property and did not receive an ETA on resolution (particularly frustrating as we'd just returned from the spa and were eager to shower).

During our stay, we took advantage of the spa. While we had pre-booked couples' treatments for both days of our stay, we learned that they had no record of our booking and only had one massage therapist available each day, requiring us to go back to back. Additionally, the massage experience was not as relaxing as I had hoped; my massages were rather hurried and a bit uncomfortable at times. Spa billing also proved to be confusing. On arrival, we were told a 60 min treatment was an included activity, though our bill reflected a charge. After inquiring, the staff removed the charge, but indicated certain spa services were not included activities. (However, while the services in name may have been different, the experience was exactly the same.)

Aside from the spa, we found the food to be varied and tasty; however, the service was hit or miss. While some were very accommodating, others missed the mark (repeat requests, unfilled water glasses, etc.). Lastly, while our arrival transfer was in a comfortable SUV where we were offered refreshments, our departure transfer was in relatively cramped local taxi vehicle, with no water provided." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mr and Mrs F.
USA

"Omaanda review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Feb 2022
"Accommodations were great and the food was some of the best we had. Spa services were superb. Staff was happy to light a fire for us in our room one rainy afternoon.

Was disappointed by the horseback riding activity. Horses were not well cared for and it seemed not many guests did this. I won't spoil the surprise but would recommend the cheetah walk!

Even though we were on full board, they tried to charge us for some included services they ended up taking off our bill." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

chris
France

"Omaanda review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2021
"Omaanda was a great climax to the holiday. The family unit was truly luxurious and enabled us to unwind and relax before the flight home. We didn't go on any excursions but just enjoyed the spa facilities, location, views, pool and food.

It was the only lodge that had both a baths and showers. The view of the bush from the baths was a treat and the walk-in wardrobe a delight after 3 weeks living out of a bag.

Although we didn't see them, we heard striped hyena's cry throughout the first night whilst we were tucked up in warm in bed with fires lit in the fireplaces.

The staff tried very hard with the service though it fell a little short of the excellent service we experienced at certain other locations.

The breakfast was really nice with a large variety of choice on the menu.

We wish that we'd spent an extra day at Omaanda" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs C
Golden CO

"A Great Surprise"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2020
"This place was a big surprise for us. A truly luxurious camp with beautiful accommodations, an exquisite setting for the patio, dining area and infinity pool, sitting high on the hillside overlooking a large watering hole below.

The food was amazing, some of the best for our whole trip. The wildlife viewing was fabulous. Must have seen 10 white rhinos and spent time watching them in a mud hole. Had an amazing encounter with wild dogs, one of only two places in Namibia, from what we were told, that has them.

We were sadly disappointed to only have one night here. A great stop near the Winhoek airport, either on your way in or out of the country." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Meerkat

2 sightings

Oryx

4 sightings

White Rhino

10 sightings

Wild dog

10 sightings

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs B
Swindon

"Spoiling place"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2019
"Lovely and spoiling place. Super polite and helpful staff, an amazingly wonderful place to stay at beginning or end of safari for great relaxation.

Not far from Windhoek airport. They have their own safari area but a bit sparse on sightings.

Extra excursions available and walk with the cheetahs was great experience." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Giraffe

6 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Showing 1-8 of 8
95%
8 reviews of Omaanda by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Windhoek

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

In a quiet Windhoek suburb, Olive Grove is one of our favourite guesthouses: stylish, with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and excellent food.


88% (365 reviews)
Galton House

Galton House

A cool stylish sanctuary in a quiet suburb of Windhoek, Galton House boasts a pool and a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.


90% (156 reviews)
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

The Elegant Guesthouse is a friendly, comfortable establishment with a lovely, tranquil garden, and is a good choice for an overnight stay in Windhoek.


87% (127 reviews)
River Crossing

River Crossing

Secluded on a private game reserve between Windhoek and the international airport, River Crossing is a tranquil place to start or end a trip.


81% (122 reviews)
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

Villa Violet is a friendly, owner-run guesthouse in a residential area of Windhoek, just a few minutes' drive from the city centre and numerous restaurants.


90% (111 reviews)
Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck was one of Windhoek's best pensions just a few minutes' drive away from the city centre, however it has now closed.


86% (102 reviews)
Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

A long-standing favourite, the small, owner-run Hilltop Guesthouse is comfortable, smart and good value.


91% (55 reviews)
Heinitzburg Hotel

Heinitzburg Hotel

One of the oldest hotels in Windhoek, the Heinitzberg occupies a great hill-top location but can feel like a relic of a bygone era.


85% (41 reviews)
GocheGanas

GocheGanas

For somewhere to really pamper yourself, Gocheganas Lodge & Spa offers wildlife combined with extensive wellness treatments.


93% (39 reviews)
Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

The Olive Exclusive is perhaps Windhoek's most luxurious boutique hotel but remains a friendly and unpretentious place to stay.


94% (37 reviews)
Weinberg Hotel

Weinberg Hotel

In a quiet upmarket suburb of Klein Windhoek, the stylish Weinberg has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and luxury facilities.


94% (25 reviews)
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch G. Farm

Etango offers simple, clean, comfortable accommodation and it’s the closest accommodation to Windhoek International Airport.


85% (23 reviews)
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wild'ss Lodge

Within easy reach of Windhoek, Immanuel Wilderness Lodge is a good overnight option for those who don't wish to stay in the city.


80% (17 reviews)
Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse

Rivendell Guesthouse offers great value, relaxed accommodation in a homely atmosphere with helpful and extremely friendly staff.


89% (16 reviews)
Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Sun Karros Daan Viljoen

Situated within the Daan Viljoen Nature reserve Sun Karros is a simple lodge with gentle game viewing and bird watching opportunities.


77% (15 reviews)
Avani Windhoek Hotel

Avani Windhoek Hotel

The Avani Windhoek Hotel and Casino lack the personal touch of Windhoeks smaller guesthouses but is well located in the heart of the city.


80% (11 reviews)
Hotel Thule

Hotel Thule

Windhoek’s Hotel Pension Thule offers stunning views across the city and a reputable in-house restaurant, within easy reach of the international airport.


90% (10 reviews)
Pension Palmquell

Pension Palmquell

Stay at the Pension Palmquell in Windhoek, whilst on holiday in Namibia.


89% (9 reviews)
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen

Overlooking Avis Dam, Ti Melen is on the outskirts of Windhoek, yet only 10-minutes from the city's amenities.


100% (2 reviews)
Desert Express

Desert Express

The Desert Express runs from Windhoek to Swakopmund on set departures. Recently this schedule has been somewhat erratic.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa