This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms & Mr P from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

4

My May 2019 trip

Kenya and 1 other country between 16 May 2019 and 24 May 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip was absolutely fabulous, from the accommodations to the food to the experiences!

Maruska is simply phenomenal; she goes above and beyond to answer all possible questions and to ensure each client has the trip of a lifetime.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

The only suggestion I have with respect to trips to Rwanda is to provide a bit more guidance on the tipping etiquette. While the information provided on the website was quite helpful on the amount to give the various folks involved in a successful trek, my husband and I didn't realize the number of folks involved in each trek, and therefore, didn't bring enough USD.

It would be helpful to note how many rangers, trackers, etc. to expect on a trek (on average) to assist with this element of planning."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport review"

1 night Arrived 16 May 2019
"Clean, comfortable rooms close to airport and convenient shuttle."
Good
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Bisate Lodge

Bisate Lodge

"Bisate Lodge review"

4 nights Arrived 17 May 2019
"Bisate was an absolute gem of a lodge!

Upon arrival, we were first in awe of the beautiful design. Built into the side of a mountain, the lodge is incredibly unique and stunningly designed; we loved that the villas and common areas capitalized on the local aesthetic.

Our hosts, Jomi and Hadley, and the staff were incredibly accommodating and personable; we truly felt as though we were staying at our home away from home. And we must tip our hat to the chef who crafted delicious fare meal after meal and was kind enough to share recipes for some of our favorite dishes.

Simply stated, we would return to this lodge in a heartbeat and highly recommend it to others. You will not be disappointed!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
City & Genocide Memorial Tour

City & Genocide Memorial Tour

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

17 May 2019 • Morning excursion

The memorial is a poignant reminder of a tragic event; definitely worth a visit!
Excellent
Golden Monkey Trekking

Golden Monkey Trekking

"Golden Monkey Trekking review"

18 May 2019 • Morning excursion

While most come to Rwanda to embark on a gorilla trekking experience, the golden monkeys should not be overlooked!

They are incredible to observe!
Excellent
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

19 May 2019 • Morning excursion

Truly a bucket list experience!

Our gorilla trekking experience was simply magical!
Excellent
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

20 May 2019 • Morning excursion

See prior comment

[ Ed: "Truly a bucket list experience!

Our gorilla trekking experience was simply magical!" ]
Excellent

Memories to last a lifetime

Botswana and 1 other country between 26 May 2018 and 11 Jun 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Maruska organized a vacation for my husband and me, and her expert knowledge and prompt, informative communications were invaluable, ensuring a painless and memorable experience from planning to booking to actually embarking on our trip.

The fact that our trip was as seamless and amazing as it was is attributable to Maruska--we cannot thank her enough for such an incredible trip!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Winelands Private Tour

Winelands Private Tour

"Winelands Private Tour"

26 May 2018 • All-day excursion

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our day exploring (and tasting our way through) the winelands! Our guide and driver, Riann, punctually met us at our hotel and whisked us away to Stellenbosch and Franschhoek where we partook in wine tastings at two wine estates and dined at Roca for lunch. (Unfortunately, the third wine estate we had included on our itinerary closed earlier than anticipated, so we were unable to visit; no matter though as we appreciated the ability to check into our lovely hotel early.)

Each wine estate we visited boasted lovely staff and superb South African wines, which are highly undervalued abroad! And our lunch experience was truly incredible--a delicious meal and breathtaking views!
No comment
City and Table Mountain Tour

City and Table Mountain Tour

"City and Table Mountain Tour"

29 May 2018 • Morning excursion

Our guide, Riann, really made our experience while visiting Cape Town. On this particular tour, we visited Table Mountain, which despite thick fog blanketing the city, showcased views of the cape shoreline, and various points of interest around the city.

Riann provided a wealth of information regarding the city, South Africa as a whole and its history, current politics, etc., that provided context to many of the sights visited. We appreciated the half-day nature of this tour as it allowed us to spend the afternoon at the Waterfront where we enjoyed a lovely lunch and some shopping.
No comment
Cape Point and Peninsula Tour

Cape Point and Peninsula Tour

"Cape Point and Peninsula Tour"

30 May 2018 • All-day excursion

With our guide, Riann, we were able to experience the gorgeous and rugged scenery of the peninsula.

The views from the top of Cape Point were truly breathtaking! (A word to the wise: all should be prepared for all seasons on this tour; my husband and I were caught in a downpour while visiting Cape Point--needless to say, we were very wet afterwards!)

We were blown away by the vast and diverse gardens at Kirstenbosch, even in winter! Boulders Beach was truly the highlight of the day; observing the penguins at various life stages at such a close distance was spectacular!
No comment
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Lovely hotel, but mixed service"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jun 2018
"The Royal Livingstone boasts stunning, colonial-style decor and a magnificent location alongside the Zambezi. We spent many an afternoon lounging on the sundeck, drinks in hand, admiring the beautiful river views, and listening to the thunderous power of the Falls.

The rooms are comfortable, with safe-to-drink tap water and views of the river (not to mention views of our zebra and impala friends, too!). The hotel is a short walk to the Victoria Falls park, where we ventured to get close-up views of the Falls (or at least, experience the mist given the volume of water contributing to the Falls).

However, the level of service was not reflective of a five-star property. The staff, while friendly, were a bit robotic, delivered incorrect items at meal services, and could have been more attentive. Aside from the breakfast spread, which was vast, the meals on offer were mediocre (though, we did enjoy the meal on the Livingstone Express). Ironically, after each meal, the staff provided guests with feedback cards; however, one felt compelled to not only provide a review, but a positive one at that, given the waitstaff hovered over you as you filled the card out."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Lady Livingstone Sunset River Cruise

"Tranquil Sunset Cruise"

1 Jun 2018 • Afternoon excursion

The sunset cruise was fantastic; lazily cruising along the Zambezi was the perfect way to start our journey in the Victoria Falls area.

We enjoyed the canapes and open bar along with the gorgeous sunset!
Excellent
Image alt

Helicopter Scenic Flight

"Epic way to view the Falls"

2 Jun 2018 • Morning excursion

The helicopter ride over Victoria Falls was simply incredible; an aerial experience over the Falls is truly necessary in order to appreciate the sheer size and power of the them!

While we opted for the shorter helicopter tour, we felt it to be a sufficient amount of time to circle the Falls several times, allowing one to take several photos and videos, too. We also purchased the in-house produced video, which was a great memento.

We encountered one slight issue upon checking in (they sought a voucher, which we did not have, and did not have our names on the list); however, it was quickly rectified and we were on our way.
Excellent
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

"Luxury in the Delta"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2018
"My husband and I enjoyed an unforgettable stay at Sanctuary Chief's Camp. Upon arrival, we were greeted by a number of the staff singing a delightful song and taken around the main area of the camp, which is incredibly chic, with numerous areas to relax and soak up the views. Once finalized with the check-in process, we were shown to our magnificent bush pavilion, which oozed luxury! From the indoor and outdoor showers to the enormous porch, complete with loungers and a pool, to the extremely comfortable bed, we felt spoiled!

Our game drives with Chief, our aptly-named safari guide, were fantastic! Extremely knowledgeable, Chief was able to track down a number of animals allowing us to spot (among other game) lions (male and female), hippos, zebra, giraffes, elephants, hyena, wild African dogs (we felt incredibly lucky to come across a large pack!), and the elusive white rhino!

Back at the lodge, we enjoyed fantastic meals and superb service! The staff was beyond accommodating and incredibly warm and friendly; everyone addressed us by our names and went out of their way to ensure our comfort.

We would not hesitate to stay here again!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Zarafa Camp

Zarafa Camp

"Luxury Glamping in the Bush"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"Our experience at Zarafa was nothing short of magical! My husband and I loved the intimate nature of the camp, which boasts just four "tents" and allowed us to feel as though we had been welcomed into the home of our most delightful and gracious hosts, Saskia and David. Both went above and beyond to ensure our stay was comfortable and memorable, and we thoroughly enjoyed their company; sharing our daily experiences and shooting the breeze around the campfire and dining table was such a treat! Additionally, all of the staff at Zarafa are incredibly accommodating; no ask is too small!

Game drives with our expert safari guide, Pete, were fantastic! He went out of his way to ensure we were able to complete another spotting of the big 5 and obtain incredible photographs. During the duration of our stay, we had sightings of several different animals--too many to mention them all--but we did have an incredible encounter with a leopard and no fewer than 40 elephants around a water hole!

On our last full day, Pete took us on a full day game drive, starting well before the crack of dawn and ending well after sunset (talk about stamina, patience, and a passion for game!), and, along with other members of the fantastic staff, surprised us with a several course lunch in the bush. What a day! But it did not end there, for when we returned, our lovely hosts and their incredible staff had drawn a hot bath for us that was followed by private dinner served to us in our tent--a brilliant and romantic end to the day!

Every meal at Zarafa is out-of-this-world delicious and high-end restaurant worthy. You can tell that an incredible amount of time and thought is given to the menu, which is extremely varied and flavorful!

Our "tent" was extremely luxurious and spacious, with a comfortable seating area that was perfect for relaxing mid-day when not on a drive, a delightful bed, and a bathroom featuring a stunning copper soaking tub. We shouldn't neglect to mention the copper gas heaters, which were extremely useful when warming up the tent in the evenings and mornings!

It is not a question of if we will be back to Zarafa, but merely when!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team