This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Wendy from Melbourne

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

17

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2018 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 11 Aug 2018 and 13 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great 70th birthday trip.

Perhaps erred a bit on the luxurious side, but we didn't really complain."

Arranged By Megan Green


Kanana

Kanana

"Safari at Kanana"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2018
"The guide we had was fantastic - so knowledgeable and engaging. Having been in the industry for a long time showed. He set a standard for the rest of the trip.

We arrived at Kanana at the time that the afternoon game rides started, so there was a somewhat hurried welcome and then off we went. We got back at dinner time so there was no time to change or shower."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Kalahari

Camp Kalahari

"Camp Kalahari review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"We arrived here at about 4pm, dropped our bags in our room, got into the 4WDs and then were told that we were going for a quad bike ride. Very rushed.

When we got to the bikes, we had minimal briefing on them before we set off without helmets. This was quite frightening for me. Firstly, I know that there are many accidents involving quad bikes in Australia and am wary of them as a mode of transport. The rods we went on were very rutted and I was actually quite scared during the riding. There seemed to be a pressure to continue with the activity and I felt very inadequately prepared. By the time it got dark, as a passenger I just closed my eyes but I was still far from relaxed.

The surprise dinner on the Pan and the sleeping out, was indeed a surprise. By the time we got back to our room the next morning, we had not showered for well over 24 hours. All in all, a good experience, but could be improved.

The next morning, there was no water in the Camp apparently due to human error.

The meercat experience, which I had been sceptical about, was fantastic."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Aug 2018
"Another good guide - Lucas.

A great place.

I was a bit disappointed that there was no staff recognition of my birthday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2018
"We arrived late so had minimal time at this location.

However we were received well, even though the driver who brought us from Windhoek airport let it be known that he should have been in bed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2018
"I am not really sure about the ethos of this place. It really is a zoo and a somewhat contrived experience.

After having been in places where the skill of the guide(s) in finding wildlife was important, seeing animals with radio transmitters on them, was underwhelming.
I would not consider returning to this Camp, which is in contrast to others we visited."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2018
"This was one of the highlights of the trip. Bruno's knowlege, and being able to walk, made this a wonderful experience.

We really appreciated the more low key accommodation and approach, after the luxury of the Botswana experience.

I can understand that this might not be everyone's cup of tea, but it was certainly ours."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2018
"This place had a lovely feel.

The table decoration, the card and the singing for 'my birthday' was lovely.

Such a contrast in terms of luxury from our previous camp - in fact, it seemed a bit excessive"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"A lovely quiet camp"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2018
"A wonderful place. We loved it.

Had to use 'the african airconditioning' in the tent as it got very hot."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Damaraland Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2018
"This camp was the disappointment of the trip.

Because we did not fit into the guide's routine, we felt that we missed out. Firstly, we missed out on the breakfast 'out', because we did not want to go in search of desert adapted elephants, which we had seen lots of at Desert Rhino. We weren't given the option of the breakfast even though it would have fitted in with the walks we did on our own in the morning.

Secondly, we told the guide when we met him that we were interested in going to the petroglyphs. We were essentially told it was too far and depended on others wanting to do it as well. We agreed to withdraw our wish. We later found out that other guests had indeed gone for the day. Very disappointing.

Thirdly, the guide had arranged for us to go on an evening drive on our second day, but it became apparent when we waiting for him, that he was preparing to go on a walk. When approached, he did change his plans and we did go on the drive, but neither of us was all that happy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Activities
Average
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa MarMargherita"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"We liked the fact that we were given the Romeo and Juliet room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Liked having the Honeymoon Room in honour of my 70th."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

3 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

Great excursion
Excellent
Tok Tokkie Trails

Tok Tokkie Trails

"Tok Tokkie"

2 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2018
"Great experience.

Could have walked longer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"Wolwedans"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2018
"A lovely experience and a much needed 'time out' after all our travelling so far. The 'Angels' were wonderful.

Our guide was less so. He wasn't all that keen on the sundowner drive and told us there were no animals to see on the reserve, just scenery. As a guide, he maybe needs to look for another job!

After being on the Tok Tokkie walk, we didn't feel that there was much going re activities"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagles Nest"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2018
"We loved our accommodation here and the possibility of so many walks.

The breakfast and braii packs were great, especially when we were staying so far from the Lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Fish River Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Felt impersonal after the other places we had stayed in."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"Loved the upgrade to the Honeymoon lodge.

Once again, some of the activities felt contrived. Maybe we have had a lot of very good experiences and this was not in the top tier."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team