This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr B from Chiswick

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

April 2017 in Namibia

Namibia between 1 Apr 2017 and 13 Apr 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our 3rd trip to Namibia with Expert Africa doing variants of the caracal self drive safari. All 3 trips have been fantastic which is why we keep going back.

Sabina did a fantastic job in planning our trip and making suggestions and booking restaurants and activities. She put together an excellent itinerary which was perfect for our group of 7 which ranged from 8 to 61!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 1 Apr 2017
"Perfect start to the trip. The rooms were modern and extremely comfortable, the pool was lovely and the staff could not have been more helpful. We did not have dinner but we had a delicious light lunch and a lovely breakfast."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"Sossus Dune Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Apr 2017
"The rooms are spacious and comfortable and there is a lovely pool.

The big advantage of staying here was to get to Big Daddy dune at dawn ahead of people staying outside the park. The guide who took us was very knowledgeable and set out a delicious breakfast afterwards.

We were in one of the rooms furthest from the central bar/dining area. This had the advantage of privacy but it was over 5 minutes brisk walk to the bar which would not suit everyone.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The car park was a little way away from the reception but we were very impressed by the way that the staff looked out for guests arriving back and rushed down to the car park to collect them in the lodge van."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Delight

The Delight

"The Delight review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2017
"The Delight is very new and we were impressed by the design and attention to detail throughout. For instance every room has a fridge and extras such as a large umbrella. The rooms were large and comfortable with fun decor. The buffet breakfast was particularly good and even included oysters and bubbly! There were few negatives but we did arrive shortly before a large coach trip which meant that no-one seemed to be available to help us with our luggage or to find our rooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2017
"This camp is at a fantastic location with lovely spacious rooms and being able to push your bed out onto the patio to sleep under the stars is a memorable experience. The bar/dining area has a great view.

Our guide found us the desert adapted elephants which was wonderful and we spent as long as we wanted with them. However we did feel that he was perhaps a bit less energised than some of the guides we had in Namibia.

Of special note was our guide at Twyfelfontein, Dion, who was extraordinarily well informed. (He also had an extensive knowledge of Britain that he had obtained from books!)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2017
"There did not seem to be a systematic procedure to replace lightbulbs/repair fittings but they did respond promptly when defects were pointed out. The food on the second night was a bit of a disaster as it ran out!

The swimming pool was very nice.

Because of the time of year that we went, there was so much water in the park that there were almost no sightings of animals at the waterhole. However we did see plenty of animals and birds in the park including 3 good sightings of lions and good sightings of bustards, plovers, lapwings and thick knees"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2017
"This was one of our favourite places. The lodge area was lovely and the permanent tents were very well designed. It could not have been a more family friendly place. The staff were exceptionally obliging and went out of their way to entertain our 8 year old niece who was charmed. The food was some of the best we had.

Our guide, Imelda, was exceptional. We said that we wanted to see a black rhino and she worked extremely hard to find one and spotted one at a great distance while driving the car! Although it was far away it was easy to see with binos and a real treat. She also found a pride of lions who had recently feasted. She was extremely knowledgeable on birds as well as mammals, it was a privileged to be out with her."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 12 Apr 2017
"The rooms were lovely. It was great to wake up and see springbok and warthogs.

After the wonderful wildlife experiences we had had elsewhere in Namibia we were rather sceptical about the game drive involving radio tracked leopards, however the area involved is large and beautiful and it was very exciting tracking the leopard. We got a good view of her but even more exciting was getting a good view of a brown hyena which wandered past our vehicle.

We had booked half board but arrived in time for lunch. Unfortunately there was not an option to have a light lunch and we were all charged N$120 for a lunch that was not much more that a wrap plus pudding.

The dining area is large and rather impersonal. The system for recording food and drinks ordered was chaotic. Our bills at the end of our meals were incorrect then our bill at check out did not reflect what we had signed after each meal. Although the lady on reception knew that we were keen to check out promptly, she said that she did not have the authority to change the bill and seemed reluctant to contact the manageress. Fortunately when she arrived she did sort it out however it meant that there was a considerable delay and left a bad feeling to finish with."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Safari to Kafue and South Luangwa 2016

Zambia between 1 Sep 2016 and 14 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"The game viewing exceeded our expectations, the camps were excellent and it was a wonderful holiday. A real bonus was the fact that you can go on night drives with a spotlight in Zambian Natiional Parks. This makes for an excellent, full and diverse second half of the day with, typically, a 2 hour afternoon game drive, sundowner drinks and then an hour's night drive. We saw a lot of nocturnal creatures including white tailed mongoose, genets, civets, hyenas and bushbabies."

Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Sep 2016
"This camp is in an excellent location with a wonderful outlook over an animal rich wetland (including lions and elephants). The proximity to the Kafue River and the opportunity to take daily game-viewing boat trip was a real plus as is the lack of other camps nearby which means that you get a real wilderness feeling. Phil and Tyrone were excellent guides who have detailed scientific knowledge as well as a great knowledge of the bush which we very much appreciated. They are charming, young and energetic and nothing was too much trouble.

They are very keen to give their guests a high quality experience and they achieve this very effectively. The game viewing was excellent including large numbers of lions and a herd of elephants crossing the Kafue River. It is also a very good place to walk. The food was very good as overseen by Jamie who was also very well informed about the bush and extremely helpful.

The only reason we have marked the rooms and facilities as good rather than excellent is that this is a comfortable camp rather than a luxurious one. Personally we prefer the former approach because it makes for a more authentic safari experience while still giving you plenty of comfort."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

"Musanza Busanga Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"(I think that the name you have given the camp is its name before it moved to Musanza.) Good setting for the camp. It is a comfortable but basic camp. Wonderful game viewing on the Busanga Plains including large herds of red lechwe, buffalo, puku, roan and sable.

We saw about 10 oribi and even saw a blue duiker on the drive to the camp!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

"Musekese Camp review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2016
"See previous entry. [Ed: See below]"
Excellent
Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Luangwa River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"Game viewing was excellent.

There were a fair number of other vehicles around compared to the other places we visited but not so many that the experience was spoiled. We did a very good walk which included seeing a leopard on foot which was thrilling.

A feature of our trip to Zambia which we particularly enjoyed was the ability to go out on night drives in the National Park and we were able to see a lot of nocturnal creatures. Yvonne, the camp manager, was particularly charming and helpful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsefu

Nsefu

"Nsefu review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"Wonderful location overlooking the Luangwa River. The rooms were comfortable but reasonably small. However, we enjoyed the historical significance of them.

It didn't bother us particularly, but the rooms are very close to each other and the windows very much look into your neighbours' room so privacy is a bit limited! Fantastic game viewing including 16 lions eating a puku, a male lion driving a leopard from its kill, a Pel's fishing owl, a pack of wild dogs and a wonderful colony of carmine bee-eaters. Stephanie was an excellent hostess.

We were amused to find our Expert Africa agent at the camp with his family!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team