This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Ntemwa Busanga Camp
Ntemwa Busanga Camp
Ntemwa Busanga Camp
Ntemwa Busanga Camp
Ntemwa Busanga Camp
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp


14°18’50.9"S 25°57’30.6"E

Reviews of Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Ntemwa Busanga Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Ntemwa Busanga Camp.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
NH
Rickmansworth

"Ntemwa Busanga Camp - Great Safari"

3 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2019
"Ntemwa Busanga Camp is operated by Jeffery & McKeith Safaris, the operator of Musekese Camp. The lodge is in tented accommodation on the edge of the Busanga Plain. You are greeted by the breathtaking vista of the plain opening up in front of you when you arrive in the lodge.

My guide Gareth travelled with me from Musekese Camp and was exceptional. His knowledge and enthusiasm were boundless and he was also great company. Ntemwa Busanga Camp is more basic than Musekese, however, it is not detrimental. There is power in the bar area to charge batteries and bucket showers and lighting in the tents. The food was of a very good standard and the hospitality excellent.

The full day activity was the highlight as it provided the opportunity to venture far on to the plains where we encountered large herds of antelope including Sable, Roan, Puku and Red Lechwe. The bird life at the water holes was incredible and a particular highlight was spending time with a Secretary Bird. It was incredible to watch a herd of elephants cross the plain.

The Tsetse flies were aggressive around the edge of the woodland, but non-existent on the plain.

The Hippo pool was an exceptional experience and I was thrilled by the photographs that I was able to take. I was an incredible experience to be on foot so close to these amazing animals.

I would not hesitate to recommend a visit to Ntemwa Busanga Camp and I would suggest that it is included with a stay at Musekese camp." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs VV-G
Belgium

"Great location at the edge of the plains"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2019
"We love tented camps, but a slightly more spacious tent would give room for a bigger bed and clothing rack.
The Ntemwa treetop bar is a fantastic lookout.

Busanga wildlife is quite different. we saw herds of eland, roan-and sable antilopes, lots of lechwe, puku and hippo's together with warthogs, apart from lions zooming in on a herd of wildebeest.
Crowned cranes, secretary birds, skimmers and kingfisher interacting!

TseTtse flies were no nuisance in neither of the Kafue camps but for the transfer between Musekese and Ntemwa we were happy with the closed vehicle." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
D & S
NZ

"Remote gem in Kafue"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2019
"Location and accommodation:
Our drive to Ntemwa Busanga from Musekese went through a wooded area well-inhabited by tsetse flies - the only time they actually bothered us in Kafue. Ntemwa Camp itself, though pleasantly situated against trees, had no problem. The camp's attractive minimalist design particularly appealed to us, with its elegant fly over the lounge area, its lunch table/bar on a raised platform and flowering cassia beside the meshed tents. We loved the small size of the camp (just 3 or 4 tents and a resident staff of 4).

Activities:
These consisted of game drives on the spacious Busanga Plains, or around the wooded edges near the camp, and observations at some local lagoons. We saw buffalo, roan and sable antelopes, wildebeest, hartebeest, duiker, puku, impala, oribi and reed buck then a large herd of red lechwe at the further end of the plains. Also of course hippos, crocodiles, warthogs, zebras, elephants and numerous birds, including the attractive wattled cranes, open-billed storks and African skimmers.

A lovely finale to our safari." See all these reviews: 19n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

2 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Roan antelope

9 sightings

Sable antelope

4 sightings

Wildebeest

6 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Ms P
London

"Wonderful bush camp, in a great spot"

3 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2018
"I loved my stay here: there is a real sense of remoteness, on the edge of the stunning Busanga Plains, and the camp itself offers the same high standards as its sister, Musekese.

Tents are comfortable and well spread out, offering plenty of privacy; the food was excellent and guiding standards high. Highlights included a full-day drive out on the plains with Effie, with large herds of sable, roan, lechwe, buffalo and elephant; evenings at the pools nearby the camp were special, too.

Birds are very strong: James, a guide with encyclopaedic knowledge, and another guest counted some 130 different species the day I arrived. There are no other camps close by and we seldom saw another vehicle... which is exactly what I like.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

3 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M
Japan

"My favorite camp in Busanga Plain"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2018
"Ntemwa is a small, rustic but comfortable camp with en-suite oper-air bathroom with flash toilet.

I stayed there for 3 nights and was guided by James. I was amazed by his knowledge. He was also looked after me very well. Busanga plains is stunning. I love this vast open plain.

The game was a bit quiet while I was there, but I saw buffaloes, wothog families, many antelopes, and beautiful birds.

It takes more than 3 hours drive to get there from its main camp Musekese (and Tsetse were very active in some places) but worth to visit. I want to stay longer next time." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Basic but very acceptable bush camp"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2017
"Very small 4 tents bush camp. This camp is owned and run by the same guys that own Musekese camp.

The tents were small meru style tents with en-suite bathroom and flush toilet.

Food was good and plentiful with meals being taken together on one large table." See all these reviews: 10n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr B
Chiswick

"Musanza Busanga Camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2016
"(I think that the name you have given the camp is its name before it moved to Musanza.) Good setting for the camp. It is a comfortable but basic camp. Wonderful game viewing on the Busanga Plains including large herds of red lechwe, buffalo, puku, roan and sable.

We saw about 10 oribi and even saw a blue duiker on the drive to the camp!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 1-7 of 7
100%
7 reviews of Ntemwa Busanga Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
7
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

Musekese is a small owner run tented camp, offering great guiding and a high degree of personal service in a stunning wilderness area, with modest game.


96% (28 reviews)
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp is a small but comfortable tented bushcamp (max 8 guests) which makes a great base for a wildlife safari to the Busanga Plains.


93% (19 reviews)
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

Shumba is a high-spec camp built on a tree island in the magical Busanga Plains. It opens in May, when the birdlife is particularly amazing; as the dry season progresses, the game can become remarkable.


95% (13 reviews)
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

Safaris to Kaingu Lodge, in the centre of the southern section of Zambia's vast Kafue National Park


95% (8 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


No reviews yet
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Chisa Busanga Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


No reviews yet
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa