This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Shumba Camp
Shumba Camp
Shumba Camp
Shumba Camp
Shumba Camp
Shumba Camp

Reviews of Shumba Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

13 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Shumba Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2019, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Shumba Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Pangolin

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Aardvark

0% success

Eland

0% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 13
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs K.
Middlesex

"Shumba and Kafue wowed"

4 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2019
"This was our first trip to Kafue and it may well not be our last. The open expanses were wonderful to behold, whether it be from your deck, the jeep or a balloon. The variety of animals seen in our 4 nights was hugely impressive - 42 species of birds, 22 species of mammals and, most exciting of all for both guests and staff, a pangolin that wandered into camp after we had our dinner. Some animals are more cautious around jeeps than in some other parks but we had some fabulous lion sightings, in particular Queen and her cub.

The room was a good size with a comfortable bed, plenty of hot water and a charging station. The public area was always a welcoming space with staff available to provide a drink or just a smile. All the staff were delightful and we had many long chats on topics as diverse as climate change, sustainable farming, and politicians. You immediately felt like you were joining a big family reunion. Coming back from a game drive to a glass of sherry or Amarula was delightful.

We were fortunate enough to have our guide Pyben almost entirely to ourselves for the duration of our stay. He was a mine of information as well as great company. Rather unusually in our experience he acted as his own spotter on the night drives but somehow he was able to navigate the roads, wave the light around and still find us animals in the dark. On the last night, a bar was set up in the bush for all the guests and we all sat around the fire whilst Evidence told stories as the sun went down.

The food was delicious, be it the brunch after the morning drive, the afternoon cakes and savoury bakes, or the evening meals - there was no chance of going hungry.

All in all, we had the best time in Kafue." See all these reviews: 9n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

5 sightings

Pangolin

1 sighting

Roan antelope

5 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

7 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Dr S
Cambrai

"Shumba Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"We had a very good time at Shumba Camp. Hot air ballooning was great,
Camp was perfect( accommodation, food, nice attention paid to our anniversary).

Only two important things:

- No more lions climbing in the trees for years at Busunga plains
- To many tse-tse flys: we've been bitten hundred times maybe." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs B
Snettisham

"Very good camp, friendly, comfortable,"

4 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2014
"Our first camp on trip. Good transfer and pickup. Excellent wildlife viewing on drive to camp. Very comfortable accommodation and friendly staff. We were in room 3 which did become very hot in afternoons as no cross ventilation and the wind went past not through the tent. Would have preferred room 4,5 or 6 which also had better views of resident fauna. We had two excellent guides (Idos and Richard), good vehicles with canopy but bumpy roads ( unavoidable).

Particularly enjoyed the surprise sundowner on last evening. Enjoyed the balloon trip with Eric including the super bumpy landing but breakfast not as good as balloon breakfast in Namibia.

Have suggested that bowls of water be put out to attract the several resident small birds for closer viewing. As the breeze seemed to blow mostly through the main area. hammocks or loungers in the shade would have been welcome." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Jersey

"Shumba Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2014
"Had the most amazing welcome at Shumba from the hosts Daniel and Laura, there is a really special atmosphere here and in a stunning location.

The food was of a very high standard and the rooms were lovely and spacious. the game can be sparse and this makes this camp a good one to do at the start of your trip. the inclusive hot air balloon trip was incredible and we felt safe in the hands of the company running the trip." See all these reviews: 11n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Luxurious Shumba"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2012
"We really enjoyed our time at Shumba. The tents are beautifully appointed with indoor and outdoor showers and indoor and outdoor couches to sit on. There is also a decanter filled with port in the room and biscuits in case you feel peckish. The service is outstanding – the staff are all brilliant and also very friendly. Special mention must also go to the food. It was by far and away the best we had on our trip, which, when you consider the logistics involved is nothing short of miraculous. It wouldn’t be out of place in an expensive London restaurant.

We had some brilliant wildlife sightings while we were at Shumba. In our three days we had really good sightings of a pack of wild dogs, a group of 3 cheetahs (at night), 2 leopard cubs, several groups of lions, about 5 different servals (at night), elephants , hippos, water monitor and roan antelope. The only thing we wanted to see that we didn’t manage was the sable antelope.

However, the game in this area can be sparse and it is also quite possible to drive around for an hour and see absolutely nothing. However, when you do spot something the quality of the sighting is often very good.

I would also have liked a bit more focus on birds, antelope and smaller animals on the game drives. Our guide (who was generally very good) had a bit if a tendency to search for big cats and ignore everything else. However, we found this to be a common issue throughout Zambia." See all these reviews: 21n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms C
Canada

"Shumba Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2012
"Shumba Camp is a beautiful camp. The tents are very nice and have a very homey feel. The staff was really great and welcoming. I really enjoyed my stay.

The game viewing was a little more sparse than other camps I've visited, but we still managed some good sightings: fighting hippos, swimming lions, and a rather large group of roan antelopes.

I really enjoyed the hot air balloon ride as well, definitely an activity worth doing; it was one of my best sunrise views I've ever had." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 9n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Texas

"Shumba Camp Review"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2012
"Excellent accommodations with exceptional staff and guides.

Well planned activities during the day.

Wonderful sun rises from the main deck early morning" See all these reviews: 14n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Hove

"Shumba - Out of this world!"

3 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2009
"Arriving by helicopter to such a fantastic setting was mindblowing. We were then met by hosts Rob and Ingrid and from the minute we arrived to the minute we left we were made to feel special throughout the whole trip. A truly wonderful three days.

We were also fortunate to have our guide Sam to ourselves for all our drives who was extremely informative and entertaining and kept the trainee guide on his toes. We loved the all day trip and having the head chef along to cook us lunch was pretty special....even if we didn't get to see that elusive Leopard!!

We are already saving to come back!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Scrub hares
London

"Luxury in the Wilds at Shumba Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"A beautiful camp in a stunning position. Very special to arrive by helicopter, flying low over the hippos and antilope. We found it amazing to enjoy such luxury so far from anywhere. The staff were very anxious to make our stay a good one, and our guide - Lex - tried very hard to find us some big cats to see. Despite not doing so, we loved the variety of game and birds to be seen here, and the boat trip on the water hole to see hippos and crocs close-up was memorable.

But we were even more glad we took Expert Africa's advice about warm clothing here: the nightime temperatures must have been close to freezing-point.

Andrew, Shannon and Mwami were excellent hosts." See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B Dorset
UK

"Greta location"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2007
"I do not think 'the luxury camp' idea is the best for a safari. We had a bgoood time but Lufupa was better." See all these reviews: 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 13
95%
13 reviews of Shumba Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
11
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zambia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zambia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Kafue National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Musekese Camp

Musekese Camp

Musekese is a small owner run tented camp, offering great guiding and a high degree of personal service in a stunning wilderness area, with modest game.


96% (28 reviews)
Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp

Busanga Bushcamp is a small but comfortable tented bushcamp (max 8 guests) which makes a great base for a wildlife safari to the Busanga Plains.


93% (19 reviews)
KaingU Lodge

KaingU Lodge

Safaris to Kaingu Lodge, in the centre of the southern section of Zambia's vast Kafue National Park


95% (8 reviews)
Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Ntemwa Busanga Camp

Musekese Mobile Camp is a basic fly-camp on the southern tip of the Busanga Plains. Set date three night trips are run here, using Musekese Tented Camp as a base.


100% (7 reviews)
Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree Camp

Fig Tree camp is in the centre of Kafue National Park, and in addition to having a stunning location is well placed to start or end your trip in the park.


No reviews yet
Chisa Busanga Camp

Chisa Busanga

Due to open in June 2020, we’re expecting Chisa Busanga Camp to be a small, intimate and rustic camp.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp

Mukambi Plains Camp is a rustic, tented property located in the middle of the vast Busanga Plains in Kafue National Park.


No reviews yet
Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge

Mukambi Safari Lodge is a solidly built, comfortable property just off the main road from Lusaka, making it one of the most convenient camps in Kafue.


No reviews yet
Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge

Ila Safari Lodge is a comfortable lodge just outside Kafue National Park, with convenient access from Lusaka.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa