This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Scrub hares from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

A wonderful holiday!

Zambia between 12 Mar 2010 and 20 Mar 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Virtually every aspect of our holiday was wonderful.

We knew what to expect from Kapani and Kakuli from our previous visits, and we weren't disappointed; in fact, if anything, we'd forgotten just how marvellous a place Kakuli is. At both lodges, the Norman Carr staff - especially the guides - are an inspiring lot!

We are delighted we 'took the plunge' and went in the rainy season. As foreseen, the bird viewing was extraordinary, but the big game viewing was equally fruitful and - on occasions - dramatic."

Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"A lovely start to our trip at Kapani Lodge"

3 nights Arrived 13 Mar 2010
"This was our second visit to Kapani, and we loved it as much as the first time. It's location seems even finer after the rains, when the lagoon is full, than later in the year.

Our guides - Brian and Innocent - made the most of all the opportunities for game and bird viewing, and we were very pleasantly surprised that we saw so much game at this time of the year. Of course, the birds, mostly in their breeding plummage, were fantastic

The food was excellent - we were again astonished by the range and quality - and the service generally very good (although there were a couple of slips, one when requests we made weren't followed up and one when heavy rain denuded the restaurant area of management!)."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"We loved Kakuli"

3 nights Arrived 16 Mar 2010
"Also our second visit. Literally everything about our stay at Kakuli was wonderful, starting with the welcome party led by Aubrey and Priya waiting on the riverbank for our boat. The location is superb, and recent work to the accommodation has made the rooms/tents even more comfortable.

Like Kapani, the food was delicious and we were again astonished at how so much is achieved in this remote location. Our guides Aubrey and Laurence were superb, and delivered surprising and thrilling game trips: we will never forget being within a couple of metres from two lionesses hiding from us in the bushes!

We hadn't realised we would be able to do so much walking in the bush at this time of year: the balance between boating and walking was perfect. We simply love everything about Kakuli and its staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"Return to Kapani for our last night"

1 night Arrived 19 Mar 2010
"Nothing to add here; see previous comments [Ed: See the review below!]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

An overwhelming and life changing experience

Zambia between 14 Jul 2008 and 31 Jul 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our itinerary was very well judged by you, given our tastes and interests, and the order of visiting parks ideal. We loved North Kafue for the wide open spaces, hippo, antelope and especially birds. We didn't see big game there - except zebra and a couple of elephants - and it may be that clients with narrower tastes and interests than us would not appreciate the region as much as we did (there were some US clients at Shumba who said they were bored!). Of course, visitors at this time of year need to take the prospect of low temperatures seriously.

This was truly a holiday of a lifetime, and we are very grateful to Expert Africa for helping to make it so. We hope to go again in future, and in the meantime will not be hesitating to recommend you to our friends.

We were sceptical whether we could cope with the low luggage allowance. We didn't need to be; we survived easily on 15 kilos between us, and didn't wear some bits! You could emphasise this aspect even more strongly in your notes (but also stress the need for warm clothes at this time of year)."

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

Lunga River Lodge, Zambia (this camp has since closed)

"Fear of water dispelled at Lunga"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jul 2008
"This was our first camp, and a perfect place to start. The boat trip from airstrip to the lodge quickly dispelled my (Elaine) slight water-phobia, even with the hippos and crocs, and the welcome we received on arrival from Rob, Ingrid and Jackie was very friendly. A surprise lunch waiting for us on the riverbank after a morning's walking safari the next day was an exceptional touch.

We are very glad we took your advice about the cold mornings and evenings, and the hot water bottles were very welcome. We liked the accommodation very much, and the ambience of the whole place was exceptional.

Sam, our guide at Lunga, was possibly the most enthusiastic of our trip, and gave us a wonderful introduction to the flora and fauna of Zambia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Shumba Camp

Shumba Camp

"Luxury in the Wilds at Shumba Camp"

3 nights Arrived 17 Jul 2008
"A beautiful camp in a stunning position. Very special to arrive by helicopter, flying low over the hippos and antilope. We found it amazing to enjoy such luxury so far from anywhere. The staff were very anxious to make our stay a good one, and our guide - Lex - tried very hard to find us some big cats to see. Despite not doing so, we loved the variety of game and birds to be seen here, and the boat trip on the water hole to see hippos and crocs close-up was memorable.

But we were even more glad we took Expert Africa's advice about warm clothing here: the nightime temperatures must have been close to freezing-point.

Andrew, Shannon and Mwami were excellent hosts."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kapani Lodge

Kapani Lodge

"A great basecamp in South Luangwa"

2 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2008
"Despite being the largest lodge of our trip, there was a real family feel at Kapani. The guides were excellent and ensured we made the best use of our shortish time here: Innocent took us for a wonderful walk during which we met our first giraffe, and Rose (Zambia's first and only woman guide) introduced us to our first pride of lions.

The accommodation is older at Kapani, but totally charming, and the location magical. The swimming pool is a lovely bonus (though a bit cold for us in the Zambian winter!). In addition to Innocent and Rose, we were very well looked-after by Diane, a visiting manager from New Zealand."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nsolo Bushcamp

Nsolo Bushcamp

"Riverbed dining at Nsolo"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2008
"Lovely accommodation in thatched rondavels on raised platforms, and the first of our open-air bathrooms (wathc out in the night!).

Shadi, the manager and guide, was extremely knowledgeable and made our visit very special. Monika, and then Diane fom Kapani, looked after us very well and were super companions at mealtimes. A splendid brunch (freshly-cooked 'full English'!) on the dry bed of the River Lewi with clients transferring from Lewi Camp was only one of the ways we were spoiled by the staff during our visit. And that evening, oil lamps illuminated the river bed and our dining table, as elephants walked past (at a safe-ish distance!). The beds were so comfy that buffalo munching outside our hut barely disturbed our night.

It was great to be joined at Nsolo by both Christina Carr and, later, David the Norman Carr bushcamps manager.
Our stay at Nsolo culminated with our transfer to Kakuli on foot, about 12 kilometres, led by JJ from Kilkuli, Benson the ZAWA scout and Ruben, expertly guiding us through the bush and awaiting elephants, zebra and warthogs."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kakuli Bushcamp

Kakuli Bushcamp

"Close encounters of the carnivore kind"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2008
"Our memories of Kakuli will always be coloured by the wonderful sightings we had here of lions and a leopard. JJ, our guide, delivered these on our last night in South Luangwa, like a virtuoso delivering a cadenza. Being so close to the lions was an overwhelming experience. But one shouldn't forget the literally hundreds of hippos that gathered around as we enjoyed our sundowner on the river bank, or the dozens of crocs too.

Kakuli has a beautiful location, and great accommodation too. We specially enjoyed our open-air bathroom and our throne-like toilet below the termite mound!

JJ, Aubrey and Lucinda made us very welcome. The atmosphere and service here was outstanding"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Tongabezi

Tongabezi

"Ultimate luxury near Victoria Falls"

3 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2008
"A great end to our trip, after the exertions of the bush. Tongabezi offers a different kind of experience from the safari camps and lodges we visited previously. The accommodation is larger and even more luxurious, the food excellent, service just as good if a bit less personal (because there are many more staff, to look after many more visitors - and perhaps the fact that one doesn't get to mingle with the management in the same way.

We took a game drive and were able to see the remaining white rhino on foot, but the Vic Falls Park lacks the wilderness atmosphere of S Luangwa and Kafue. Our first visit to the Vic Falls was another overwhelming experience. A shame that they make a charge for the game drive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team