This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs S from Brentford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Memorable experiences in Namibia & Botswana

Namibia and 2 other countries between 24 Oct 2016 and 14 Nov 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had an outstanding trip with so many memories of stunning landscapes and wildlife that we will never forget. Both fully lived up to our hopes and expectations. We did find the driving in Namibia to be gruelling at times due to the condition of the mainly gravel roads and the necessity to drive relatively slowly, making for some long journeys - in particular the journey between Swakopmund and Twylfontein.

Our itinerary in Namibia took us to a variety of places and experiences that were all very different from each other, and each worth the visit. In Botswana it was mainly about the wildlife, though we also enjoyed the beautiful setting of the Okavenga Delta and meeting lots of Botswanans, who without exception were friendly and welcoming.

Finally, except for not getting the type of vehicle we were expecting (though Bidvest & Tracy from Expert Africa did contact us to offer to change, which we decided against) every aspect of the organisation of the trip went without a hitch. We were also impressed that the company paid the difference in flight prices between Windhoek & Maun after Air Namibia cancelled all these flights from the beginning of November and we had to be rebooked onto SA Airways."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Haus Sonneneck

Haus Sonneneck

"Pleasant guesthouse in Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 24 Oct 2016
"Friendly, quiet and comfortable.

A good place to stay on our first night - roomy if sparsely furnished accommodation with comfortable beds. Good breakfast, eggs cooked to order.

Pretty grounds, pool out of use due to water restrictions."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Great stay at Desert Homestead"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2016
"A beautiful place, lovely detached chalets with verandahs, quirky bathrooms with great shower.

We varied between us on our opinions of the food at dinner although we agreed that the self-service afternoon tea + cake was very good. The outdoor restaurant and lounge area were beautifully presented. Our first sundowner drive of the holiday - with a spectacular sunset!

Our self-drive excursion to Sussusvlei was easy though longer than we expected. We had a wonderful day exploring the remarkable & unforgettable landscapes and took some stunning photos....it would be difficult to take a poor one of the stark beauty and contrasting colours. The lodge provided us with a substantial and tasty picnic lunch."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Excellent guesthouse in centre of Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 27 Oct 2016
"A very friendly place. Large rooms, the whole house was comfortable and beautifully presented & with a lovely garden. A pleasant change after the desert. Delicious breakfast.

The activities offered seemed rather expensive so we made our own arrangements with a local travel agency - collected from the guesthouse for a boat trip from Walvis Bay, which was brilliant!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Desert elephants & rock art at Twyfelfontein "

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2016
"A wonderful spot and we enjoyed the safari very much - managed to see some desert elephants, and zebra & enjoyed our sundowner watching a stunning sunset over the hills. We also enjoyed seeing the Organ Pipes, and our guided walk to view the impressive rock art. A very informative visitor centre too.

Lovely comfortable chalets with private patios and great views across the desert.

However, the restaurant is a shambles and lacks any management whatsoever - we had to lay our own tables for all the breakfasts and dinners that we had there. Also the buffet food was often not replenished until asked...There were piles of dirty plates and cutlery left at various points around the restaurant, there just didn't appear to be enough staff - the few that were available spent all their time taking drinks orders and bringing them from the bar. And the lighting was so poor at dinner that it was almost impossible to identify what we were eating...."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2016
"Having access at any time to viewing the waterhole was brilliant....on one occasion we watched a group of black rhinos, and later a single white rhino, drinking and bathing there. Our drives around Etosha were memorable, both for the wildlife and also the harshness of the parched landscape.

Chalets fairly basic and functional but ok, good air conditioning (recently installed).

The restaurant was as shambolic as the one at Twylfontein, and the food only poor to average - the worst food of our whole trip. The lighting was inadequate and again we had to lay our own tables. At breakfast the floor was covered with litter and food from the previous night's dinner."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Peace & luxury at Mushara Bush Camp"

1 night Arrived 2 Nov 2016
"A memorable stay in a small & intimate camp. Beautifully furnished and very comfortable tents, set in woodland with shady verandas.

A large and clean pool, delicious food including a barbeque under the stars at dinner. Lovely staff who couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, especially Hilma the manager.

We would love to have stayed longer than 1 night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Stylish guest house in the capital"

1 night Arrived 3 Nov 2016
"Very stylish and comfortable boutique guest house.

Lovely ensuite rooms, refreshing pool, delicious locally sourced food, including a freshly-baked cake for afternoon tea.....& a good packed breakfast (ready at 4.30a.m) for our very early departure to the airport"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2016
"A beautiful location, rooms spacious & comfortable if a little dated. Pretty outdoor restaurant.

The guy who took us on an evening trip on the river unfortunately believed that it was appropriate to give us a good photo op by antagonising the local hippos with his boat to the extent that they would rise out of the water. Then at checkout a very miserable receptionist insisted that one one of our party had to walk back to her room to retrieve the key that she had left in the door - the same receptionist then took about 10 minutes to find change for a 100 pula banknote, while the minibus to the airport was waiting......the driver was very helpful though at all times and especially with getting all the guests checked in at the correct desks for our various flights."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Pom Pom Camp

Pom Pom Camp

"Pom Pom Camp was our favourite place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2016
"Terrific - our favourite stay in the whole of our 3 weeks in Namibia/Botswana. Luxurious tented accommodation, delicious food, an open lounge/bar/dining area overlooking a waterhole that was often teeming with animals and especially birds.

The Pom Pom concession is varied and very beautiful even at the end of the dry season. We loved our Mokoro boat trip - so close to so many beautiful birds - and our young guide was so knowledgeable.

We were taken out on our game drives by Max, an experienced and expert guide who took us to every part of the concession in the 2 days we were there, and found some remarkable wildlife for us including hyena cubs and a pack of wild dogs. All the staff were friendly, warm and welcoming."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

"Khwai Tented Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2016
"The tents although ensuite were fairly basic (about to close for rebuilding on another site closer to the river).

Delicious food, small and intimate setting, lovely staff. Excellent game drives, varied & abundant wildlife including leopards, wild dogs, and huge numbers of hippo!

We very much hope the staff who were so friendly and welcoming & mainly local, and were to be laid off due to closure of the camp, will be re-employed when the new camp opens."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

"Relaxing small lodge by the Chobe River"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2016
"Beautiful setting on banks of the Chobe river. Very comfortable rooms, open and airy lounge/dining/pool area. Genial hosts.

River trip was magical, many animals and birds observed, the only slightly sour note being that the drinks were not included in the quite expensive trip price.

This was the most expensive place that we stayed - all extras (drinks, trips, food etc) were significantly more expensive than at other accommodation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2016
"Comfortable garden rooms with terrace beside the hotel lawn, on which we saw a warthog, a group of female monkeys with young babies, and a whole cohort of banded mongooses which wandered past about 3 feet away!

Within walking distance of the Victoria Falls NP entrance & the pleasant town of Victoria Falls with its restaurants and variety of tourist shops, including some authentic African craft sellers.

We ate only breakfast at the hotel, which consisted of a good buffet and a variety of cooked dishes which were also good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team