This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge


20°34’15.1"S 14°22’10.2"E

Reviews of Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Twyfelfontein C'try Lod. and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 5 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Twyfelfontein C'try Lod..
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Elephant

60% success

Giraffe

25% success

Oryx

25% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mr J & family
Hants

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2015
"Larger lodge, so less personal service. Rooms lovely. Staff not always knowledgeable about local attractions, which was surprising.

Food good, but less able to provide a meat alternative for vegetarians on the buffet" See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr M
Rickmansworth

"Desert elephant tracking at Twyfelontein"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2015
"This is a large lodge with functional rooms serving buffet breakfasts and evening meals. It is in a good location for the nearby Unesco rock engravings and we highly recommend visiting. Organ Pipes and Burnt Mountain are also nearby although we found these disappointing.

What made this for us was the trip to track desert elephants. I use the word 'track' loosely as actually our driver seemed to stop and ask the locals which way to go! However we found the elephants so who is to judge. And the elephants were magnificent. They were quite some way from the lodge but the scenery here is fantastic and provided a beautiful place for a sundowner on the way back." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr D & Ms C
Canada

"Could'nt wait to leave Twyfelfontein Lodge"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2015
"The only place I hated on the whole trip but fortunately it was only 1 night. The only place that was zero help with my wife's food allergies she basically only ate fruit between Swakopmund and Grootberg. We asked about activities and to be fair the new lady who was working there tried to help but the guy up front was to busy talking to a guide so we said we would be back in the morning.

In the morning after again struggling to get any help I ask about mountain bikes which are mentioned on the front page of their website but no one has any clue what i'm talking about.

Off to Grootberg." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Rodders
London

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jan 2015
"Did not go to this destination because of the rains" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mr L
Bristol

"A great setting."

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2014
"The lodge is set quite high up in the rocks with car parking below but you were allowed to drive up to the accommodation to deposit your luggage and then drive back to the car-park, which was a bit of a pain. Some of the rooms were a distance from the main building but luckily our room was one of the closest.

The room was fairly Spartan but clean and the beds were very comfortable. It was a bit of a trek up to the restaurant area and the dinner was served buffet-style but the food was perfectly acceptable. This was just a stopover on our way to Etosha and we would not have wanted to stay any longer." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr W
Michigan, USA

"Fantastic"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2014
"Of course I arrived there late. I signed up for the bushmen rock art tour and the desert elephant tour. Both were fantastic. It was actually the Bushmen and rock art that led me to Namibia. My original plan was to go to Kruger Park in South Africa and film wildlife.

A guide was on holiday so the manager drove us. Great guy, friendly and knowledgeable. He told me that their choir/staff was award winning and one of the best around, they sang to us after dinner. I am an African American and found the cultural experience to be very enlightening and up lifting." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Taylor family
UK

"Amazing stay at Twyfelfontein"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"This lodge was in a stunning location. You really can't see it until you are virtually there. It is sympathetically built near the rocks in a fairly remote area of desert. You have to walk through a split in some rocks to get to the reception! The road to the lodge is very bumpy and might be uncomfortable in a 2WD vehilcle

On arrival we were given two rooms, one at the front and one at the back of one of the accomodation blocks. At first I was slightly disappointed at having the room at the back as it only had a view of the rocks, and was quite dark. This however turned into a godsend as the room remained cool despite the intense heat. The room was clean and comfortable and fairly basic but it didn't matter as there are so many other lovely places to sit and relax at the lodge. All of the staff were delightful and a credit to the lodge. From cleaners to the reception staff to the guides, all were charming and welcoming. The food here was incredible. There was so much on offer and all displayed so wonderfully.

It was an excellent base from which to visit the Twyfelfontein rock carvings and there are several other things to visit nearby, all within easy driving distance. The main attraction however are the desert elephants. We saw them on a guided tour one evening from the camp and even more spectaculalry a herd of them trooped past the lodge the next morning. It was a stunning site and all the guests and staff came out to watch.

At night the stargazing was awesome as there is no light pollution. All in all a wonderful place to stay in the middle of nowhere!" See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Mrs J
Dudley

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 3 Apr 2014
"Very helpful, the manager did all he could to make our stay enjoyable. I said we didn't have a very good view from our room and they moved us immediately to a room with an excellent view.

Would recommend a 2 day stay" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms T & Mr R
Bath

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2014
"A bigger tourist lodge so not so personalised.

Good position with great views over desert." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Ms O & friends
London

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jan 2014
"Very close to the rock engravings!

Very accomodating staff - arranged the desert elephant tour in the morning just for us." See all these reviews: 6n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 54
83%
54 reviews of Twyfelfontein C'try Lod. by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
22
9
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (464 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


94% (151 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (121 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (116 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With unusual, igloo-like rooms, open-air bathrooms and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe is well placed for nature and cultural excursions.


96% (113 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (112 reviews)
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

On the edge of an ancient plateau Grootberg Lodge has a stunning location and arguably the best views of any lodge in Namibia.


92% (97 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in an area of scenic grandeur with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


94% (38 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (36 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (24 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


86% (21 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


83% (8 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


83% (7 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


96% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a luxurious, low-impact luxury camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


95% (4 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

The simple Ozondjou Trails gives a unique perspective on living with Damaraland’s desert-adapted elephants and how tourism is key to protecting them and the livelihood of the people.


93% (3 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (2 reviews)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Camp Doros

Camp Doros

Small, intimate and with excellent eco-credentials, Camp Doros is set above an ephemeral river within a remote community concession of Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa