This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr D & Ms C from Canada

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

Great trip to Africa

Namibia and 1 other country between 16 May 2015 and 7 Jun 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a great trip with a lot of highs and few lows.

I would have driven from Onguma straight to Ndhovu now that I know how long it is and I was happy with the car but it did struggle in a few places so I might up to a Corolla next time.

We did buy a better map than the one provided and the one place where we ran into trouble a south African couple with a Tracks 4 Africa map really helped us out, but that was our fault for being where we were. I have zero other complaints though and think Sabina did a good job helping us out."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse was fantastic"

3 nights Arrived 16 May 2015
"Perfect location near everything Robyn was who we dealt with for the most part and she was great.

She answered all my dumb questions, was always pleasant, and called various restaurants and activities for us. We only ate breakfast there which was good as were the rooms.

Would definitely return."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Could'nt wait to leave Twyfelfontein Lodge"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2015
"The only place I hated on the whole trip but fortunately it was only 1 night. The only place that was zero help with my wife's food allergies she basically only ate fruit between Swakopmund and Grootberg. We asked about activities and to be fair the new lady who was working there tried to help but the guy up front was to busy talking to a guide so we said we would be back in the morning.

In the morning after again struggling to get any help I ask about mountain bikes which are mentioned on the front page of their website but no one has any clue what i'm talking about.

Off to Grootberg."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Terrible
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Poor
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg is a hidden gem"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2015
"I loved this place.

The wife was starving at this point and when she discussed her allergies with someone their she ended up hugging the poor girl and was practically in tears. So food was good as was the view and all staff was really friendly.

The guiding on our Rhino tracking was excellent and our last night after dinner we were serenaded by the sounds of the Grootberg choir.

Really really great place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo was better than expected"

2 nights Arrived 22 May 2015
"Stayed here for the waterhole and was not disappointed. 8 rhinos at one time and a family of 25-30 elephants as well. Everyone was really quiet and it was not the stadium atmosphere I expected.

The food was decent but there was one chef there who made a point of making steaks separate without the seasoning for my wife so she could eat them, I found most staff there to be quite helpful.

One word of warning, we had our hubcaps stolen here so I would advise taking them off."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halili was decent"

1 night Arrived 24 May 2015
"We were not here long but nothing stood out.

We were at the waterhole watching more rhino and elephant when a loud commotion behind us resulted in everyone scrambling to see a honey badger which had knocked over a garbage can.

He runs that place so heads up for the honey badger."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma is a lovely little place"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2015
"Outstanding customer service, everything was easily taken care of.

Its a nice spot with good food, facilities and a nice little waterhole that isn't too busy though. We used this as a place to chill though so you shouldn't expect tons of game here and should probably head into the park.

Our night drive was pretty unproductive as most of mine have been elsewhere."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Kaisosi River Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Kaisosi River Lodge"

1 night Arrived 27 May 2015
"This was a quick stopover for us but it was suitable for that."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Ndhovu was my surprise of the trip"

1 night Arrived 28 May 2015
"Wish I had stayed 2 nights here. Great hosts, great dogs, hippos at night which make every camp better.

The first place which had a separate meal made just for the wife {excellent} Did a nice little boat cruise but you can visit the nearby parks on you're own.

Johan and Monica really make this place work."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Camp Kwando

Camp Kwando

"Camp Kwando stopover"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2015
"Another 1 night stopover after a kinda crappy day we really did not make use of anything other than the restaurant which was decent."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Avani Victoria Falls

Avani Victoria Falls

"Great location at the falls"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2015
"A very convenient location for us to do all our activities in Livingstone. Visiting the falls from here is an added bonus.

If you like Zebras this is the place to stay. Only drawback is very mediocre food."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Flatdogs Camp

Flatdogs Camp

"Flatdogs is the best"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2015
"We loved this place. Hippos and elephants in camp, great staff and brilliant guides. Jonathan and Bwayla both were excellent. Guides as well as personable people. Paolo Jess Ade and Iain were all great hosts and we met many fantastic guests.

The walking safari lived up to what I wanted and is now a must on every itinerary. We saw loads of leopards and got our first wild dogs as well.

The wife had tears in here eyes as we checked out so it must be great right?"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Taj Pamodzi Hotel

Taj Pamodzi Hotel

"Good bed at the Taj"

1 night Arrived 6 Jun 2015
"We checked in and slept for 5 hours and left. Seemed nice."
Good
Location
Good
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team