This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Taylor family from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

1

Another trip of a lifetime!!

Namibia between 7 Jun 2014 and 6 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip to Namibia was stunning and more than we could have hoped for. We can't thank Expert Africa enough for making our limited budget go as far as it did! Sabina managed to arrange some outstanding accomodation for us.

Everywhere we went it was noticeable that the lodge owners had only good things to say about Expert Africa and your handling agents in Southern Africa, (Wilderness Safari's?)

I would just to to say thank you so much for organising our trip. We hope to be in touch again soon to arrange another adventure!!!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Keep up the good work. You clearly have a good reputation in Southern Africa so you must be doing something right."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2014
"This was an excellent guest house, just out from the centre of Windhoek but within easy reach.

The staff were very friendly and efficient. We arrived very early on Sunday morning and they made us tea and looked after us until our room was ready. The rooms were lovely, clean and fresh. Would not hesitate to recommend this as a base for a stay in Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2014
"Do not miss!
We stayed at the bush camp which was a wonderful place. Our only regret was that we didn't stay here longer! The rooms were amazing with a large vista window looking out on the bush. Very clean and comfortable accomodation. The chalets were spaced out which was nice so everyone had their own parking area and it was quiet.

The quality of the guides was fantastic, especially Richard and Previus (Hope i've spelt it correctly) who were like a very informative comedy double act. We saw several cheetahs close up and other game one memorable evening. Sadly we didn't see a leopard but it was not for the want of trying. Two of the best guides I have ever encountered, friendly, fun and knowledgeable, and they made every effort to get you close to the wildlife. The food was also lovely and plentiful.

The home of the Africat foundation, I can highly recommend this as a place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2014
"The comfiest bed I have ever slept in! Situated just outside the Von Lindequist gate on the eastern side of Etosha this place was a delight.

The attention to detail, second to none. When we returned from the evening meal we found our bush tent all set up for the night and they had even put hot water bottles in the bed to warm them up. The tents were very clean and equipped with everything you needed and more, including tea and shortbread biscuits!!

We only stayed here as Namutoni was under restoration, but it was truly lovely and very relaxing after a long days drive. Evening drinks were very reasonably priced here. A delight!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2014
"For a public camp and one of the few places to stay in Etosha we found it to be well run and perfectly adequate for our needs. The chalet was clean, comfortable and roomy. The restaurant was excellent with a wide choice in the buffet, and the pack lunches we ordered from there were very good value and huge!

The only downside of Halali was the state of the water hole which had been a big draw. The waterhole was very noisy, and over crowded at prime times. The layout of it means that people have to clamber over the rocks to get to a good view and there was so much noise it was like being in a zoo. We were not here at peak season so I can only imagine how noisy it gets.

It could do with a member of staff around who could keep people in order? Or possibly a restriction on eating and drinking there? All in all a good central base and the accomodation was fine but the waterhole a bit of a let down. I saw my first ever leopard near Halali, at Goas waterhole, so it will always hold a special place in my heart, regardless!!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2014
"Again for a public camp in the National Park we found it to be well run, clean and organised. The chalet was more basic than the one at Halali but still had all that was required. The restaurant here was lovely and again the range of food on offer was extensive. The buffet style set up is good as you can chosse what to eat, so no problem for vegetarians.

The waterhole at Okaukuejo was so much nicer than the one at Halai. There are seats and a viewing platform spread over a large area and people don't have to climb past you for a view. It seemed so much more civilised! The lighting was good as well and we saw so many elephants and Rhino's, it was amazing. You could sit out here all night if you desired.

All in all another perfectly pleasant place to stay in a good location in the park."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

1 night Arrived 14 Jun 2014
"Stunning location! Set high up on a hill in the previously restricted western reaches of Etosha NP, this camp was amazing. You unload your bags at the top then drive back down to park your car. It is then an almighty trek back up to your tented chalet, but the view makes the effort worthwhile. The staff carry your bags, which was a relief! The views over the plains are amazing.

There was a lovely refreshing swimming pool and bar area and despite it's remote location drinks were very reasonably priced. Dinner was not a buffet but a set menu and was fine. The beds were lovely and comfortable and surrounded by mosquito nets so there was no problem with bugs.

The only downside is that the view directly over the waterhole seems to be reserved for a select few exclusive chalets. If you are on the other side you cannot see the waterhole, and there was no viewing area. You would have to drive to the waterhole.

However, don't let that put you off as the surrounding views are stunning and you really can see for miles. Sunset was beautiful. I was told by a member of staff that they already have bookings for the next couple of years, and I can understand why! An amazing place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Amazing stay at Twyfelfontein"

2 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"This lodge was in a stunning location. You really can't see it until you are virtually there. It is sympathetically built near the rocks in a fairly remote area of desert. You have to walk through a split in some rocks to get to the reception! The road to the lodge is very bumpy and might be uncomfortable in a 2WD vehilcle

On arrival we were given two rooms, one at the front and one at the back of one of the accomodation blocks. At first I was slightly disappointed at having the room at the back as it only had a view of the rocks, and was quite dark. This however turned into a godsend as the room remained cool despite the intense heat. The room was clean and comfortable and fairly basic but it didn't matter as there are so many other lovely places to sit and relax at the lodge. All of the staff were delightful and a credit to the lodge. From cleaners to the reception staff to the guides, all were charming and welcoming. The food here was incredible. There was so much on offer and all displayed so wonderfully.

It was an excellent base from which to visit the Twyfelfontein rock carvings and there are several other things to visit nearby, all within easy driving distance. The main attraction however are the desert elephants. We saw them on a guided tour one evening from the camp and even more spectaculalry a herd of them trooped past the lodge the next morning. It was a stunning site and all the guests and staff came out to watch.

At night the stargazing was awesome as there is no light pollution. All in all a wonderful place to stay in the middle of nowhere!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Terrace Bay

Terrace Bay

"Wild and Wonderful Terrace Bay!"

1 night Arrived 17 Jun 2014
"You really do feel like you are at the end of the earth here.. it is so remote.

We drove for many hours to get here and saw virtually no-one. So it was with great delight that we arrived safely and were met by the very chirpy NWR staff at Terrace Bay. The chalet was basic but perfectly okay and right on the beach. We fell asleep to the sound of the Atlantic crashing in.

There is little to do here unless you like fishing but it was quirky and remote and wild..... and if you want to drive the length of the Skeleton Coast this is the start/finish point! The food, as to be expected had its limitations but was perfectly adequate. There was a fully stocked bar which was very cheap considering the distance from any major centre. There is also a little shop there in the reception so you can purchase a few essentials if required.

Don't come here if you want five star luxury. Do come here if you really do want to get away from it all!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

"Central Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2014
"Delightful, cozy, guesthouse in Swakopmund.

We were fortunate enought to be allocated the garden rooms and they were lovely. So very clean and tidy with every comfort. Clean, crisp bed linen and nice toiletries to revive us after the long trip down the Skeleton coast. The staff were very pleasant and helped us arrange our activities and also resolve a problem with our hire car. They made the phone calls at no extra cost and offered sound advice. Very helpful.

The breakfast was lovely, freshly cooked to order and a nice selection...... and a jar or two of home cooked biscuits for munching on throughout the day! Central by name and Central by nature it was nice to leave the car parked securely and be able to wander the short distance to town. Central guest house also had the most reliable wi-fi we encountered in Namibia!

I can't think of anything they could improve upon. We had a lovely stay in Swakopmund and I would highly recommend the Central Guest House."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"Pelican Point Kayaking"

20 Jun 2014 • Morning excursion

An excellent morning spent kayaking with the seals. Jeanne the guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.
The experience was amazing. A good fun, experience. I highly recommend passing a morning doing this!!
Excellent
Image alt

Oyster Box

"Oyster Box review"

1 night Arrived 21 Jun 2014
"Delightful location on Walvis Bay. Not too far from the waterside where the main tourist restaurants and bars are.
Lovely clean room overlooking the lagoon.
Secure parking.
Guesthouse clean and bright.
Only stayed here briefly but it was a good location and had no problems. Would gladly stay there again. ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Barkhan Dune Retreat

Barkhan Dune Retreat

"Escape from it all at Barchan Dune Retreat"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2014
"Wow! This place is well and truly in the middle of nowhere and the main house and bungalows are half built into the earth so you can't see them until you are right upon it. Our bungalow was lovely and the view was amazing. It was so peaceful and quiet my words will not do it justice. I loved this place as there was nothing to do............you were forced to relax. No TV, no wifi, just the peace and quiet. If you want to get away from it all and like reading, painting, walking etc then this is perfect.

We had afternoon tea and cake delivered on a tray..... very civilised!!

The evening meal was sumptuous. You all ate together which can be quite daunting for some people but the hosts got the conversation started and everyone joined in.
I mentioned that I was going to walk up the hill next to the retreat in the morning for sunrise and when I got up at about 5.30am I noticed they had put a tray with a flask of hot tea out for me. This was such a lovely gesture.

The walk up the hill at sunrise is a must. The view is stunning and I happened acorss a herd of zebra..... not sure who was the more surprised!! We had only booked one night and were sad to leave as we had had such a relaxing time there. Highly recommended!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"Desert Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2014
"Good quality tented camp near the dunes at Sossusvlei.The only downside was that the tents are fairly close together and if you have a large group nearby you know about it..

But the tents themselves were lovely and comfortable and the bar and swimming pool area a bonus. Sitting in the middle of the desert watching the World Cup and having a beer was a bit surreal!

It was nice driving to the nearby Sossusvlei lodge at night for dinner. The food was wonderful and a massive range of things to choose from."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Island Cottage

Island Cottage

"Island Cottage review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2014
"Stunning location right on the coast at Luderitz. We stayed in Flamingo Cottage which is right on the front and overlooks the bay. Good location for view and for walking into town. Lovely clean, bright, comfortable apartment.

One thing to note, when we booked it said "B&B" on the voucher but Island Cottage do not offer B&B.

It didn't matter as the apartment is semi self catering and has a fridge, plates and cutlery and a hot plate. (But no cooker.) So you could prepare breakfast or light meals but would have to go out for anything more substantial. This was a perfect, unfussy apartment in an excellent location. Recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"Eagle's Nest review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2014
"What to say! Stunning! We were fortunate enough to be housed in "Eagle's View" at Eagle's nest chalets, which is some 7kms from the main guesthouse down a dusty track. There are several different places linked to Klein Aus Vista but this review relates to Eagles View chalet. Quite simply stunning.

A beautiful chalet half set in some rocks at the end of a remote drive. The other chalets are all spread out so no one is really overlooked. Our chalet was at the end of the track and so very peaceful, except when some babbons threw rocks down the cliff at us!! The decor is gorgeous and it is so elegant and yet so cozy. Every little detail taken care of. The view of the plains from the bedroom was amazing.

Outside is a braai so you could cook your own meals if you did not fancy going to the main guest house for dinner. We tried both and both were excellent. The food at the main guest house was lovely but we also thought it would be nice to try and cook on the braai. We purchased the reasonably priced braai pack which provided enough food to feed an army. Steaks, salad, sausages, potatoes and deserts, all included in the cost. It was great fun cooking under the stars.

The accomodation was of a very high standard and well out of the way. You may have some difficulty reaching the chalets at the end of the drive in a 2WD vehicle as the road has some big humps in it. There was no wifi in the chalets but if required there was a reliable connection at the main guesthouse and reception.

There were lots of walking routes around the area and this would be an ideal base to start from.

A sensational place to stay. Beautiful."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Canyon Roadhouse review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Jun 2014
"A quirky place to stay.

As themed roadhouses go this one gets it just about right. Could so easily tip over into being tacky but doesn't. It is instead a fun, lively place to stay. Our room was in one of the innner courtyards and was perfectly cool, clean and comfortable. It was within easy striking distance of the Fish River Canyon, which is about the only thing of note in the area.

Food was lovely and the bar was reasonably priced."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Image alt

Quivertree Forest Restcamp

"Quivertree Forest Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2014
"A slightly odd set up but perfectly welcoming and friendly.

We stayed in a room which radiated off a central sitting area and also had a communal kitchen attached. Fortunately no one else was staying in this area or else I fear it would have been noisy and not very private. We were initaily shown some random plastic igloo like pods the like of which I have never seen before and asked if we would prefer to stay in those. Sadly they were a bit too dingy, unwelcoming and underground for my liking. We declined and settled on the room above ground.

The food was home cooked, lovely and plentiful.

Room aside the restcamp is in a lovely location within a few minutes walk from the Quiver Tree Forest which is the main reason people stay here. At sunset and sunrise this was a magical place, and exceptional for photography. Also nearby is the Giants Playground area of startling rock formations. Well worth a visit.

The owner also has some captive cheetahs at the farm that he gives talks about and you are welcome to watch him feeding them. This talk was very informative and he goes to great lengths to explain the background as to why these cheetahs were there. However it did make me feel uncomfortable when he offered for people to touch these magnificent beasts and pose for photo's with them.

It is in a very good location to visit the Quiver Tree Forest but I would look to stay elsewhere if in that area again."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

"Kalahari Anib Lodge"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2014
"Lovely lodge on the edge of the Kalahari. Very peaceful.

Although they don't have any of the big cats here there is still a lot to see. There were a series of walks you could do alone that were easy and fun. There was lots to see, especially birdlife and it was nice to be able to wander about freely.

The chalet was very clean and comfortable and there was a lovely swimming pool. It was also very pleasant to sit out next to the fire at night watching the stars. The staff were very friendly and helpful and kept us going with a good supply of logs for the fire. Meals were lovely, the bar very good value and a very good selection at breakfast.

A very relaxing place to stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2014
"We returned to Galton House at the end of our stay and the staff were as efficient and friendly as when we had arrived.

They looked after our luggage all day as we had a late flight and allowed us to get changed in the changing rooms at the pool when we were getting ready to leave. They apologised that they did not have a spare room at that time or they said we could have used that. They were very helpful and I would have no hesitation in recommending Galton House as a place to stay in Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team