This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr R. from Paia, Hawaii

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2021 trip

Namibia and 1 other country between 20 Sep 2021 and 7 Oct 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was the trip of a life time for me - a dream I've had since I was a kid [ I'm 65 ] I'm so glad I finally went ! my only real regret is that I should have stayed a month or more , instead of 21 days.

I limited myself , and my agent , by saying I wanted to keep the cost down . Big mistake ! In hindsight I would have gladly spent a bit more money on this epic adventure !Especially with the long flight [ I live in Hawaii ] I want to give my heat felt thanks , to my excellent agent Sabina , and Expert Africa for the outstanding , highly detailed planning . When it came time to figure out the timing for my Covid test , and two back to back border crossings , to Botswana and Zimbabwe, my head started spinning . plus all the reservations , rental car, multiple transfers etc. I could not have done it without her . I know that with the 12 hour time change , when my arrival time drew near , Sabina had to work after hours , to make all the last minute arraignments - she did it all , and made it look easy ! I normally wouldn't have filled out a form like this , but I had to - just try my best to show my appreciation .

It was a pleasure doing business with Sabina and I can't thank her enough I highly recommend Expert Africa - I have zero complaints .

Aloha from Hawaii - R

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

None at all"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2021
"The map in my book was good - signs are fine - went right to it . Food , staff ,and room were all good - There was big shopping mall nearby , where I bought a cooler ,and food for the road . Windhoek lager is quite good ! Watch out for Baboons on the road on your way out of town !"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2021
"the lodge , the view , the bar ,built right into the huge boulders , were all amazing ! I went on a game drive up a dry river - saw my first desert Elephants - very close . rode a horse - saw a Zebra run by my bungalow . He was an orphan saved by the stable staff - he eats with the horses , and then trots off into the sunset , happily chuckling and tossing his head . Dune 45 is a must see - you can walk up to the top , with all the other towering dunes all around . look for a bar tender named Keven - he is very well spoken , and a good listener ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Delight

The Delight

"The Delight review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2021
"restaurants on the coast are good - bring a sweater - temps in October were 10 C in the morning . The Fir seal colony is worth a stop if you are traveling north ."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

"Twyfelfontein Country Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2021
"Definitely go to see the 5000 year plus old rock art . Would have liked to stay more than two days - there are other sites I would have liked to see . Stay inside during the mid day hours - sightseeing morning and late afternoon . When you feel the heat of the day ,and the cool of the night , imagine the ancient Sans people - living there as hunter - gatherers - they only survived because they had each other !! The only animals I saw were birds and some very colorful lizards . Lots of Elephant sign ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2021
"Next time I will stay outside of the park . the couch was so stained , I didn't want to sit on it even fully clothed - the shower had mildew embedded in the concrete - the so called lodge was more like a hotel in Disney Land - Water hole was elbow to elbow during the day . Upside - I saw my first wild Rinos , at night - they were very active , splashing around - Three of them put their heads together for some time , and then they decided to walk into the light ,on the near side of the pond , one by one ,like models on a runway !!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Mushara Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2021
"The drive trough Estosha was incredible ! the animals are super abundant and they are everywhere !! They don't run away even when you stop right next to them . so many antelopes ,of all kinds . I had to stop and wait for the Zebras crossing the road - then I stopped in the middle of them - there were hundreds of them all around as far as the eye could see !! 4 lions came to drink at a water hole - more lions on a Rino kill- Elephants, Giraffes , hyena, wildebeest big walking birds etc. I slept so deeply in the naturaly cool air at Mushara - with Hyenas laughing in the distance .WOW - Again - I wish I spent more time there - 3 nights was not enough !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"Roy's Restcamp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2021
"The founder was a machinist a long time age - all kinds old tools - including a hand cranked drill press - nice art work - hobbit like bungalows - thick brick walls - thicker thatch roof - still cool inside when I arrived mid afternoon ! [ they do have AC ] Food was a bit different - lots of cheese on everything - I liked it - fresh greens in the evening ,and fresh fruit and yogurt in the morning - like everywhere I went . I definitely a needed stop to rest after along drive . saw some colorful Parrots and a few antelope ."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
River Dance Lodge

River Dance Lodge

"River Dance Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2021
"this lodge was over the top luxurious ! the duplex rooms were quite large, with the bedroom, stand alone bath tub, and the private deck, look out over the mighty Kwando River, to the Angola side . The staff, food, activities etc. and especially the view were fantastic !! took a sunset boat ride, and saw many Hippos, and some medium size Crocs ."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge

"Nkasa Lupala Tented Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2021
"saw many Hippos out of the water in several different places - took a boat ride - saw uncounted Elephants - some very close, with many babies, splashing and swimming in the water . Then they all got out of the water, and started throwing dust on themselves . Saw many Cormorants, and an old male Lion, with a white beard, laying by himself in the shade - What a memorable last day in Namibia!! The tent rooms were quite comfortable - they were mounted on stilts, with a Wonderfull view . I awoke at dawn, to see more Elephants from my private deck, in the distance - out beyond the hedgehogs grazing on the floodplain nearby !"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

"Batonka Guest Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2021
"Batonka was a nice hotel, in a small town, a short taxi ride from the massive Victoria falls . End of the day is the best time for photos, when the lighting is best . I wished I had time for a sunset cruise above the falls - but I did take a helicopter ride, around the falls - and a paddle rafting trip, down the crazy rough Zambezi River ! 19 major rapids - large powerful waves - uncounted duck dives - two man overboards - two near flips - way more challenging than anything I saw in two weeks on the Colorado River - even Lava Falls !! . Tough climb out of the gorge - I was sore from head to toe for days - well worth it though- what an adventure !!"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team