This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Derbyshire

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2015 trip

Namibia between 18 Sep 2015 and 8 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"I would recommend Namibia to anyone. Probably one of the best holidays we have ever had.

The itinerary worked very well. Note our comments about Swakop and Doro Nawas.

The car was a worry and really not good enough.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

All round a great service resulting in an exceptional holiday experience. Many thanks."

Galton House

Galton House

"Galton House review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2015
"Lovely room at a comfortable guest house in quiet area"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2015
"Very friendly and inclusive - be prepared to share your mealtimes with the family and helpers and chat about anything.

It might not be for everyone! However it's a great way to get background on Namibia, the farm, the history, the game management etc. Room was excellent and service was good.

Food was basic and filling (largely game from the farm).

The Quiver tree walk was excellent. The horse riding was good."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Desert Homestead review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2015
"Very comfortable - great location/views.
Enthusiasm of staff compensates for inexperience. Good wholesome food.
Quite a trek to Sossusvlei but doable."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

3 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"Huge Excellent room - very good breakfast.
Easy access to Swakop highlights.
Over fussy - arrival routine wasn't really what you needed after a long drive - a shower would have been more welcome.
Service a little too earnest/over the top. Hard sell of Health Spa services a bit wearing.
3 nights in Swakop probably too much on the itinerary.
Cold and damp!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Day trip to Sandwich Harbour"

25 Sep 2015 • All-day excursion

Not what we expected. A blow-out on the way to Walvis Bay and a rapidly approaching high tide put the trip in jeopardy. So the short stay with flamingoes in Walvis Bay was not long enough (we didn't get the promised return).

The day then turned into more of an extreme 4x4 day than a serene nature adventure. Driving outward through the surf and back down the slip face of huge dunes was exciting but we didn't get far into Sandwich Harbour or have time for the nature on show.

Good crowd made it fun but wouldn't do it again if it was the same. Guide was stressed out and the whole thing rushed and disappointing.
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2015
"What a lovely place - superb chalet, really made by the great staff - enthusiastic and warm.

Wheeled the bed out and slept under the stars (holiday highlight). One night not enough. Should have had 2 to allow for some activities and another night under the stars.

One less night in Swakop - one more here."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"Location, location, location! Amazing views.

Good facilities though chalet a little cramped with limited electrics. Good food.

Staff friendly and attentive - activities great (rhino tracking on foot a holiday highlight)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

"Dolomite Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2015
"One of our favorite places - well worth booking the luxury chalet. The whole place is on a limestone ridge and we had views over the savanna right out to the horizon from our balcony.

The room was large and comfortable with a big patio with sunbeds and a private plunge pool. The camp is unfenced so you are escorted back to the chalet after dinner for safety reasons. Wildlife was all around from dassies on the rocks to lions doing a walk-past below our balcony at dusk. Couldn't have the patio doors open on the second night due to baboon colony camped on the rocks just outside. You could sit on our balcony and watch the comings and goings all day if you wanted.

The facilities are excellent but the staff, though friendly, are overstretched and the organisation could be better. Importantly the place gives access to the waterholes in the West of Etosha which is less frequently visited."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2015
"The oldest of the government run camps and showing its age and looks a little tired in places. The austere style is compensated by the chalets which are clean, large and cool. No point in booking an expensive waterhole chalet.

The pool was good and surprisingly the buffet food excellent at both breakfast and dinner.

The highlight was the floodlit water hole. 40 elephants on our arrival was hard to follow but 5 black Rhino arriving after dark was quite a treat. Sit down with a bottle of chilled white wine (as many do) and wait for the show to begin.

No petrol at the filling station for 2 days made many visitors a little nervous including us."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Pretentious and posh. Lovely buildings, tents and pool but location is very poor. In a drab, dry river bed with no views and dense shrub all round. Some good but limited birding.

Food was fancy/way too complicated (a starter with 6 different sub-dishes is not our thing). Staff were smart, well trained and efficient as you would expect in such a classy outfit. It was notable that this was the only place in Namibia that got our bill right first time! Too efficient by far.

Access to Van Lindqvist gate is OK.

I'm sure some people would love the 'luxury' but not us."
Poor
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2015
"Amazing place - loved it! Basic chalet was fantastic - huge room (not overlooked) had full wall windows and views over the savanna.

Wildlife, notably warthog families, regularly trooped past the front door. The 'barn', the main building is a design masterpiece of light, space and artwork and the pool, though rarely used, is equally good. Service was good, staff friendly and the food was excellent.

The radio tracking was extremely well organised and very enjoyable and we did both the cheetah tracking (on our arrival) and leopard tracking (early the next morning). The guides were excellent and knowledgeable. Both activities resulted in wonderful photos.

The onsite shop is also worth checking out with prices lower that those found elsewhere.

Would go back tomorrow!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team