This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms E from Abidjan

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

The Quintessential Namibia Trip

Namibia between 8 Apr 2016 and 21 Apr 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall it was fabulous. I was giving feedback to Sabina along the way.

Two things come to mind: I wish I had been given a bit of warning about the heat and about the problems with electronica.

Fly-in is the best way to do it (or on the Desert Express, which was my initial plan).

Great Job!!"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Room with a view"

2 nights Arrived 8 Apr 2016
"A keeper. I would recommend this place any day without reservations: great breakfast/service, The Social resto is just 300 meters away down the hill, great view from my bed, walked into town without any problems, a quiet place.

Nothing negative comes to mind."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Galton House

Galton House

"Galton would be proud"

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2016
"Great service, beautiful space, great breakfast, cool attitude & interior design.

My only issue was that it was not walking distance to town like the Hilltop House."
Good
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Desert Star"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2016
"The place was wonderful but wicked hot. Given the heat, I am amazed that all that running and managing the camp gets done. Kudos to the team! I tried to sleep under the stars the last night but was not possible: too many buzzing mosquitos and it got really cold around 3AM, so I went back to my bed.

This was the only place ever in my life where I have seen such a beautiful star-covered sky. Maybe this activity does not get enough attention or is not promoted by the staff enough. It's a unique asset of the place and it could be better framed. The mattress was not comfortable at all and was too narrow, the cover was not sufficient in the end b/c it became too cold. Everything else was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Margherita

Villa Margherita

"Villa Margherita review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2016
"My room in the villa was lovely but the connecting door (to another room) should be insulated better against sound.

The garden was lovely, the service very personable, great breakfast in a lovely salon and the wine list was very special. It is a pity to offer only cold salads for lunch as it does not promote eating in for dinner.

The massage studio was so well-placed and Don (I hope I got his name right) was extraordinary. His services should be mandatory to all guests."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Showering under the stars"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2016
"I almost dropped to my knees to thank the universe (and Sabina) for booking me into a chalet with aircon. Ah, it was so wicked hot I would not have lasted a day in a regular chalet. The mini-suite was a difficult and the key point in the whole booking process b/c by myself I truly did not need a mini-suite but the aircon was all worth it.

Wonderful chalet with the outdoor toilet - I loved it. The only issue I had was the heat stuck in the little ante room as we enter the main door. Since the aircon was busy cooling the large room with the bed there was not much left for the TV room.

Most spectacular natural surroundings, the view from the lookout, the rock pool, everything was perfect excep the big Indian group that was noisy. Luckily the left the next morning. Ah, I also have to mention I appreciated the pick up in a truck with aircon. I think additional activity possibilities, like the Damara Living Museum, the petrified forest, etc could be better promoted by staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Back to the Homestead"

3 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2016
"Coolest, most holistically integrated camp I've ever seen anywhere. It just proves that a camp does not need to be luxurious in order to be outstanding. The facility had a feel of a renovated homestead (many renovated old buildings in downtown Manhattan have the same feel) that fit into their environment without flash or unnecessary decoration/fru-fru.

The staff, an extension of the homestead, has similarly toned-down but very smooth operating manner. It is about attitude: a confident but well-wraped demeanor who never forgets that he/she works in the hospitality industry and is facing a client. Food, another expression of life on the homestead could lean more heavily on recreating a past life style.

The guides were hilarious, funny, knowledgeable and had a cool confident attitude that says: you are in professional hands. They seemed they wanted to be there rather than it was just a job. Whoever put this camp & team together had a point to prove and did it flawlessly. This camp spoke both to my mind and heart."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Etango Ranch Guest Farm

Etango Ranch Guest Farm

"Etango Ranch Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 20 Apr 2016
"A rather short stop, this was a fast socio-cultural immersion.

The host was not mincing words, said it how it was with a wry sense of humor. The steak was great and the garden/pool was refreshing.

A bit dated but it suits the hosts."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team