This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs V from York

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

My May 2022 trip

Namibia between 18 May 2022 and 6 Jun 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"A very well balanced trip, as it encompassed magnificent landscapes, several excellent wildlife experiences, and provided some insight into both indigenous and colonial cultures."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2022
"A good entry and exit staging post. Clean, efficient, comfortable and friendly.

We stayed for two nights on arrival to enable us to look around Windhoek, which was well worth while."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 20 May 2022
"A great location, set in a wide flat desert valley surrounded by craggy hills and mountains, apparently remote yet close to the entrance to Sossusvlei.

The owner and manager, Thomas Becker, is warm, attentive and efficient, as are the staff.

Our guide for our trip to Sossusvlei, Lucas, requires a special mention as he has, in addition, a wealth of useful knowledge which greatly enhanced our experience."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

21 May 2022 • All-day excursion

Very well lead by Lucas our guide .
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 23 May 2022
"A well presented, clean and comfortable B&B, ideally located within easy walking distance of the sea front and the town centre.

We stayed for just two nights, having a full day to relax and wander around the town.

A visit to the Swakopmund Museum was really worth while, providing insight into both indigenous cultures and colonial history.

Could have done with a second full day to take one of the excursions into the surrounding area."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2022
"A stylish and comfortable camp, built to a high standard to blend in with the boulder strewn hill top on which it stands, with evocative views over the Twyfelfontein landscape.

We booked a 'superior view ' room which enabled us to watch the sun set from our own balcony ——what a treat .

There is a relatively easy signed walk around the camp, takes about an hour and a quarter, to further appreciate and enjoy the camp's setting."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp

"Hoanib Skeleton Coast Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 27 May 2022
"Wonderfully remote location in the Hoanib valley, accessible only by light aircraft. The camp is very stylish, a sort of Bedouin / Scandinavian chic , comfortable and spacious . The staff were outstanding, nothing too much trouble. They work as a team, from laundry worker and waitress to management, and on one memorable occasion clearly enjoyed dancing and singing together for our entertainment.

We came to immerse ourselves in a desert landscape and environment but were very surprised to see so many different types of wild life , in addition to desert adapted elephants . A photographer's dream . Even spotted a Caracal. The full day excursion to the Skeleton Coast, where we saw a seal colony being watched over by a hyena and a couple of jackals, is a must.

Our guide throughout our stay, Joas, was great company, having great social and professional skills."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Mowani Mountain Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 May 2022
"We had left our car at Mowani in order to fly up to Hoanib.

Our return visit was, by virtue of familiarity , even more enjoyable than the first ."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Ongava Tented Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 31 May 2022
"The camp is one of several lodges and camps on the large and expansive Ongava Reserve which is adjacent to the southern border of Etosha NP.

The Reserve proved to be an exceptional location for viewing Black and White Rhino, and to our mind provided a more enjoyable and rewarding wildlife experience than Etosha itself ( which was in places rather busy ).

The camp itself was pleasant, unpretentious and with a traditional feel. The highlight is a small swimming pool next to the dining area which provides drinking water for visiting elephants throughout the day, in preference to the muddy waterhole set 50 yards back !"
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Mundulea Reserve

Mundulea Reserve

"Mundulea Reserve review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Jun 2022
"Staying at Mundulea was both a very enjoyable and enriching experience, enabling us to immerse ourselves within a truly remarkable regeneration project.

It is a rustic, ecologically sound and minimum impact camp that brings you up close to nature, a counter point to the other camps and lodges we had experienced. No safari drives, just walks , but not without its creature comforts at the end of the day such as hot showers, flushing loos and hot water bottles.

Our host, Bruno Nebe, owner, an exceptional guide and first class cook, is a mine of information and intriguing anecdotes drawn from across a wide range of subjects. Great conversationalist."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2022
"Our second stay was as enjoyable as our first …… a good stopping off point."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team