This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms TG from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Pining for what could have been...

Tanzania between 14 Feb 2018 and 24 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Poor
"I look forward to my regular forays into Southern and Eastern Africa, a passion I've been pursuing for over 30 years and where I normally enjoy every last minute of my stay. So it pains me to state that, despite the high quality of all the arrangements: camps, transfers, internal flights, this was one trip I did not enjoy.

The reason was the infestation of tsetse flies through the Lake Manyara/Tarangire/Serengeti area. These are not just a nuisance; they are a major problem, turning every game drive into a very painful and distressing endurance test. Totally impervious to any kind of insect repellent, swarms of tsetse flies descend upon people persistently biting at will on both uncovered and covered skin. Yes, they bite through your clothes, too. I ended up with my entire skin a mass burning welts - something that went from simple discomfort to sheer pain, only temporarily relieved by spells under cold showers, and eventually, towards the end of my trip, by some anti-histaminic pills and cream provided by the manageress at Lamai Serengeti.

I was not warned of this, something I find disconcerting from an outfit that advertises itself as Expert Africa and provides specialist consultants for each area. Surely clients are entitled to expect full and honest advice?"

Feedback response

We were terribly sorry to hear that this traveller had such a horrible experience with tsetse flies, and that the advice we gave didn’t go far enough in alerting them to the issue. Tsetse can be a real nuisance and are found in pockets all over Tanzania's wildlife areas, though they can be especially bothersome in Tarangire. We would recommend that any travellers to northern Tanzania take anti histamine cream and tablets if they are able, to help ease any potential discomfort from bites. Once again we are sorry that tsetse’s marred what would have been a wonderful safari experience and we will try our best to ensure that we advise all future travellers of their presence in these areas.


Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge

"Lake Manyara Serena Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"The setting and view are very good. The facilities are fine, though one gets the feeling this Lodge has seen better days. The room, though comfortable, was very hot, and the fan provided made so much noise it was impossible to keep it on at night.

An alarm call requested for 5.15 came at 5.45.

I request for no apples at all due to an allergy resulted in packed breakfast and lunch with apple juice. A request for drinking water at dinner provided a mega bottle which I, as a single diner, was expected to pay for.

On the positive side, the staff were smiley, pleasant and welcoming. The food in the dining room was excellent. The wine was mediocre, as indeed were the stodgy and uninspiring packed breakfast and lunch"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Kuro Tarangire

Kuro Tarangire

"Kuro Tarangire review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2018
"This camp is a delight. It's rustic yet immensely comfortable, the staff are so welcoming and helpful, the food is delicious and plentiful. My guide was personable and very knowledgeable. Game viewing was on the whole quite good, particularly once we crossed the river to the plains beyond.

However, the entire experience, which would have been close to perfect otherwise, was wrecked by the swarms of tsetse flies which plagued every game drive to the point of turning what should be enjoyable outings into endurance tests. I was in deep pain and hugely stressed my entire stay.

This was already a problem at Lake Manyana, and was all the more upsetting as I wasn't expecting it, not having been alerted to this hazard by Expert Africa."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Lamai Serengeti review"

4 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"The setting is simply stunning. This is a luxurious lodge, well run and, again, very welcoming. Staff, food, drinks, accommodation... everything was perfect.

However, tsetse flies remained the overwhelming problem they'd been on the two previous legs of my trip (Lake Manyara and Tarangire).

Emergency anti-histaminic pills and cream provided by the hugely helpful manageress Natasha rescued the final days of my trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

"Luxury at Airport Planet Lounge Kilimanjaro"

1 night Arrived 23 Feb 2018
"I stayed at the Airport Planet Lodge at Kilimanjaro, and that was absolutely the lap of luxury - I wish I could have spend another couple of days there.

Amazing welcome, fantastic service, great room with air con, scrumptious food in the restaurant .... and the bar does a mean margarita, too!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

A satisfying trip

Botswana between 3 Jun 2016 and 11 Jun 2016

Trip rating: Good
"I have no criticisms. I thought everything worked beautiful and I had a great time. I didn't see everything I would have liked, but I understand you see what you see.

Incidentally, the ex-staff member who dealt with all the arrangements for my trip was NICK HOBBS (not listed below). All my comments on the overall service apply to him, and NOT to a random team member I had to pick, otherwise the form wouldn't be accepted."

Tau Pan Camp

Tau Pan Camp

"Tau Camp: a Jewel in the Kalahari"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jun 2016
"The camp was excellent without excessive luxury.

It was well-run and all the staff were extremely welcoming and efficient. Camp manager Jessica made it a joyful place to be. My guides, Vasco and Scoopa were excellent.

All the outings provided one or more points of interest."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Shinde: Luxury in the Delta"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2016
"A luxurious camp in a lovely location.

Extremely pleasant and welcoming staff.

Game not plentiful but steady and some splendid sightings."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chitabe Camp

Chitabe Camp

"Chitabe: Possibly my favourites camp"

3 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2016
"I had a good feel about Chitabe.

Everything was perfect and the staff were so smiley and pleasant!

My guide Phin was very experienced and provided an excellent game viewing experience."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

A Good Return to Zimbabwe

Zimbabwe between 15 Jul 2014 and 26 Jul 2014

Trip rating: Good
"The trip was well organised and on the whole satisfactory.

Game viewing was a little disappointing, in that it wasn't very abundant. On the other hand, though, the scenery was breath-taking."

Musango Safari Camp

Musango Safari Camp

"Musango Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"The camp relies very much on the larger than life personality of its owner, Steve Edwards. I found him in excellent form, a passionate, extremely knowledgeable guide and a great raconteur. Having said that, the setting is outstanding in its beauty and the boat cruises are never less than agreeable. The camp itself is very comfortable affording each tent a degree of privacy. The staff are all extremely well trained, competent and welcoming. The food was good and plentiful.
I would have liked perhaps one game drive, but these were not available.

Please note also that according to Steve, the rhino breeding programme in Matusadona Park no longer exists.

I would recommend this camp to anyone!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kanga Bush Camp

Kanga Bush Camp

"They call it"

3 nights Arrived 19 Jul 2014
"This was the most luxurious camp of my trip. I loved the spacious, very comfortable tents and the common areas. Food was fabulous.

I also loved that the vast majority of the camp staff, management very much included, were black Zimbabweans. Their welcome was fantastic. The guides were excellent.
The camp faces a large waterhole, which provides an opportunity for what the staff calls "an armchair safari," ie, just sit and let the game come to you. They did, in reasonable numbers, if not great variety.

Game in game drives, though, was very scarce.

My problem with this camp is that I think it's sited far too close to a hunting concession, which probably makes game viewing more difficult as animals are skittish. One morning we heard three rifle shots - not such a pleasant experience if, like me, you're not a fan of hunting."
Good
Location
Poor
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Vundu Camp

Vundu Camp

"Fun safari"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jul 2014
"A nice camp, more homely than the previous two of my trip. The cabin was perfectly comfortable, the common areas spacious and pleasant, and the location on the river bank excellent. Food was plentiful and tasty.

My guide, Alistair, was great fun to be around and either by luck or design he did provide a good sighting of African Wild Dog, always a privilege! We also walked in on a sleeping lion, a situation he handled beautifully. My canoeing outing on the river was excellent!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team