This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp
Musango Safari Camp

Reviews of Musango Safari Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Musango Safari Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Canterbury

"A real home from home experience."

4 nights Arrived 3 Nov 2015
"Steve Edwards is a legend and we are privileged to have spent time at Musango, his home. Steve was extremely generous with both his time and hospitality.

Spending time at Lake Kariba, between 2 more conventional safari camps, gave us a very different perspective of the country. We very much enjoyed the variation of time pottering up the lake inlets trying to avoid the hippos and crocodiles; speedboating across the lake to watch large concentrations of game on the far foreshore; tracking lions with Steve (4+ hours); a visit to the camp's local fishing village.

We feel that we arrived as guests but left as friends." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
P&L
Hackney

"Fantastic time at Musango Safari Camp"

4 nights Arrived 23 Nov 2014
"We loved this even more than Hwange. It is great being on an island, in your own place, away from everything else, overlooking the lake, so you can watch a hippo pop up and down as you cool off in your own plunge pool, as well as the occasional crocodile. Conrad was a great guide so we learnt loads about the wildlife and Zimbabwe. Being on the pontoon was so peaceful and we got up so close to so many animals: loads of hippos, elephants, crocodiles, impala and more. We saw the most amazing birds as well. It was very relaxing to have plenty of time between the morning and afternoon game drives. Good food and very friendly staff; we were made to feel very welcome and dinner on the pontoon in the middle of the lake with all the stars out was a real highlight. It was also very nice to be upgraded to a honeymoon suite with our own plunge pool

Downsides: the camp owners were away for entirely understandable reasons (Steve was having surgery), and Conrad and the other staff made excellent hosts, but a gap year student was staying at the same time, and as we were the only guests, he came along on every trip until we specifically said we'd rather he didn't; this was quite awkward and may well not have happened if Steve and Wendy had been around; we took your advice and spoke very directly to Conrad about it and he sorted it out, but we think it's important that the owners are made aware that if they're not there, a very chatty, over-confident gap year student tagging along with you the entire time is pretty painful.

Also, as Conrad was the only guide there it quickly became apparent that trips by pontoon were the only option; we were assertive enough to ask for him to arrange a walk in the nearby national park with the excellent Foster and we enjoyed that very much, but as the lake was too shallow for canoe trips and the rhino sanctuary no longer existed, hardly any of the advertised activities were available. As we were novice safari guests we weren't too bothered (it would've been an amazing experience for us no matter what we did), and Conrad was so good and we had such great trips with him and Foster this didn't matter too much but safari veterans or those with higher expectations might feel disappointed or even misled by the camp's website and the flyer in the Expert Africa info packs." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms TG
London

"Musango Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"The camp relies very much on the larger than life personality of its owner, Steve Edwards. I found him in excellent form, a passionate, extremely knowledgeable guide and a great raconteur. Having said that, the setting is outstanding in its beauty and the boat cruises are never less than agreeable. The camp itself is very comfortable affording each tent a degree of privacy. The staff are all extremely well trained, competent and welcoming. The food was good and plentiful.
I would have liked perhaps one game drive, but these were not available.

Please note also that according to Steve, the rhino breeding programme in Matusadona Park no longer exists.

I would recommend this camp to anyone!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Sutton

"Musango Camp"

4 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2012
"Relaxing, well laid out room with veranda and plunge pool (we were given a honeymoon suite). Pretty public areas. Friendly, helpful staff-the barman and waiter.

However, we were surprised when we arrived to find there is an electric fence around the camp. This was not mentioned on the Musango website, and in Expert Africa's information only under 'Children' which we would have no reason to read (since amended). We were at Musango at high water and so saw no animals on the island, or from the island. Though we understand that the fence is there for safety reasons, we prefer a more wilderness experience, rather than being shut away from the animals. Hence the low rating for location.

Breakfast and afternoon tea were laid out on the upper deck for guests to help themselves. There were no guides or staff apart from in passing. In other camps we have been used to these being gathering times with the guides where we chat about the next activity. This creates a sense of anticipation and excitement which we missed here.

We did feel at times that Wendy and Steve's focus was distracted by other things, such as camp matters and local visitors with whom they had friends in common." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
EH family
SW London

"Excellent time at Musango"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2012
"We had a really brilliant time during our 2 day stay at Musango.

Steve, Wendy, Graham and Robyn together with their team ( Conrad, Forest, Stacey, and their excellent fisherman) went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. we went on a boat visit to the local village, game safaris by boat, as well as fishing and lots of bird watching.

All meals were good and eaten in the good company of fellow guests. An after dinner treat included looking for Saturn through Steve's telescope" See all these reviews: 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Luxembourg

"Together with a legend"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"My fellow travellers and I had the great pleasure to spend all the time of our stay at Musango with owner and Zimbabwe legend Steve Edwards.

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at his camp: the rooms, the main area, the garden, the view over the lake, the pontoon boat cruises and game drive with exceptional sightings. Sunsets on Lake Kariba, you will never forget them..

Steve had so many stories to tell, funny and earnest, and for me, it was especially interesting to hear his opinion on Zimbabwe`s political future. Food was the best on my whole trip. Believe it or not, we even had Filet Wellington for dinner one night and the bream fresh from the lake was a real delight." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr G & Dr E
UK

"Musango Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"Fabulous camp and wonderful hosting by Steve. Upgraded to the honeymoon suite due to camp being empty.

Lovely game viewing by boat and land rover.

Nice to be by the water after dusty Hwange!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
91%
7 reviews of Musango Safari Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
1
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Matusadona National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Rhino Safari Camp

Rhino Safari Camp

Secluded on an island on the shores of Lake Kariba, the simple Rhino Safari Camp offers great guiding and a combination of water- and land-based activities.


88% (5 reviews)
Changa Safari Camp

Changa Safari Camp

On Lake Kariba's southern shore the luxurious Changa Safari Lodge offers comfortable accommodation, great guiding & varied activities.


100% (4 reviews)
Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

Bumi Hills Safari Lodge

With beautiful views over Lake Kariba, Bumi Hills Safari Lodge is a place to relax, although there are also plenty of activities on offer.


93% (3 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa