This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs M from Luxembourg

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2016 trip

Zimbabwe between 22 Aug 2016 and 31 Aug 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"I've been, as always, been very pleased with the service of Expert Africa. This has been the fifth time I booked or partially booked my trips to Africa with help of Claire or Nick.

I travelled together with friends to two lodges in Hwange. No complaints at all, but for a solo traveller things tend to be a little bit unsatisfactory. The seat next to the driver, that is my opinion, should not be considered as equivalent to the others. You don`t see much, especially when you are small. The photographic opportunities are limited, too. So, as it seems to be no question that couples should be separated during a game drive, it`s the fate of the solo guest to be confined to this place.

I was lucky, however, that other guests arrived late, and I had an entire vehicle and driver for myself one day."

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Gwango Safari Lodge

"An extraordinary experience"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2016
"For my Zimbabwean friends and me Gwango was the first stop on our visit to Hwange NP. Two young people, Elisabeth and Danny, have started building something that is unique in the safari business. There is no intention to make a lot of money from hosting foreign travellers, but to create a centre of understanding and preserving the history and culture of Zimbabwe. It was a great pleasure for me to sit at the camp fire and to listen to Elisabeith`s stories of the old days.

There are different types of accommodation on the estate We visited the bush chalets, and I found them just perfect. There is a camp site too.

My friends and I, however, stayed at Gwango Elephant Lodge in one of the Forest Chalets. After a long drive from Chinhoyi a warm welcome from JJ and the entire team awaited us, and we felt at home at once. Atmosphere in camp was relaxed and laid back., the staff very attentive and always ready when needed. We asked for a traditional meal and were treated to a delicious dinner the same night.

One day we went for a whole day drive into the park on our own and experienced unforgettable game viewing. The next morning we had an exceptional cheetah sighting next to the lodge, followed by another visit of the NP. Gwango offers game viewing drives into the NP and walks and night drives on their estate.

Gwango is situated on its own concession overlooking a beautiful landscape and the famous Kanondo pan. Up to date only guests staying in a Tree Top Villa (recommended) are able to enjoy the view and the wildlife passing by. There are plans, however, to build a viewing deck accessible to all the other guests as well.

We came as guests and left as friends. These words seem to be the motto of many travellers who visited Gwango. That was true for me too.

I wish Elisabeth, Danny and their wonderful and dedicated team good luck and that their dreams may come true."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

"A once in a lifetime experience"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2016
"My friends and I spent 3 nights a Nehimba and left with impressions that will stay in our memories forever. Everything was just perfect: the main area, the beautiful rooms, the effective manager Anne and her always smiling and attentive staff. The food was delicious and plentiful (beware, this is not the place for people who wish to loose weight).

The knowledge and enthusiasm of our guides Chris and Forest made our game drives a pleasure. You could also choose to stay in camp the whole day and would be treated with incredible game viewing either from your own balcony or the terrace of the main building. There is a coming and going of all kind of antelope, zebra, herds of buffalo etc. etc.

The main attraction, however, are the elephants. There are the lonely bulls, the bachelor groups and the breeding herds with tiny babies. They all come and quench their thirst from the waterhole or from the pool. There, they are so close, you could touch them. It is an unique opportunity for elephant lovers to observe their behaviour and interactions.

But, there was something more special and touching for me: sunset at Nehimba Seep with elephants arriving over the ridge to dig for water and minerals. We stood silently sipping our sundowners as huge bulls passed by, fully aware of our presence but not unsettled at all.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that we saw three beautiful lionesses (no cheetah and leopard this time) and that the birdlife was amazing.

Thank you, Anne, Given, charming Musa, Chris,Forest and the entire teamfor an unforgettable safari."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

"My dream of Africa"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"After a very entertaining game viewing ride on the Elephant Express, with a nice lunch before start and many animals (even lion) on the way, I arrived at Bomani and knew at once that this would be the place for me. The surrounding landscape is beautiful and peaceful, the main area and the tents inviting and homely. I had a spacious, beautifully furnished suite with a separate, well equipped bathroom, and a terrace with comfy armchairs overlooking the waterhole.

The food was great, from breakfast to lunch, from afternoon tea to to tasty snacks for sundowners and the delicious dinners. Lovemore and Big Boy, always smiling and fun, made sure our glasses were never empty.

There is an abundance of plains game. The first game drive across the Ngamo Plans in the early morning sun was awesome. So many animals, one didn't know where to look first. The aftgernoon drive was equally rewarding. Harris was an exceptional guide, a personality with a long experience, extremely knowledgeable, and with a feeling for his guests`wishes and needs. I'd wished him to be my guide during my entire visit.

I missed the predators which were around and other guests saw, but that didn`t matter at all. The overall experience at Bomani with so many elephants, wildebeests, elands, sables, zebras, giraffes, warthos, jackals and so on and on, made this place so exceptional for me.

The last morning, on the transfer through a beautiful forest, a breeding herd of buffalo appeared out of the mist and surrounded the vehicle. That was the Africa I return for again and again.

Many thanks to the whole team of Bomani, especially to Harris and Thor, the young learner guide, for another great safari time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

One of my best safaris

Zimbabwe between 4 Sep 2011 and 18 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"My trip was a full succes. All the arrangements were as I had wished and it will certainly not have been my last journey with Expert Africa.

I am especially grateful of how generous my problems were settled.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I can`t think of an improvement being necessary"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Image alt

Ivory Lodge

"My wishes came true"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2011
"Ivory Lodge was the first place I visited on my Zimbabwe safari, and what a wonderful start it has been. I loved every minute of it. I had a refurbished house with a stunning view over the waterhole. The main area and garden were equally inviting. The hide, very close to the waterhole, is very comfortable, with animals coming and going all the time. The owner, manager, guides and staff made you feel at home and well looked after. The only little disappointment was the food that did not meet my taste, but the new manager is there to make improvement.

On my game drives on the estate and into the parc I had very good exceptional sightings: wild dogs, rhino, sable antilopes, a big buffalo herd, not to talk about all the other animals and birds as well. But, is was for the elephants, that I had come. And they were there, everywhere and I had the great pleasure to meet some of the famous matriarchs of different families of the Presidential Herd.

Dumi, my guide, called them to our vehicle, and we even had lunch with members of the W-family at Kanondo Pan. It was amazing how they trust the humans, they let the small calves come very close to us too.

Conclusion: when you are an elephant enthusiast, visit Ivory Lodge, and ask for Dumi to be your guide."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

"to short to really enjoy"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"My stay at Davison`s Camp has been to short to give a profound feedback. The tents are nice, the food, as one would expect of a Wilderness camp, was excellent and the game very good.

I talked to other guests who had spent several days here ,and they all were full of praise."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

"2 nights were not enough"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2011
"My stay at Liitle Mak was a highlight of my whole Zimbabwe journey. The camp, the people,the other guests, the food, my beautiful honeymoon!!! tent, the waterhole and the logpile hide in front of it, everything was just amazing. Elephants galore, what more could I have wished.

On the game drives with my great guide Louis I had wonderful sightings of lion, leopard, buffalo, sable, wildebeest, zebra etc. I cannot name it all.

Thank you, Rania, Kim, Louis and the whole staff for making my stay unforgettable. I will be back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Musango Safari Camp

Musango Safari Camp

"Together with a legend"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"My fellow travellers and I had the great pleasure to spend all the time of our stay at Musango with owner and Zimbabwe legend Steve Edwards.

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at his camp: the rooms, the main area, the garden, the view over the lake, the pontoon boat cruises and game drive with exceptional sightings. Sunsets on Lake Kariba, you will never forget them..

Steve had so many stories to tell, funny and earnest, and for me, it was especially interesting to hear his opinion on Zimbabwe`s political future. Food was the best on my whole trip. Believe it or not, we even had Filet Wellington for dinner one night and the bream fresh from the lake was a real delight."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ruckomechi Camp

Ruckomechi Camp

"A Zambezi dream"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"If I had a wish free I would return to Ruckomechi right now. The last three days of my safari will stay in my memory for ever. The camp has everything a guest could wish. The location breathtaking, the tents spacious and beautifully furnished, the main area inviting and, the most important point, the people who work here.

Game viewing was excellent with the highlight of wild dog sightings. Elephants, my favourites, were in camp all the time, I loved it. The afternoon pontoon boat cruise with a visit of the carmine beeaters colony and the river crossing of an elephant family just in front of the boat will for ever stay in my heart.

Thank you, Carel, Juju, Belle, Gus, Gadrick and, above all, Rachel and Jeff to having made this safari one of my best ones"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"some problems at Ilala Lodge"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"I arrived at Ilala Lodge late in the afternoon and had a positive first impression. My room was spacious, clean with everything you might need in the bathroom. I made reservation at their well known Palm Restaurant and enjoyed an excellent dinner. But, some hours later, the problems startet with cramps etc. Fortunately, my transfer to the airport was scheduled around noon, that left me some time to recover. But it also meant, that no morning visit of the falls and no shopping was possible.

After this unpleasant experience I can recommend Ilala Lodge Hotel, but not their restaurant."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team