This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge
Bomani Tented Lodge

Reviews of Bomani Tented Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bomani Tented Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Nov-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bomani Tented Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Sable antelope

75% success

Eland

50% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Oryx

33% success

Aardvark

25% success

Brown Hyena

25% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Roan antelope

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Bod
London

"Bomani Tented Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2019
"Great location and facilities. Great ambience and friendly staff. Very good and accommodating guide
Could provide more comfortable seating on the porch
An update on their website to follow up on the animals we saw, esp the injured lion and the mating hippos" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms A
Pennsylvania

"Loved Bomani"

3 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2019
"Bomani was a really nice lodge. Staff were all very professional and pleasant. Everyone I met
was very nice and I had a good time with the other travelers. The lodge was very clean and I had a lot of
privacy in my tent which was nice. My favorite part was the deck. The views were beautiful. It was a
very relaxing atmosphere. The drives were good and the guides were knowledgeable and did their best to find the game." See all these reviews: 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Aardvark

1 sighting

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Scotland

"Bomani Review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2018
"Bomani is a comfortable tented Lodge although perhaps for us not at quite the same sort of level as our previous experience at Nehimba, but it is nonetheless a very good lower cost option. Staff are friendly, accommodation comfortable and food plentiful. It is worth mentioning that we understand staff employed here are nearly all from the local area which we feel must be a great help to the local communities.

The simple breakfast taken around the campfire was a nice touch. In the evening everyone in camp dined at the same time around one large table, which works well at smaller camps, however here, we would have preferred dining to be in smaller groups as at our previous camp. We would just mention that on an odd occasion the choice of meals was a little strange for us. For example on the day of leaving we were to have 'breakfast' at 10:00 but this turned out to be a lunch of Chicken casserole pie, vegetables etc and while very nice it was perhaps a little early in the day for us to eat this sort of meal, even on safari. Personally a brunch more geared towards the bacon and egg type would be our choice but that is perhaps personal preference.

The main lodge part has comfortable seating areas with a small plunge pool to the side overlooking the waterhole.

Our guide Phets was very good and very persistent in trying to track down good wildlife sightings, particularly lion which we found on a kill. Also he arranged a bush walk for us with Sibs the Head Guide which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Overall we had an excellent stay and even when some cheeky baboon (or monkey) managed to get into our room staff quickly sorted out the mess made. All part of the safari experience!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Great time at Bomani"

6 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2018
"It was interesting to stay in two camps run by the same company. Both were excellent and yet so different! All the staff were great, and it was good to meet up with some of our ‘Jozi’ staff at Bomani once again.

Eric was an excellent guide and it was good to have the same guide for our 6 night stay. He put a lot of effort to include our interests into the activities. As amateur photographers, Eric’s ability (where possible) to position the vehicle to get the best of the light on the wildlife was a great help to us.

It was nice to be able to spend a longer time out game viewing on the days that we had lunch in the bush. Time was spent in the ‘container’ hide during the day at Bomani which gave us a different experience to that which we’d had in Jozi.

The bush walk with Paul de Montille was a great experience especially when it turned into tracking one of his radio-collared leopards. And to follow this up, we much appreciated the time Paul and Stéphanie took to show us their work with animal rescue. And to see the plots of the leopard radio tracking, and how frequently they visited Bomani camp!

And finally, the Elephant express was a great way to end our stay with Imvelo camps!" See all these reviews: 21n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms M
isleworth

"At home with the wild"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2017
"This was a fab place to kick start my safari holiday. Des and Warren made you feel so welcome and ensured that you had the most relaxed and enjoyable stay. All the staff were amazing and nothing was a bother to them. The guides were also so knowledgeable and made sure that you got ample time watching the wildlife. Having had holiday off to a bumpy start it was more than made up for in my short stay here and sad that i didn't get to spend more time. Breakfast round the camp fire was awesome and really set the day. The rooms were clean and very comfortable with everything you needed and more and to be able to hear the wild at night was breathtaking - as were the views. I cannot rate this highly enough for both the warm, hospitable and homely feel to the camp as well as the experience of the game drives, to see a lion in the first 15 minutes was truly my dream. We were all made to feel part of a large family" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mrs M
Luxembourg

"My dream of Africa"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2016
"After a very entertaining game viewing ride on the Elephant Express, with a nice lunch before start and many animals (even lion) on the way, I arrived at Bomani and knew at once that this would be the place for me. The surrounding landscape is beautiful and peaceful, the main area and the tents inviting and homely. I had a spacious, beautifully furnished suite with a separate, well equipped bathroom, and a terrace with comfy armchairs overlooking the waterhole.

The food was great, from breakfast to lunch, from afternoon tea to to tasty snacks for sundowners and the delicious dinners. Lovemore and Big Boy, always smiling and fun, made sure our glasses were never empty.

There is an abundance of plains game. The first game drive across the Ngamo Plans in the early morning sun was awesome. So many animals, one didn't know where to look first. The aftgernoon drive was equally rewarding. Harris was an exceptional guide, a personality with a long experience, extremely knowledgeable, and with a feeling for his guests`wishes and needs. I'd wished him to be my guide during my entire visit.

I missed the predators which were around and other guests saw, but that didn`t matter at all. The overall experience at Bomani with so many elephants, wildebeests, elands, sables, zebras, giraffes, warthos, jackals and so on and on, made this place so exceptional for me.

The last morning, on the transfer through a beautiful forest, a breeding herd of buffalo appeared out of the mist and surrounded the vehicle. That was the Africa I return for again and again.

Many thanks to the whole team of Bomani, especially to Harris and Thor, the young learner guide, for another great safari time." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G
Amersham

"Magnificent stay"

5 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2015
"The whole safari experience was mind blowingly awesome and Bomani made it happen. The accomodation was immaculate and spacious and hard to believe we were in the middle of the African bush with all the home comforts.

The food was immaginative, delicious and plentiful. The safari guiding was brilliant, with plenty of wildlife to see. The ride on the elephant express train to welcome us was unique and much better than travelling by road. Each day was a new surprise and it did not disappoint.

Our evening meal in the bush to celebrate our daughters Birthday, together with the night drive, was one none of us will forget." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
94%
7 reviews of Bomani Tented Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (29 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa