This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp

Reviews of Hwange Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

24 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hwange Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 13 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hwange Bush Camp.
Lion

92% success

Leopard

17% success

Cheetah

17% success

Wild dog

23% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

92% success

Zebra

92% success

Hippo

85% success

Roan antelope

75% success

Buffalo

69% success

Sable antelope

36% success

Spotted Hyena

18% success

Eland

17% success

Oryx

9% success

Brown Hyena

8% success

Wildebeest

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 24
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B.
Florida

"Hwange Bush Camp - Intimate and Wonderful!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"Really felt like we were on safari! Only six visitors, including us, in this camp; very intimate and marvelous.

The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and really made us feel special. Our guides were exceptional. Had so many close encounters with elephants, giraffes, lions and kudu.

We saw so many different animals, and many animals we hadn’t even heard of before. Our guides were fantastic spotters of waterbuck, impala, reedbuck, warthogs, duiker, steenbok, baboons, jackals and genet!

Also, many different African birds, especially the bataleur." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

The Golds
UK

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2022
"This camp was outstanding in their guiding, food, energy and warmth of hospitality.
Lead by Dave the whole team were great to be around and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Dave is a truly world class guide and made us laugh from start to finish.
Such a great guy and taught us so much.
The comfort for a bush camp was great.
We were not prepared for how cold it was and that was due to our lack of planning." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
London

"Very comfortable tented camp"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"The tents are very comfortable. The main area of the tent has enough space for a double bed and bed side tables but not much more. There is then a storage area and bathroom complete with bucket shower. The showers can be ordered at any time, including as you return from a game drive so it is ready for when you return. We found the showers lasted plenty long enough. One thing to be aware of is the camp site is in quite an exposed position and can be very windy. This makes for a billowing and rustling tent at night which takes some getting used to for a light sleeper. We were advised that the winds were even stronger in the days before our arrival! The food at the camp was very good, but understandably simpler than at Camp Hwange.

The resident guide is Spike who we chatted to around camp but were guided by Alan who had come with us from Camp Hwange.

We did a lot of walking and focussed mainly on tracking lion which was the last thing on my list that I really wanted to do - approaching lion on foot. We were unsuccessful in finding them but we enjoyed tracking them and walking. We heard lions from camp on a couple of occasions during the night. The concentration of wildlife is less in this area of the park and what we did see was more nervous of the vehicle.

The main area of the camp is similar to that at Camp Hwange and very nice. Sitting around the fire with a glass of wine in the evenings is a great way to end the day." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Dr D
Salisbury

"Out in the bush experience at Hwange Bush Cam"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"Our stay at Hwange Bush Camp was very special - as close as you can get to wild camping in the bush without being on a mobile safari / fly camping trip.

The location is excellent - away from anywhere, with no light pollution and a clear view of the stars and Milky Way. There are no barriers between you and the bush and the wildlife; it was interesting lying in our tent listening to lions roaring during the night and elephants grazing right outside.

The tents were very comfortable, with luxury beds and flushing toilets. The showers are 'bucket showers' but can be provided as cold, tepid or warm; however, they are very effective and we got two showers out of a cold bucket which was perfectly comfortable given the daytime temperatures. As the camp is about 1000 metres up, the nights were cooler but a hot water bottle waited for you in bed, so we were never cold.

The staff were excellent, friendly and informative, and the food (all cooked over an open wood fire) amazing. Our guide Andrew Dalziel is a well known Zimbabwe guide and led us on daily, walking safaris. we learnt much about anything from lichens to lions.

I highly recommend the Hwange Bush Camp to anyone who wants to experience camping in the bush but with comfortable beds and flushing toilets - however, not for those who do not have an interest in all aspects of safari and who cannot stray from a luxury hotel or the internet." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

The H family
Sweden

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H family
Sweden

"Beautiful and highly professionally"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2019
"Our stay at the Hwange Bush Camp started at the main camp, which is fresh-looking and beautifully located overlooking a wide grass plain; it is very relaxing to sit outside your tent and just enjoy the view. One afternoon we walked across the plain, then through an area with big beautiful rain trees, acacias and a lot of birds. We were there in the end of the green season by choice because we wanted to see lush African landscapes and we really enjoyed it. And we were fully aware that the green season also could mean it could be a challenge sometimes to find the wildlife as it is more spread out then and a bit harder to spot through thick green bush. Therefore we had chosen Zimbabwe, as we had heard they have exceptionally good guides who are skillful in tracking big game and coming close to it by foot.

But how to find these guides? The answer for us was to ask Expert Africa, as several times before. Their recommendation to also go Fly Camping with the team from Hwange Bush Camp turned out to be a brilliant and exciting experience. We have written a separate review about the Fly Camping which was just amazing, especially when we tracked down a pride of lions together with our very professional guides and we came very close without the lions seeing us.

After the Fly Camping we had a last night at the main camp again together with the whole Hwange Bush Camp Team which is very service minded, nice and attentive. And easy going!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Brilliant time at Hwange bush camp"

5 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2018
"It was great to be in a place that put the maximum time into game viewing. We go on safari to watch the wildlife, and not to sit around relaxing! At Hwange Bush Camp that was just what we got – absolutely brilliant! Most importantly of all, we experienced a flexibility to change plans and stay out all day in order to maximise the sightings of wildlife.

It was good to have the same guide throughout our stay, who also happened to be the owner, Dave. To be guided by someone who is so passionate about the bush and the wildlife was a real bonus. Not only did we do the walks, but Dave’s willingness to stop a drive, hop off the vehicle, to follow tracks and/or get a better view of wildlife on foot was a new experience for us.

Although we are keen on photography, we are not that ‘professional’, so Dave’s ability (where possible) to position the vehicle to get the best of the light on the wildlife was a great help to us.

A bush camp doesn’t mean that you can’t be comfortable! The tents were spacious, and well furnished – much more than we were expecting from a bush camp. The familiar bucket showers were always welcome at the end of the day." See all these reviews: 21n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

9 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"We prefer open air bathrooms but the bathrooms were closed in and ventilation was non existent and so the temperature in there was appallingly high.
We were told that it was not necessary to put "valuables" in the camp safe but as all our bags were visited by mice (although the bags were not on the floor and we carried no food - this has never happened to us before), we would not have been amused if the mice had chewed through $ and passports rather than ear plugs and tissues. We would recommend zipping all bags closed and putting money in the safe.
Although our guide was very good and we had some good sightings, it often seemed that they were struggling to think of things to do with us, due to a lack of local knowledge. As is obvious from the species list we did not see much variety of animals. It was often necessary to drive quite a long way to see anything, whereas I feel the point of a bush camp is to feel isolated but self contained. (There were even suggestions that we might drive to Camp Hwange for viewings, which seemed to defeat the object of being at the Bush Camp).Next year the location of the Bush Camp will change, which may correct some of the shortcomings." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2018
"After fly camping we returned for a further two nights in Hwange Bush Camp.

Food continued to be excellent on both evenings, and again we decided to have picnic lunch each day to stay out in the park longer. The chef rose to the challenge and provided different food each day. Everything about the experience was superb, especially the evening dinners, shared with four other guests in camp and the camp staff and guides present on site." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Hwange Bush Camp Fly Camping"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"The second part of the stay was fly camping. We stayed at two different sites which allowed us to see more of the National Park. When we arrived in the early evening after a full day in the bush, the fly camp had been set up with our small dome tent and bucket shower and long drop toilet at the rear of the tent.

This may not be for everyone as it is very basic on the accommodation side, but that is not why you do fly camping you do it to see more of the park and get closer to nature.
Hot water for a bucket shower was readily available on request, tent clean and welcoming.

The food provided was outstanding, set up on a proper dining table, with brilliantly coloured table cloth, china plates and cutlery, glasses etc. First night, we had spaghetti bolognase and apple crumble, second night steak/ribs followed by lemon pudding.

Again woken at 5am, breakfast by camp fire at 5:30am out on a bush walk by 6pm. each morning a bush walk for 2.5 hours not knowing what you would encounter. On our second day we followed Rhino tracks for 3km before we gave up. The move to the second camp was well managed by the team and, on arrival, again the whole camp was well set up." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 24
96%
24 reviews of Hwange Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
20
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


96% (83 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


92% (36 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (32 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (19 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (15 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Sable Valley Lodge

Sable Valley Lodge

Set on the 11km Dete Vlei, the recently refurbished Sable Valley is in a private reserve with its own entrance into Hwange National Park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa