This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp

Reviews of Hwange Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

31 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hwange Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 20 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hwange Bush Camp.
Lion

95% success

Leopard

21% success

Cheetah

37% success

Wild dog

20% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

95% success

Zebra

95% success

Hippo

75% success

Roan antelope

74% success

Buffalo

65% success

Spotted Hyena

44% success

Sable antelope

35% success

Eland

11% success

Oryx

6% success

Brown Hyena

5% success

Wildebeest

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 31
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2023
"Excellent guides. Efficient and friendly camp staff. Comfortable tents. A beautiful location with outstanding game viewing." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr & Mrs V.
Leiden

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2023
"Though we never stayed at bush camp before, it immediately felt familiar. The setting is beautiful, the staff are incredibly friendly and the guiding is top level. It's definately more comfortable than its predecessor Hwange Mobile, but fortunately without losing any character. They are still capable of being able to offer an authentic experience and upon arrival we knew we were in the right place.

We were lucky enough to have a private guide on most of the game drives and this enabled us to go slow and really take time to appreciate the surroundings without rushing to see the next lion. Actually experiencing a red crested korhaan showing its red crest, while dancing around may not sound like a big thing, but for us it was.

I can honestly not think of any improvement. Please keep doing what you do and thank you for doing it." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Peter & Olga
France

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2023
"This was our 3rd visit to Hwange Bush Camp (but the first time in its new location).

Everything about Bush Camp is excellent - location, rooms, food and above all the welcoming atmosphere created by the outstanding team.

The guides are knowledgeable and inspiring with two good long game drives each day.

We will definitely return." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Peter & Olga
France

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2023
"This was our 3rd visit to Hwange Bush Camp (but the first time in its new location).

Everything about Bush Camp is excellent - location, rooms, food and above all the welcoming atmosphere created by the outstanding team.

The guides are knowledgeable and inspiring with two good long game drives each day.

Particular thanks to Petrus, Sean and Spike. We will definitely return." See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Jan & Nina
Düsseldorf

"I used to love self drive..."

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2023
"This is a camp that focusses on wildlife, guiding, bush life and communality of the guests rather than on civilisation luxury.

It is located in the game-rich Robins area, and we have had fabulous sightings thanks to excellent guides. We have been guided by a professional guide and a learner guide who was very knowledgeable and experienced - and fun to be with.

Hospitality at the camp is equally outstanding. While the variety of the food and the drinks is tailored to bush life, the cooking was brilliant. Service was very personal, amazingly attentive and at the same time unobtrusive. The meals are communal, with breakfast around the fire at dawn and dinner around a beautifully decorated table - allowing for good conversations with our bush camping mates.

The tents feature a comfortable bed, a washbasin, a proper toilet, a bucket shower (filled within a few minutes with water at the desired temperature upon request at any given time), a fan and electric light including good reading lights at the bedside. This is not one of the camps trying to mimic a downtown Manhattan five star hotel room. This is one of the very few places that offers authentic bush camping in a very comfortable manner.

For ten years I used to prefer self drive over camps for the wilderness experience. Hwange Bush Camp has changed this preference, and I hope to be able to come back and spend more time here including some fly camping." See all these reviews: 3n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Chained Bear
Asia

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Jun 2023
"A camp conceived, built, managed and run by GUIDES. And it shows in everything they do.

A magical place - possibly my favourite camp in the whole park (and in Hwange I have been to a LOT over the years).

As something of an aside, for such a relatively rustic camp, the food was quite exceptional." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs. E.
Zurich

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 23 Apr 2023
"- Rustic & authentic camp, fantastic quides, comfortable tents with bucket showers: a perfect combination
- best walking safaris ever
- excellent tracking led to great sightings
- David Carson is one-of-a-kind, extremely knowledgeable and passionate about nature/wildlife
- great food
- Sean was also very competent and a pleasure to spend time with
- the whole team went the extra mile
- map on the wall was very helpful" See all these reviews: 7n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Florida

"Hwange Bush Camp - Intimate and Wonderful!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2022
"Really felt like we were on safari! Only six visitors, including us, in this camp; very intimate and marvelous.

The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and really made us feel special. Our guides were exceptional. Had so many close encounters with elephants, giraffes, lions and kudu.

We saw so many different animals, and many animals we hadn’t even heard of before. Our guides were fantastic spotters of waterbuck, impala, reedbuck, warthogs, duiker, steenbok, baboons, jackals and genet!

Also, many different African birds, especially the bataleur." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Cheetah

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

The Golds
UK

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2022
"This camp was outstanding in their guiding, food, energy and warmth of hospitality.
Lead by Dave the whole team were great to be around and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Dave is a truly world class guide and made us laugh from start to finish.
Such a great guy and taught us so much.
The comfort for a bush camp was great.
We were not prepared for how cold it was and that was due to our lack of planning." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
London

"Very comfortable tented camp"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"The tents are very comfortable. The main area of the tent has enough space for a double bed and bed side tables but not much more. There is then a storage area and bathroom complete with bucket shower. The showers can be ordered at any time, including as you return from a game drive so it is ready for when you return. We found the showers lasted plenty long enough. One thing to be aware of is the camp site is in quite an exposed position and can be very windy. This makes for a billowing and rustling tent at night which takes some getting used to for a light sleeper. We were advised that the winds were even stronger in the days before our arrival! The food at the camp was very good, but understandably simpler than at Camp Hwange.

The resident guide is Spike who we chatted to around camp but were guided by Alan who had come with us from Camp Hwange.

We did a lot of walking and focussed mainly on tracking lion which was the last thing on my list that I really wanted to do - approaching lion on foot. We were unsuccessful in finding them but we enjoyed tracking them and walking. We heard lions from camp on a couple of occasions during the night. The concentration of wildlife is less in this area of the park and what we did see was more nervous of the vehicle.

The main area of the camp is similar to that at Camp Hwange and very nice. Sitting around the fire with a glass of wine in the evenings is a great way to end the day." See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 31
97%
31 reviews of Hwange Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
27
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (87 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


95% (36 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


92% (36 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


98% (24 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (15 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


89% (9 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


98% (8 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


95% (8 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


88% (5 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


95% (4 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp features a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants and offers excellent value for money.


95% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (4 reviews)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


100% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Daka Plains Camp

Daka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Sable Valley Lodge

Sable Valley Lodge

Set on the 12km Dete Vlei, the recently upgraded and family-friendly Sable Valley sits in a private reserve within easy reach of Hwange National Park.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa