This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp

Reviews of Hwange Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hwange Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hwange Bush Camp.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

9% success

Cheetah

9% success

Wild dog

18% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Zebra

91% success

Hippo

82% success

Roan antelope

70% success

Buffalo

64% success

Sable antelope

30% success

Eland

18% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A.
London

"Very comfortable tented camp"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"The tents are very comfortable. The main area of the tent has enough space for a double bed and bed side tables but not much more. There is then a storage area and bathroom complete with bucket shower. The showers can be ordered at any time, including as you return from a game drive so it is ready for when you return. We found the showers lasted plenty long enough. One thing to be aware of is the camp site is in quite an exposed position and can be very windy. This makes for a billowing and rustling tent at night which takes some getting used to for a light sleeper. We were advised that the winds were even stronger in the days before our arrival! The food at the camp was very good, but understandably simpler than at Camp Hwange.

The resident guide is Spike who we chatted to around camp but were guided by Alan who had come with us from Camp Hwange.

We did a lot of walking and focussed mainly on tracking lion which was the last thing on my list that I really wanted to do - approaching lion on foot. We were unsuccessful in finding them but we enjoyed tracking them and walking. We heard lions from camp on a couple of occasions during the night. The concentration of wildlife is less in this area of the park and what we did see was more nervous of the vehicle.

The main area of the camp is similar to that at Camp Hwange and very nice. Sitting around the fire with a glass of wine in the evenings is a great way to end the day. " See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Dr D
Salisbury

"Out in the bush experience at Hwange Bush Cam"

4 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"Our stay at Hwange Bush Camp was very special - as close as you can get to wild camping in the bush without being on a mobile safari / fly camping trip.

The location is excellent - away from anywhere, with no light pollution and a clear view of the stars and Milky Way. There are no barriers between you and the bush and the wildlife; it was interesting lying in our tent listening to lions roaring during the night and elephants grazing right outside.

The tents were very comfortable, with luxury beds and flushing toilets. The showers are 'bucket showers' but can be provided as cold, tepid or warm; however, they are very effective and we got two showers out of a cold bucket which was perfectly comfortable given the daytime temperatures. As the camp is about 1000 metres up, the nights were cooler but a hot water bottle waited for you in bed, so we were never cold.

The staff were excellent, friendly and informative, and the food (all cooked over an open wood fire) amazing. Our guide Andrew Dalziel is a well known Zimbabwe guide and led us on daily, walking safaris. we learnt much about anything from lichens to lions.

I highly recommend the Hwange Bush Camp to anyone who wants to experience camping in the bush but with comfortable beds and flushing toilets - however, not for those who do not have an interest in all aspects of safari and who cannot stray from a luxury hotel or the internet. " See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Brown Hyena

2 sightings

Buffalo

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

The H family
Sweden

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 25 May 2019
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The H family
Sweden

"Beautiful and highly professionally"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2019
"Our stay at the Hwange Bush Camp started at the main camp, which is fresh-looking and beautifully located overlooking a wide grass plain; it is very relaxing to sit outside your tent and just enjoy the view. One afternoon we walked across the plain, then through an area with big beautiful rain trees, acacias and a lot of birds. We were there in the end of the green season by choice because we wanted to see lush African landscapes and we really enjoyed it. And we were fully aware that the green season also could mean it could be a challenge sometimes to find the wildlife as it is more spread out then and a bit harder to spot through thick green bush. Therefore we had chosen Zimbabwe, as we had heard they have exceptionally good guides who are skillful in tracking big game and coming close to it by foot.

But how to find these guides? The answer for us was to ask Expert Africa, as several times before. Their recommendation to also go Fly Camping with the team from Hwange Bush Camp turned out to be a brilliant and exciting experience. We have written a separate review about the Fly Camping which was just amazing, especially when we tracked down a pride of lions together with our very professional guides and we came very close without the lions seeing us.

After the Fly Camping we had a last night at the main camp again together with the whole Hwange Bush Camp Team which is very service minded, nice and attentive. And easy going! " See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs B
Witney

"Brilliant time at Hwange bush camp"

5 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2018
"It was great to be in a place that put the maximum time into game viewing. We go on safari to watch the wildlife, and not to sit around relaxing! At Hwange Bush Camp that was just what we got – absolutely brilliant! Most importantly of all, we experienced a flexibility to change plans and stay out all day in order to maximise the sightings of wildlife.

It was good to have the same guide throughout our stay, who also happened to be the owner, Dave. To be guided by someone who is so passionate about the bush and the wildlife was a real bonus. Not only did we do the walks, but Dave’s willingness to stop a drive, hop off the vehicle, to follow tracks and/or get a better view of wildlife on foot was a new experience for us.

Although we are keen on photography, we are not that ‘professional’, so Dave’s ability (where possible) to position the vehicle to get the best of the light on the wildlife was a great help to us.

A bush camp doesn’t mean that you can’t be comfortable! The tents were spacious, and well furnished – much more than we were expecting from a bush camp. The familiar bucket showers were always welcome at the end of the day.
" See all these reviews: 21n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

7 sightings

Roan antelope

9 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2018
"We prefer open air bathrooms but the bathrooms were closed in and ventilation was non existent and so the temperature in there was appallingly high.
We were told that it was not necessary to put "valuables" in the camp safe but as all our bags were visited by mice (although the bags were not on the floor and we carried no food - this has never happened to us before), we would not have been amused if the mice had chewed through $ and passports rather than ear plugs and tissues. We would recommend zipping all bags closed and putting money in the safe.
Although our guide was very good and we had some good sightings, it often seemed that they were struggling to think of things to do with us, due to a lack of local knowledge. As is obvious from the species list we did not see much variety of animals. It was often necessary to drive quite a long way to see anything, whereas I feel the point of a bush camp is to feel isolated but self contained. (There were even suggestions that we might drive to Camp Hwange for viewings, which seemed to defeat the object of being at the Bush Camp).Next year the location of the Bush Camp will change, which may correct some of the shortcomings." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2018
"After fly camping we returned for a further two nights in Hwange Bush Camp.

Food continued to be excellent on both evenings, and again we decided to have picnic lunch each day to stay out in the park longer. The chef rose to the challenge and provided different food each day. Everything about the experience was superb, especially the evening dinners, shared with four other guests in camp and the camp staff and guides present on site.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

5 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Hwange Bush Camp Fly Camping"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"The second part of the stay was fly camping. We stayed at two different sites which allowed us to see more of the National Park. When we arrived in the early evening after a full day in the bush, the fly camp had been set up with our small dome tent and bucket shower and long drop toilet at the rear of the tent.

This may not be for everyone as it is very basic on the accommodation side, but that is not why you do fly camping you do it to see more of the park and get closer to nature.
Hot water for a bucket shower was readily available on request, tent clean and welcoming.

The food provided was outstanding, set up on a proper dining table, with brilliantly coloured table cloth, china plates and cutlery, glasses etc. First night, we had spaghetti bolognase and apple crumble, second night steak/ribs followed by lemon pudding.

Again woken at 5am, breakfast by camp fire at 5:30am out on a bush walk by 6pm. each morning a bush walk for 2.5 hours not knowing what you would encounter. On our second day we followed Rhino tracks for 3km before we gave up. The move to the second camp was well managed by the team and, on arrival, again the whole camp was well set up." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

7 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Zebra

8 sightings

Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"Hwange Bush Camp delivers what it sets out to being a remote camp providing excellent guiding in the Hwange National Park.

Tents are comfortable and clean with flushing toilet and running water. Hot water provided for showers on request and brought to your bucket shower at the back of the tent.
Electricity is limited to lights in the tent, battery powered - charging facilities for batteries etc provided in the main area. As a remote camp there is no WiFi or phone signal which means that being away from outside contact allows you to switch off.

Food was excellent throughout our stay, breakfast by the camp fire at 5:30am, then we went out for a bush walk for 2 to 3 hours, then we had a picnic lunch out in the park and returned to camp after a sundowner at 6:30pm. This was a full on safari experience with more than 12 hours in the bush each day. We could have gone back to camp for lunch but when we were offered the opportunity to spend all day out, we jumped at it.

At present we were told the camp will be moving to a new location next year due to the proximity of a new lodge being built. The building work didn’t negatively impact our stay in any way." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

2 sightings

Elephant

6 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

3 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr M.
Ramsgate

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2018
"We enjoyed our time at Hwange bush camp. Although the variety of game was less than we have seen on previous safaris, we got to spend time close up with animals, notably a pride of lions with a buffalo kill. This was the high-light for one of us. We watched them for a long time in the afternoon and again in the early evening as they went down to a water hole to drink. It was delightful to watch the cubs playing together as the temperature dropped a little.

Our first afternoon was spent watching a large group of elephant at a water-hole. The youngsters were very boisterous and it was a real privilege to watch them.

We also spent some time at Deteema Dam which was delightful and the high-light for the other one of us. We saw Painted Dogs there. We would have liked to have spent more time there just watching the wild-life come and go but a bush-walk had been scheduled and we weren't offered the option. The walk was through the heat of the day and intended to be to a spring, however when we got there the spring had dried. We didn't enjoy that experience.

Our tent was in a lovely location, spacious and well equipped. The bathroom was adequate and the bucket shower worked well. Meals were good and well cooked. Breakfast was informal - a buffet outside by the camp fire and drinks before dinner were taken under the stars with amazing views of the Milky Way.

Camp staff were friendly and helpful and laundry was returned promptly. The guides were very professional and knowledgeable.















" See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 1-10 of 22
95%
22 reviews of Hwange Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession adjacent to Hwange National Park, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (29 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, the low-impact Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent opportunities for wildlife spotting.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp is a small, tented camp offering excellent value for money and is a great place from which to see elephants in particular.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote, rugged and offering real wilderness experience in Zimbabwe’s largest national park, Jozibanini has the potential to be a great add-on to a stay in Hwange.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa