This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp
Hwange Bush Camp

Reviews of Hwange Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hwange Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 11 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Hwange Bush Camp.
Lion

91% success

Leopard

9% success

Cheetah

9% success

Wild dog

18% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

91% success

Zebra

91% success

Hippo

82% success

Roan antelope

70% success

Buffalo

64% success

Sable antelope

30% success

Eland

18% success

Spotted Hyena

10% success

Brown Hyena

9% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mr S.
Clontarf

"Good small camp: experience below expectation"

3 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2018
"Bush camp is a simpler tented camp at the north end of the park where game is more dispersed. Whilst more basic it has a nice feel and guests mix together. We had some great experiences and sightings, with close encounters with many elephant. However due to limitations with the number of guides we couldn’t do the walking safaris we had hoped for and for which we understood the camp is designed.

We spent a lot of time on game drives which enabled us to see many different game but had only one close encounter out of the vehicle.

The tents are comfortable with great food and the night skies are amazing.

If you want to walk check out the availability of guides in advance " See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Lion

9 sightings

Roan antelope

4 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Kingston

"Great stay at Hwange Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2018
"We stayed 3 nights at Hwange Bush Camp in late August, the first of 3 camps on our safari, and we would certainly return. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it for anyone not wanting what we call "luxury". Our Camp Manager was Anna, congenial and efficient.

We stayed in Tent 6, which I think was the farthest from the main area. Small covered seating area just outside the entrance to the tent, bucket shower (3 1/2 minutes long, which we found to be plenty), running cold water at the sink and a flush toilet. The water was fine to drink and we did so throughout our stay. In fact if the camp could figure out how to avoid using the small plastic bottles of water for guests, that would be great (maybe refillable metal bottles?).

The meals are all cooked over an open fire and were very enjoyable. Lunch and dinner were served buffet style in the dining tent. Breakfast around the fire before the game drive.

On the morning game drives we seemed to travel quite a distance before seeing any animals and we found the jeep was not quite as comfortable as some others we have been in. We sat in the front row and there was no bar to hold onto and my feet didn't reach the floor. But it did not stop us from enjoying the sightings: giraffes, elephants galore having mudbaths and drinking, 12 wild dogs resting, lions, kudu, impala, hippos, steenbok, rock hyrax, banded mongoose. In this more remote area of the park, the animals may be less habituated to the vehicles so we didn't always get as close to them as at other camps.

Spike was our guide and he is extremely knowledgeable and descriptive, of course. On one late afternoon walk from camp we sat to watch elephants at a water source, this was really special. We also saw a leopard, from a distance-we had been watching an elephant and suddenly the leopard ran off from under a bush nearby.

We found that the length of the morning drives was less dependent on a fixed time than in some other camps, ie. on one day we did not return to camp until 3 pm. Although we did have a snack at 1 pm that time, it was a rather long day for us, although it was certainly productive in terms of sightings. A trade off! And that is the day we did the walk to see the elephants as our late afternoon activity, which was a welcome alternative to another drive.

Thank you Spike, Anna, Beth and Jean. I apologize for not remembering everyone's names.
" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

8 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mrs M
Japan

"Awsome experience"

3 nights Arrived 1 May 2018
"Hwange Bush Camp is smaller than Camp Hwange and I really like this rustic camp. Each room has comfortable beds and very large bathroom.

I always enjoyed meals with other guests, camp staffs and guides. I love this familiar atmoshere.

My guide was Julian. On the way to the camp, I had my first experience to touch a Python. We tracked lions on foot but didn't find them, but on my third day , finally we saw the lion, "Vusi", with 4 females and 2 cubs.
I would definately stay there again.
" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr & Mrs S
France

"From Hwange Mobile to Hwange Bush Camp ."

4 nights Arrived 6 Nov 2017
"Hwange Bush Camp is the new semi-permanent home of the previous Hwange mobile camp. We have enjoyed the mobile camp on our previous visits to Hwange and were interested to see how the Bush Camp compares. We were pleased to find that it is excellent.

There are six large tents - similar to those used on the "luxury" mobile safari, but with an extended toilet and shower area at the rear. It is all very spacious and comfortable. The lounge and dining areas are very well appointed - and of course the food is good and the guiding excellent.

Bush Camp is located in the Robins Camp section of Hwange which is much quieter with fewer vehicles than other parts of Hwange. Game viewing was excellent - we clocked up 20 lions on one day. It is nice to have the flexibility to stay out all day if one wants and to combine walking with driving. We were pleased to meet up again with Andrew Dalzell who has guided us on all of our previous trips to Hwange. Andrew is an amazing guide and every day with him is a rewarding experience." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr S
Yorkshire

"A wonderful experience"

3 nights Arrived 13 Oct 2017
"We were slightly apprehensive about going to the Bush Camp after the luxury of Somalisa Expeditions and in retrospect it would have been better to have visited this camp first as it could not possibly live up to the amazing hospitality and setting of Somalisa. Saying that, once we settled in we really enjoyed the Bush Camp. The food there was delicious, probably the best of all the camps, which is amazing considering the limited cooking facilities.

They also produced the most imaginative vegetarian meals, which were much appreciated. Another surprise to us all was the care and attention that went into setting the table for dinner. Lucky went to astonishing lengths to produce beautiful table settings which even included napkins modelled as giraffes. All very impressive in a bush camp.

There is no waterhole at this camp but the night noises and animal visitors make up for this. We frequently heard lions quite close to camp and one evening the staff has to chase away a hyena.

The time spent on game drives can be quite tiring. Up at 5.15am for a quick breakfast and out by 6am. A break on route for a drink and biscuit at around 11am was much needed. Although the homemade biscuits are delicious, maybe something more substantial is required at this point as we didn't return to camp until 1pm with lunch at 1.30pm. After a delicious lunch we had a short rest before going out again at 4pm until 6.30pm. Dinner at 8pm then bed. This regime may it suit everyone but for 2/3 days it is worth it.

The animals in this area of the park are less used to being observed and are therefore quite skittish and more difficult to find. The advantage of this though is you do not share the experience with others, which makes it more special? Our guide, Andrew was very experienced and along with Felix the tracker, they made a formidable spotting and tracking team. We not only went on game drives but also tracked lions on foot as well as elephants. We were keen to see hippo so Andrew took us to a section of river one evening where we had our sundowner watching them. It was a magical experience, particularly as we were the only ones there.

Don't be put off by the bucket showers it's not as bad as it sounds. A canvas bag on the outside of the tent is filled with warm water when you request it. You then turn on a tap in the shower as normal and water appears through a shower head. There is ample water for 2 showers.

We were so pleased that we stopped at this camp.
" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe; 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs R
Ewing

"Fantastic Guide at Hwange Bush Camp!"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2017
"Spike was our guide at Hwange Bush Camp. He was a wealth of knowledge and was constantly sharing information and experiences with us.

This was an "Eat, Sleep, Safari" adventure! We woke up at 5:15 for coffee or tea around the campfire. Off to an early morning safari and watch the sunrise. We came back to a full breakfast ready for us. Then we went on a 3 hour safari and returned to a beautiful lunch spread. Given an hour or two in the afternoon to rest, we ventured out for another 3 hour safari, returning to dinner. There were six in our group which made it very comfortable in the jeep so we could easily take lots of pictures.

Spike found so many animals that we would not have seen on our own. The walking safaris were phenomenal ! We were able to get up close to photograph and observe the behavior of many animals.

The staff washed our clothes and had them neatly folded and returned to us in the afternoon. They took care of our tents and prepared the hot water for our showers. The food was delicious! Kelvin is a fantastic chef working very hard behind the scenes! I want to thank Spike, Sean, Lucky, Kelvin, and there is one more member of the staff in which I can not remember his name.

It was the best safari ever!" See all these reviews: 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss A
Dubai

"A wilder safari"

3 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2017
"Lots to do on this side of the Hwange National Park. It is wilder, has many natural springs and pans. Landscape is beautiful filled with mopane trees complemented by the water bodies.

Night game drives are not allowed here as the Bush Camp is not in a concession area. For some reason, it was harder to track animals on foot. Friendly staff and great food. " See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Dr & Mrs S
France

"Hwange Mobile Camp review"

10 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2015
"This was our third safari with Hwange Mobile and it really is excellent. Excellent in every way - guiding, accommodation, food all outstanding. This time we camped in three different sites and all were excellent and different." See all these reviews: 12n in Zimbabwe; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peacocks/LC
USA

"Luxury Mobile Tented Hwange & Andrew Dalzell"

6 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2012
"This was our second safari to Zimbabwe. Our guide, Andrew Dalzell, who we met in 2011 at Mana Pools, was so exceptional that we asked Claire Scott of Expert Africa to create a week long Mobile Safari that was flexible enough to let Andrew create a series of unique wildlife experiences. He met us at Hwange Main Camp and over the next six days we had one of the most fascinating and exciting times of our lives. Some highlights:

* Walking with Andrew and his 60+ year old tracker, Felix then encountering elephants in a close thicket!
That got the blood pumping!
Hundreds of elephant come to Hwange this time of year.
* Two male lion brothers and their lionesses with four cubs at a fresh elephant kill;
* Sighting 3 rare Oryx, a magnificent desert antelope that Andrew had never encountered in 26 years of guiding.
To see such an experienced pro get so excited over a fresh discovery was a treat.
* A day hike searching for a male lion -- following Felix's uncanny tracking skill over rock and through brush.
After a day of searching, Felix spotted him looking down at us from a rocky hide and we were able to track
the nomadic male's progress through our binoculars.
Having never attempted mobile tenting before, we were a little apprehensive, but Andrew and the three man crew from Kazuma Trails delivered. The tents were excellent, the en suite feature made my spouse and me comfortable, the food was as good or better than we had at more expensive camps last year. Frankly, you expect something to go wrong, but the crew delivered safety, comfort and a unique experience that we'd recommend to others without reservation.
" See all these reviews: 7n in Zambia; 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
N family
Netherlands

"Fantastic safari at Hwange mobile camp"

3 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2012
"This safari was excellent on all points: nice balance between the game drives, the walks & the time spent in the hide; great guide, knowledgeable, opinionated, entertaining and a really nice person; plenty of wild life to see.

We got upgraded to a luxurious safari, which means that the comfort, food & service at the camp were perfect. The very small isolated camp & the long walks really lead to a very intimate experience with the bush.

For us it was a perfect safari!" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 22
95%
22 reviews of Hwange Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
3
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession adjacent to Hwange National Park, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (29 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, the low-impact Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent opportunities for wildlife spotting.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp is a small, tented camp offering excellent value for money and is a great place from which to see elephants in particular.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote, rugged and offering real wilderness experience in Zimbabwe’s largest national park, Jozibanini has the potential to be a great add-on to a stay in Hwange.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa