This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Davison's Camp
Davison's Camp
Davison's Camp
Davison's Camp

Reviews of Davison's Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

8 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Davison's Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 2 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Davison's Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

50% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Sable antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 1-8 of 8
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs P
Cold Ash

"Very good game drives"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"Great location which draws very many animals to the pan. Also excellent area with wide range of wildlife which could be viewed close up.

Surprise for us was the single room with toilet and shower etc. incorporated into the bedroom. The design of the Camp Hwange huts was so much better." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr CB
USA

"Nice camp, but not what we expected"

3 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2018
"We stayed in the family cabin. It was big, but we found it awkward because the toilets and showers aren't screened, and there is no privacy between the two rooms. We moved curtains from the windows to provide some screening. It would have been fine if our kids were younger, but with two young adults, it really wasn't okay. The tent was also the furthest away from the dining/central area, along a soft sand path.

The camp staff were very friendly and responsive, and the other guests were raving about it, but coming to it from Mwaleshi and Tafiki, our expectations were high, and we were disappointed.

We'd seen a lot of game in Zambia, including lion and leopard, so we were interested in the lesser animals, like the eland, sable, ostrich etc. At Davisons our family of four had to share a vehicle with two or three other people, and our guide was very focused on finding us the BIG game. We spent a lot of time driving, and not a lot of time 'seeing'.

Having come from Zambia, where game drives/walks are led by a guide, a scout AND a tea bearer, it was a shock to just have a guide driving, spotting and guiding. We felt this was detrimental to the experience and probably wouldn't return for this reason." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Roan antelope

7 sightings

Sable antelope

4 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs J
WMD

"Davison's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 23 Jan 2017
"Davidsons camp proved to be some thing of a mixture for us, the location in high season must be unique, however we felt the travelling involved could be quite challenging the driving at times left you hanging on to your seat. Probably did. Not help other guests did not rotate seating positions leaving us to finally request a vehicle to our selves to avoid travelling apart. The staff were very obligingl and friendly but after the feminiine touch at. The hide maybe we were a little spoiled." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
B family
Guildford

"A perfect place from which to see game"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2016
"In two and a half days we saw an amazing amount of wild life: numerous elephants, giraffes, various antelopes, zebra, African wild dogs. But particularly special was seeing two lionesses stalking a herd of buffalo and making a kill, then seeing the male lion come to join the meal. Subsequently we saw the cubs being brought to the kill.

Two mornings later we got to within about 20 metres of the whole pride of lions feasting on a freshly killed buffalo - the male, 5 females, 7 cubs and a young male who was kept at a distance. We sat in the Land Rover watching for good ten minutes before making way for arrivals from another camp.

We were immensely impressed by the quality of the guides although for the most part we had the same one all the time which was a nice touch. Their knowledge and bush craft was humbling.

In the camp the staff were first class: welcoming, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. The tented chalets were of a high standard, clean, comfortable and well appointed. I had not expected to find that the camp is on mains electricity, so my solar charger for laptop, camera batteries etc was redundant.

The only criticism I have, and it came to light subsequently, is that Wilderness Safaris, who run Davison's Camp and from whose airstrip in Hwange we flew to Mana Pools, will not allow other safari camps to use 'their' airstrip in Mana Pools even though the land is owned by the National Park. Because of that we had a two hour drive over rough tracks to/from the other operational airstrip in Mana Pools instead of a 20 minute one. It seemed an unhelpful and short-sighted policy." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Switzerland

"Davison's Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Mar 2016
"Wonderfull stay at Davisons, just a short stay of 2 nights.

The Camp is were well set and the Host/Staff/Guides are all very welcoming and it was just awesome to stay there. Also the Location is quite nice and a very good start to the Wilderness Concession in the far South of the Hwange NP. Very nice and easily to reach is the Ngamo Pan, which was very stunning from a landscape sight and also in terms of Game. Big herds of Wildebeest, must have been hundreds, Giraffes, Zebras and big herd of Eland as well!

Very nice start to my Hwange Safari." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Birdwatcher
UK

"variety of wildlife, convivial camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Jun 2014
"All good enjoyed all of it.
star map and telescope would be awesome as night sky amazing.
all good, guides interesting and well informed.
small points..on the transfer back to Vic falls it might be nice to stop in a village ( pre organised) for a cup of tea and see what local village life is like, also to know more about CAMPFIRE and other programmes to work with locals. Also rich westerners like us could contribute more to that eg by donating binos, or money to the childrens projects which are so crucial for the long term preservation of wild areas." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Maidstone

"Davisons Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2011
"A typical good and well run camp as one would expect from the Wilderness group. Not one of their more expensive locations, so it was good value for money.

Management were able to respond well to certain requests when we had particular requirements.

On the game drives we had to travel frequently through a part of the Park which had little animal activity but we did not lose out on the total amount of time spent in the more interesting parts of their territory as the game drives gave plenty of time in the areas where animal activity was greater." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mrs M
Luxembourg

"to short to really enjoy"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"My stay at Davison`s Camp has been to short to give a profound feedback. The tents are nice, the food, as one would expect of a Wilderness camp, was excellent and the game very good.

I talked to other guests who had spent several days here ,and they all were full of praise." See all these reviews: 10n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-8 of 8
90%
8 reviews of Davison's Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
5
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (29 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba is a comfortable, good-value camp in a remote area of Hwange National Park, teeming with wildlife.


97% (7 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa