This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Nehimba Lodge
Nehimba Lodge
Nehimba Lodge
Nehimba Lodge
Nehimba Lodge
Nehimba Lodge
Nehimba Lodge
Nehimba Lodge

Reviews of Nehimba Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

7 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Nehimba Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 4 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Nehimba Lodge.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

0% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Roan antelope

75% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Eland

25% success

Sable antelope

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 1-7 of 7
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs & Mr J
Birmingham

"Great elephant experience"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"It was a case of being escorted to and from accommodation at any time if there were animals at the water holes, which was often.

For us there was extra interest as our guide and the hostess were people we had met previously at a different lodge within the group. All staff were very helpful and eager to please.

Breakfast was continental style and full English on day of departure. Dinner was the most enjoyable as it was taken while watching elephants drink the swimming pool dry. At times they would push and shove just like children might.

Game viewing was also good." See all these reviews: 13n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

10 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Colobus Monkeys
UK

"Comfortable lodge inattractive setting"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2019
"The lodge is very comfortable and most ably managed by Amy and her team who looked after us extremely well.
The setting is most attractive overlooking the pan fed by pumped water which attracts a range of animals, most notably the large groups of elephant. Elsewhere within the concession plains animals seemed quite scarce and therefore predators also. We did find a range of animals however including some we had not seen before in the wild." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

8 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

3 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr & Mrs W
Scotland

"Fantastic Nehimba"

3 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2018
"Having done many safaris in the past, Nehimba is right up there as one of the best. We like and prefer tented accommodation when we safari so might not be for everyone but these are very comfortable tents, raised on stilts and positioned around a waterhole. Everything you need for a very comfortable safari experience.

If you like Elephants then look no further, certainly at this time of year, although they can be quite noisy through the night but isn’t that the sort of thing you want to hear when on safari! While eating dinner we could practically reach out and touch them (but don’t!) as they come down to drink the small plunge pool dry.

And perhaps the main reason for our having such a great time were the staff. Our thanks to Amy for being an excellent camp manager, along with her husband Thys, making sure we had everything we needed. We felt like we were offered a very personal service such as being asked at what time we would like our evening meal, as well as the dining being with your guide and his group (which in our case was only the 2 of us).

We have to give a very special thank you to Mike, our guide, for just being a new friend on our holiday. An excellent level of knowledge, very persistent and a pleasure to be with. We know he was glad to be out of the office from his other role as Assistant Camp Manager!" See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

7 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr M.
Ramsgate

"Nehimba Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Sep 2018
"We really enjoyed our time at Nehimba. It was in a good location and well laid out. Our room was quite distant from the main buildings but there was a clever alarm system so if there had been an issue, we could have pressed the button on the portable device and the staff would have been alerted to an issue and also which room needed help. The room itself was lovely, very spacious and light with a private deck over-looking the waterhole. During the afternoon 'downtime' this was visited by a variety of wildlife including buffalo, saddlebill stork, yellow-billed kites and lilac-breasted rollers. The bathroom, with tub and outside shower were lovely too.

Some meals were taken in company with those we shared the safari vehicle with (1 or 2 other couples) but some were taken at individual tables. Our guide was very knowledgeable and showed us a variety of different habitats.

Sundowners were taken in the bush and we were also able to stay out after dark and saw some very interesting animals including grazing hippos and a male lion with 2 lionesses.

One morning we stopped for coffee at a hide by a waterhole and our guide cooked us pancakes to go with our coffee while we watched hippos and a variety of bird-life.

A high-light was the visit by elephants coming to drink at the water-hole and swimming pool while we ate dinner. They were completely unconcerned by us and our cameras. A thrilling experience. Other high-lights were watching a pair of Crowned Cranes with their 3 offspring and a Giant Eagle Owl with it's prey, a Springhare." See all these reviews: 8n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Mozambique; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

1 sighting

Hippo

5 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Dr T
Amersham

"Full of rustic charm in a wilderness setting"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2017
"lovely thatched cottages set in the heart of Hwange.

A particular delight was the pool literally feet in front of the veranda where literally dozens of Elephant came to drink in a continuous stream.

Elephants everywhere and had some wonderful close encounters." See all these reviews: 9n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms M
isleworth

"Something special"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2017
"This was a really special place - the location in Hwange is perfect and of course the night time visitors to the pool is unbelievable. Ann the manager made you feel so welcome and again it was like a big family, being on my own was not a problem by late afternoon I felt that I had been there a number of days and always someone to chat to. Ann also made sure you were sitting with like-minded people at dinner, what was also special was meeting up with some fellow travellers that I had met in Johannesburg, so we had a great time.

My guide Jim was absolutely amazing and made the drives very entertaining especially when there were no animal sightings. We did however see lots of amazing wildlife, birds as well as learning about the Eco system, we did spot a leopard from a distance but got spooked with us and ran off, Jim tried very hard to get that elusive leopard for me but sadly not, however it was made up for the amazing lions.

The rooms were fab and again had everything you needed and more, by now I loved my nighttime visitors - especially when being taken home one night to find 8 buffaloes at my door, truly awesome. The elephants coming to the waterhole and the residents pool at night make this a truly special place and will give you the most treasured memories never mind photographs.

Again the food was in abundance and very tasty as was Ty's Margarita's" See all these reviews: 11n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Luxembourg

"A once in a lifetime experience"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2016
"My friends and I spent 3 nights a Nehimba and left with impressions that will stay in our memories forever. Everything was just perfect: the main area, the beautiful rooms, the effective manager Anne and her always smiling and attentive staff. The food was delicious and plentiful (beware, this is not the place for people who wish to loose weight).

The knowledge and enthusiasm of our guides Chris and Forest made our game drives a pleasure. You could also choose to stay in camp the whole day and would be treated with incredible game viewing either from your own balcony or the terrace of the main building. There is a coming and going of all kind of antelope, zebra, herds of buffalo etc. etc.

The main attraction, however, are the elephants. There are the lonely bulls, the bachelor groups and the breeding herds with tiny babies. They all come and quench their thirst from the waterhole or from the pool. There, they are so close, you could touch them. It is an unique opportunity for elephant lovers to observe their behaviour and interactions.

But, there was something more special and touching for me: sunset at Nehimba Seep with elephants arriving over the ridge to dig for water and minerals. We stood silently sipping our sundowners as huge bulls passed by, fully aware of our presence but not unsettled at all.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention that we saw three beautiful lionesses (no cheetah and leopard this time) and that the birdlife was amazing.

Thank you, Anne, Given, charming Musa, Chris,Forest and the entire teamfor an unforgettable safari." See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-7 of 7
97%
7 reviews of Nehimba Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zimbabwe

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zimbabwe.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Hwange National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

Overlooking a waterhole in a remote part of Hwange National Park, Camp Hwange offers great guiding in a pristine wilderness at reasonable prices.


97% (75 reviews)
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

Somalisa is a luxurious, yet remote, safari camp in Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


91% (33 reviews)
The Hide

The Hide

Located in a small, private concession, The Hide is a relaxed and comfortable camp offering submerged hides and great family accommodation.


94% (29 reviews)
Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp is a small seasonal camp offering comfortable tents, great food, and superb guiding, and is often used by exclusive groups.


95% (22 reviews)
Little Makalolo Camp

Little Makalolo Camp

Tucked away in Hwange National Park overlooking a waterhole, Little Makalolo Camp combines top guiding with excellent wildlife watching.


99% (18 reviews)
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

A simple but stylish camp, Somalisa Expeditions sits in the heart of Hwange National Park, offering walking safaris and game drives.


100% (11 reviews)
Davison's Camp

Davison's Camp

Within the Linkwasha Concession, Davison's Camp offers superb value for money, morning walking safaris and spot-lit drives after dark.


90% (8 reviews)
Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani Tented Lodge

Bomani is a down-to-earth lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


94% (7 reviews)
Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp

Verney's Camp is one of the newest offerings in Hwange, located in the wildlife rich, open landscape in the south-eastern section of the park.


85% (4 reviews)
Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia

Somalisa Acacia is a family-friendly, yet remote and luxurious safari camp in Hwange National Park.


100% (3 reviews)
Khulu Bush Camp

Khulu Bush Camp

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu Bush Camp offers excellent value for money and a waterhole popular with wildlife, especially elephants.


100% (3 reviews)
Camelthorn

Camelthorn

Camelthorn is a stylish lodge with a range of activities in a remote region of western Zimbabwe, adjacent to Hwange National Park.


93% (3 reviews)
Jozibanini Camp

Jozibanini Camp

Remote and rugged, Jozibanini is one of the most remote camps in Zimabwe's largest National Park. Stay here for a real wilderness experience.


93% (3 reviews)
Ivory Lodge

Ivory Lodge

Just outside Hwange National Park, the small Ivory Lodge is a great place to see large herds of elephant as well as smaller plains game.


80% (2 reviews)
Deka Camp

Deka Camp

One of the more remote camps in Hwange National Park, Deka Camp sits almost on the border with Botswana.


100% (1 review)
Stimela Star

Stimela Star

The Stimela Star is a luxury overnight train that starts in Victoria Falls before making it's way down to Hwange National Park where you can start your safari.


60% (1 review)
Linkwasha Camp

Linkwasha Camp

In its own private concession within Hwange National Park, Linkwasha offers excellent wildlife sightings and luxurious surroundings.


100% (1 review)
Elephant's Eye

Elephant's Eye

In a private concession just outside Hwange National Park, the comfortable Elephant's Eye overlooks a pan and waterholes.


No reviews yet
Khulu's Retreat

Khulu's Retreat

Just outside Hwange National Park, Khulu's Retreat is an exclusive private villa and is a great place to spoil yourself on a safari in Zimbabwe.


No reviews yet
Deteema Springs Camp

Deteema Springs Camp

Nestled deep in Hwange National Parks rugged northern sector, Deteema Springs Camp promises visitors an authentic bush amp experience.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa