This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs & Mr J from Birmingham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

13

Excursions taken

0

Zimbabwe trip

Zimbabwe between 16 Sep 2019 and 30 Sep 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Everything worked out well. We started with the simplest accommodation and worked our way up as far as comfort and luxury of the camps were concerned.

Only Imvelo camps don't yet use refillable water bottles which you can either take home or return at the end of your stay.

Malcolm Lodge in Harare is also a lovely place to stay and very up to date - they knew about a flight problem we had before we did.

The transfer from Hwange Main Camp to Vic Falls arrived 30 minutes late - he was 'delayed' but we suspect the delay was visiting his home village on the way to collect us, which meant that the 2 guides who had brought us there from Somalisa had and extra wait."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


John's Camp

John's Camp

"Good viewing"

4 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2019
"Started off badly as our collection from the airstrip was an hour late. The pilot and member from ABC camps had to wait with us until we were collected - they expected us an hour later than we were.

Accommodation was in simple but more than adequate tents with decking and a couple of chairs. It was great to watch the elephants walking past during the early hours. The site is overlooking the flood plain so elephants walked through on a regular basis, as well as other animals at night.

Lunch and dinner were good. Breakfast not so good as it consisted of tea or coffee and porridge, which I personally never eat. A few days there were seed bars or apples available but not each day, which meant I didn't eat until lunch time. Just fruit salad and some yoghurt would have been enough.

All staff were helpful and guiding was good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Nehimba Lodge

Nehimba Lodge

"Great elephant experience"

3 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"It was a case of being escorted to and from accommodation at any time if there were animals at the water holes, which was often.

For us there was extra interest as our guide and the hostess were people we had met previously at a different lodge within the group. All staff were very helpful and eager to please.

Breakfast was continental style and full English on day of departure. Dinner was the most enjoyable as it was taken while watching elephants drink the swimming pool dry. At times they would push and shove just like children might.

Game viewing was also good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Somalisa Camp

Somalisa Camp

"Wonderful experience"

4 nights Arrived 24 Sep 2019
"At first the number of staff seemed quite overwhelming but they were absolutely great and all came to introduce themselves to us as they came on duty, what's more they remembered our names.

The tents are very spacious with seating area, desk space and large bathroom and very large balcony with sofa, chairs and table and hammock. We were in tent 4 which is the nearest to the water hole, so we were able to watch the animals there as well as the comings and goings.

The food was excellent with a little DIY for stir fry and pizza. Breakfast by the fire was also great. Another bonus was the 5.30 delivery of a pot of coffee with our wake up call.

Game viewing was good - so many elephants swell as Cecil's daughters and grandchildren."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Batonka Guest Lodge

Batonka Guest Lodge

"Lovely setting"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2019
"The lodge was larger than anticipated with very comfortable common seating areas both inside and out, as well as sun loungers and tables and chairs around the pool. Rooms were also a decent size with small terrace with table and chairs.

We were on B&B basis but also had a dinner and lunch there which were both good. Staff expressed their gratefulness that we had come to their country and how that enabled them to support their families in a country of high unemployment, something with was very humbling."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Lived up to high expectations

Namibia between 23 Oct 2017 and 13 Nov 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"We loved the trip as a whole and most lodges we stayed at were great - Ongava and Okonjima especially. Everything fitted together well.

The short welcome at Quivertree was a surprise as everyone elsewhere was so welcoming and friendly, but as it was just 1 night it didn't matter.

By the time lunch, drinks and game drives are added to the HB cost I suspect it's not much cheaper than Ongava which had a lot more to offer."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Naankuse Lodge

"Great start"

2 nights Arrived 23 Oct 2017
"As a first stop after a long flight this was great. The rooms are in fact detached buildings close to the restaurant and pool.

The rooms are really special with lovely patios at the back, looking out over the countryside and having animals passing by. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was very good too.

We went on the carnivore feeding trip - a little artificial but a good way of seeing the animals at the beginning or end of a holiday. The other activity we chose was walking with a caracal, mainly because we had not seen one in the wild. The animal seemed relaxed and we followed where she went."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Quivertree Forest Restcamp

"Wouldn't go again "

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2017
"The 'welcome' seemed abrupt. Were immediately informed about cost of visit to quiver tree forest / giants playground.

The next morning there was no water and as 'the men' were away it might be some time before it was sorted - it hadn't been by the time we left."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Haus Sandrose

Haus Sandrose

"Good base"

3 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2017
"Nice room with separate dining table and chairs and adequate kitchen for a few days of self catering.

Having ground coffee as well as selection of teas and hot chocolate was a pleasant extra touch.

The inner courtyard with tables and chairs was also welcoming."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Activities
Good
Canyon Roadhouse

Canyon Roadhouse

"Quirky"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2017
"As expected, this was a very quirky place with plenty of old cars and farm implements scattered around the grounds.

The bathroom was bigger than most with both a bath (when there's water shortage!) and shower.

There are old German number plates on the walls of the bathroom and other car pictures on the bedroom wall."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Lovely setting"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2017
"Once again a game ranch with detached accommodation set amidst the red sands of the Kalahari.

Spacious bedroom and nice deck outside where the various animals walk past.

Meals and cakes at tea time were very good and there was plenty of space to sit and relax. the shop also had a range of quality gifts / souvenirs available."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Hidden treasure "

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2017
"On arrival at the site it seems completely impossible that there are a lodge and number of tents hidden away behind the rocks facing you.

Whoever thought of it had great foresight as the views from the lodge and the accommodation are wonderful.

The tent itself was spacious, had a large covered deck with comfortable settee and then on a higher level there were a couple of deck chairs as well."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Wonderful all round"

3 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2017
"A very close second to our favourite in Namibia. The accommodation was good with indoor and outdoor showers, plenty of space inside and out but the communal areas were so good that we spent most of our time, when not on game drives, there. There were plenty of comfortable chairs under cover and outside facing the waterhole, which was regularly visited by a variety of animals. The small pool was also very welcome.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and there were nice extra touches, such as cold towels when returning from game drives, but hot towels after we were caught in the rain. The Kaluha afterwards was good too.

Game viewing was also excellent, especially the number of rhinos we saw. Good to see they have an anti poaching squad."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Reasonable"

3 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2017
"They had a difficult act to follow after we arrived here from Ongava.

Accommodation and pool were fine. On our first evening they forgot to serve us the main course and we had to go and ask for it. There seems to be a system whereby drinks are ordered / served at 19.30, starter at 20.00, dessert at 20.30. Then you have to wait to sign your bill and tell them when you will be having breakfast.

Our second evening there was an outside buffet which was much better run but unfortunately the third evening had the same timetable with plated food being served - so much food piled on top of each other the flavours were lost and much food was wasted because it was far too much, not only for us."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Favourite"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2017
"We stayed here 9 years ago when the now standard rooms were new, they are still excellent and the word 'standard' does them a disservice. The new communal lounge area has many comfortable seating areas, as well as fires for colder days.

We booked a total of 5 activities and had 2 different guides for them, both were enthusiastic and showed us what we were hoping for, even if it wasn't always easy. As we were previous visitors we were also given a couple of treats which were much appreciated.

Everyone was extremely helpful and keen to talk about the animals and the work and life of everyone there, giving us more of an insight of life there."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team