This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by The Golds from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Jul 2022 trip

Zimbabwe between 18 Jul 2022 and 2 Aug 2022

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was an incredible experience most of all a life learning journey for us.

It taught us yet again that as Human Beings we are not separate to Nature but a part of Nature.

Being in the African Bush is always profound but Hwange and the people that work there, we found magical and eye opening as to how we can get lost in the flotsam and Jetsam of life!

Can’t wait to return to Africa !

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just that we should have talked more to Expert Africa about the clothes we should have taken"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Hwange Bush Camp

Hwange Bush Camp

"Hwange Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2022
"This camp was outstanding in their guiding, food, energy and warmth of hospitality.
Lead by Dave the whole team were great to be around and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Dave is a truly world class guide and made us laugh from start to finish.
Such a great guy and taught us so much.
The comfort for a bush camp was great.
We were not prepared for how cold it was and that was due to our lack of planning."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Camp Hwange

Camp Hwange

"Camp Hwange review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jul 2022
"Camp Hwange is in our opinion set in the most beautiful area and back drop.
It is a magical space for relaxation and chatting around the stunning fire pit.
Shayne is arguably the best camp hosts you could possibly come across.
Her warmth and attention to detail and her authenticity is world class.
John was an outstanding guide and his wisdom of the country and nature is second to none!
A great team and great experience"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Somalisa Expeditions

Somalisa Expeditions

"Somalisa Expeditions review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Jul 2022
"Somalisa is a beautiful camp set in a lovely environment!

Star and her team made us feel so very at home and their energy was always so warm and welcoming.

It feels like more of a larger organisation the other two camps we stayed in.

The food here was really excellent !"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Nature Found

Zambia between 8 Jul 2018 and 20 Jul 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"A natural wonder. in the top three greatest family holiday experiences of our lives to date!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

We found Lucy to be an excellent support, she is clearly a really lovely person who is so knowlegable and worked so hard to refine our itinerary! She is a real professional too!

I would much prefer the detailed feedback we give to be over the phone or face to face rather than on a feedback form.

With this we will also ring Lucy for a chat with our feedback.

Thank you for all that you do, you we find you to be an excellent organisation with first class knowledge and a clear great passion for Africa.

Thank you so much for all you have done for us x"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Image alt

The Peech

"Good Boutique Hotel"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2018
"The Peech we found to be a good boutique hotel. The setting f the hotel was in a nice residential area. The hotel was very comfortable. The general facilities were relatively basic. The food was of a very good standard and the team at the Peech were really lovely people.

The chef was so accommodating with our Vegan diet."
Good
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mchenja Bushcamp

Mchenja Bushcamp

"Amazing experience "

4 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2018
"We found Mchenja to be a very special place! We have had the privilege of staying at a number of lodges over the years and this one was by far the best experience yet!

It has an energy very hard to describe in language, however this is as close as I can get..........

It felt like such a rich natural environment while being so homely and open. There was such understated luxury with authentic service, great great people with lovely food in a magical setting.

We felt were part of the animal kingdom which of course we are. So often I guess these days we get lost in cities, concrete and towns..... this place helped us to remember we are animals and part of the natural ecosystem that is planet earth!

Friday is an outstanding guide he has such great knowledge loves what he does and is so respectful of his environment. He taught us so much and was able to get us closer to real Zambia than we had expected.

His tenacity was powerful too and never gave up for our search to see game.... we saw such rare sightings particularly Leopard.

We will absolutely go back to Mchenja and would love to go on walking safari between the Norman Carr camps."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"Great Camp "

4 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2018
"We loved Chongwe and had a great experience.

The activities with the Canoeing and the Boat safaris were awesome.

Michael who looked after us in the camp is a great person and while being so professional is such a nice guy!

Bright as a guide is again such a lovely person with so much knowledge and he worked so hard to find great game. When we did not get a sighting you could see he was unhappy and was so thrilled for us when we had a great drive! We learned so much from him and he was so much fun to be with!

The Lodge felt slightly less homely than Mchenja and more luxurious. It felt slightly less homely than Mchenja.

We were so fortunate to stay in the Albida suite! What a great treat!

We found the food good at Chongwe not great.

The location was incredible."
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Royal Livingstone Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2018
"We arrived at Victoria Falls and wanted to treat ourselves by immediately upgrading from the Avani to the Royal Livingstone Hotel

The hotel was really lovely with great food, terrific service and of course an outstanding view!

I wept when we arrived at the waterfalls, such an incredible experience which reminded me of my insignificance on the planet and the awe of the natural world.

We loved our microlight experience over the falls, one we will never forget!"
Excellent
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team