This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Ascot

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

18

Excursions taken

2

Mt Kenya safari

Kenya between 30 Dec 2018 and 11 Jan 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall I would not recommend Wilderness Camp nor would I visit again"

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Macushla House

Macushla House

"Macushla House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Dec 2018
"Very comfortable good environment"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

Nairobi Elephant Orphanage visit

"sheldrake elephant orphanage"

31 Dec 2018 • Morning excursion

Excellent, well worth a visit
Excellent
Laikipia Wilderness

Laikipia Wilderness

"Laikipia Wilderness review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jan 2019
"I would not recommend this camp due to a paucity of wildlife and because the game is not used to vehicles and no matter how good your guide is [ours was excellent] as soon as you approach the game departs."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jan 2019
"Good location, smart hotel for an airport departure"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good

My Jul 2017 trip

Kenya between 2 Jul 2017 and 9 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"An excellent trip, when I asked my grandson [age 10] what was the best part of the trip, without hesitation, he said "James the guide". I would not hesitate to recommend him."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2017
"Room OK for one night and breakfast good but room by a very busy road and a night club that had very loud music until 0430!!!

We had very little sleep!!!"
Poor
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Serian

Serian

"Mara North Conservancy"

3 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"Very good game viewing plus the freedom to fish/walk/go off road to follow game,

Only a few vehicles on each sighting which was particularly good for Leopard/Lion. We also had in James an expert guide who knew how the animals would behave.The Masai staff were particularly good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Serian Nkorombo

Serian Nkorombo

"Mara reserve"

3 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2017
"A small very well run camp by an all Masai crew who were friendly/considerate and very professional.

The downside is the reserve regulations which prevent any off road or late evening driving. You have to be back in camp by dusk"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

My Jan 2015 trip

Kenya and 1 other country between 15 Jan 2015 and 23 Jan 2015

Trip rating: Good
"apart from the Eka hotel it all went well and was an excellent trip.

The gorillas are a must for anyone

Rwanda guide: Alex was excellent
I have used guides in many countries, Alex was one of the best, friendly, very knowledgeable and helpful"

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

"poor value for $300/nite"

1 night Arrived 15 Jan 2015
"There must be a better value hotel near the airport."
Poor
Location
Good
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

Mountain Gorilla View Lodge

"goood for gorillas"

6 nights Arrived 16 Jan 2015
"good service and very helpful/friendly staff,close to the parks board HQ,lots of space around hotel and the rooms are very big if a bit basic but stilll very functional."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average

Game and sand dunes

Namibia between 21 Sep 2007 and 4 Oct 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"very good with both Etosha living up to expectations and the Skeleton Coast just the best!!!

You did all that I asked."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2007
"food good and general ambienece good, excellent place for a stop over"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

"Mushara Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2007
"Excellent place to stay, but I do prefer to be inside the park particularly now they have refurbed the accommodation"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

"Namutoni Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2007
"The rooms are now as good as any outside the camp but the dining/food is still very average but adequate"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Restcamp review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2007
"The room location by the waterhole is excellent but again the food is OK but no more.

However you come to Etosha for the game and now the accommodation has been sorted it is very good"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Desert Express Train

"review"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2007
"A good experience I would reccommend it to anyone"
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Hansa Hotel

Hansa Hotel

"Hansa Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2007
"Our room overlooked the road and was noisey and hot."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Coast and Sandwich Harbour"

30 Sep 2007 • All-day excursion

A good day trip
Good
Kuidas Camp

Kuidas Camp

"Kuidas Camp review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2007
"This trip is on the list of what to do before you die!!

I have been all over living overseas for many years and been to the Atcacama and Sosselvlei however the expertise of Helga and Bertus and the whole experience of the way it is done was fabulous and everyone in the part agreed."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Leylandsdrift Camp

Leylandsdrift Camp

"Purros Camp review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2007
"as above"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kunene River Camp

Kunene River Camp

"Kunene River Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2007
"what a stunning location!!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Jo'burg Airport Intercontinental Hotel

"review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2007
"good airport hotel"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team