This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Aero Club of East Africa
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa


1°19’20.8"S 36°48’32.5"E

Reviews of Aero Club of East Africa

Wildlife sightings and reviews

34 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Aero Club of East Africa and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 34
Duration
Arrival date
N&C
Poole

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 3 Jan 2024
"Arrived here about 11:30 after a slightly delayed BA flight from London. The roads were traffic free - a mayor advantage to travelling at that time.

All staff were very welcoming and the bar was still open!

The room (in the Captain’s wing) was perfectly adequate for a one night stay. The bed was large and comfortable and the shower room functional. Breakfast was excellent and transport to Wilson was easy to arrange.

We would definitely stay here again." See all these reviews: 20n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Annabel
Somerset

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2023
"I chose to stay at Aero Club after landing at Jomo Kenyatta late night from London. I had a morning flight from Wilson and preferred to get the transfer over and avoid Nairobi's morning traffic. It was a good call and I'd definitely make it again.

The Aero Club is not luxurious but it is very 'real' in a Kenya kind of way, with all sorts of historical and colonial references to pilots past and present (including the half dozen or so who were sitting at the bar at midnight - I was invited to join them but declined, fingers crossed that none of them were flying me into the bush next morning).

My 'Captain's Room' was more than adequate. Clean, good space for luggage, coffee and tea facilities, shower and loo., (plus my B.A. mini bottle of red!) I slept well.

The Club has pretty gardens with views to the airfield, and a lovely (chilly looking) pool. There's also a terrace where you can have breakfast." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Ms K.
USA

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2023
"We loved this hotel and the closeness to the airport.

It was very nice and convenient.

Loved the bar, too and good food." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F
Exmoor Somerset

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2022
"Nostalgic accommodation for quick one night stop over.
Perfectly placed for ease of access to Wilson airport .
Friendly staff, good breakfast, ideal for seamless transfer into the Mara.
Not a long stay venue." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs B
Kent

"Oasis of familiarity and comfort"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2022
"An oasis of UK-style food and accommodation as a breather after our local Taita adventure & before il Ngwesi.
Aeroclub was comfortable and warm (Nairobi was chilly!) with hot, strong showers. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The boys enjoyed the familiar food (excellently prepared) and the pool table as well as the gym and watching the planes. It was interesting to people-watch at the bar in the evening, and I was pleased to see a mixture of nationalities including black Kenyans." See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Mrs L
Netherlands

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2022
"I arrived at The Aeroclub around midnight and left after breakfast for my flight to the Masai Mara. I chose The Aeroclub because I did not want to be in the early morning Nairobi traffic chaos and worry about wether or not we would arrive at Wilson in time.

The reception was very friendly. My room was comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities, bottles of drinking water, and a minibar. The bathroom was very spacious.

For breakfast there was a wide choice, and it was very pleasant to sit on the porch and enjoy the sound of the small airplanes arriving and landing.

This will be my preferred hotel when I have a one night stay-over in Nairobi between my arrival and the connection with the domestic flight." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss P
London

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2021
"It's hard to say much as my arriving flight was delayed so I arrived at the Aero Club even later than expected about 1am, and departed about 8.30am.

The location is very convenient for Wilson, the room was comfortable and the bathroom nice. Probably not the place to stay if you want a lie in as it's right next to the runway and the planes start taking off about 7am, but for my purpose it was perfect.

The bar area looked nice, and I'd like to come back when I might have a chance to use it!" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Convenient stay at Aero Club"

1 night Arrived 8 Jan 2020
"This was a repeat visit. Aero Club is located on the Wilson Airport site. It is minutes away from the Safarilink terminal which saves battling the Nairobi traffic to get to your flight

Our late arrival and early morning departure means all we needed was a place to sleep. We stayed in a room that was right by the airfield. It was very comfortable and clean.

We did have a drink at the bar but there was no food available at that time. Breakfast is served in the mornings but we did not have this." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Dr Z
USA

"Funky place with character near Wilson"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2019
"This is a private club for pilots that has some rooms and a restaurant, very close to Wilson Airport. Pilots rooms wing is two stars, Captains wing room is three stars, and the restaurant isn’t fancy but perfectly good.

The history and ambience are interesting, and we received excellent service.

Definitely an unusual place to stay in Nairobi, and we were glad our agent recommended it." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
L&J
UK

"Starting the holiday in Kenya"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"This was a repeat stay for us. There were a few problems this time, but they were resolved and we still enjoyed it. The room lacked a few amenities (second mug, working insect spray) but the receptionist sorted these. There was also a very loud noise from a water pump; the receptionist got the maintenance man out (despite the fact it was gone 10 pm) and all was fine.

The positives include a very quick journey from Jomo Kenyatta airport at that time of the day, being very near Wilson airport for the next flight, and a clean and comfortable room. Most importantly, nothing beats waking up in Kenya on the first morning, with mousebirds in the garden and planes just beyond, rather than in an international airport hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 34
82%
34 reviews of Aero Club of East Africa by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
12
15
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (143 reviews)
The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


97% (116 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (59 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (59 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


91% (53 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (35 reviews)
Tamarind Tree Hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

The Tamarind Tree is a stylish international hotel in a great location next to Wilson Airport.


90% (21 reviews)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (14 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


98% (8 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (6 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


84% (5 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens and Cottages is small luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen.


60% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa