This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Aero Club of East Africa
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa


1°19’20.8"S 36°48’32.5"E

Reviews of Aero Club of East Africa

Wildlife sightings and reviews

27 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Aero Club of East Africa and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 27
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Convenient stay at Aero Club"

1 night Arrived 8 Jan 2020
"This was a repeat visit. Aero Club is located on the Wilson Airport site. It is minutes away from the Safarilink terminal which saves battling the Nairobi traffic to get to your flight

Our late arrival and early morning departure means all we needed was a place to sleep. We stayed in a room that was right by the airfield. It was very comfortable and clean.

We did have a drink at the bar but there was no food available at that time. Breakfast is served in the mornings but we did not have this." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Dr Z
USA

"Funky place with character near Wilson"

1 night Arrived 5 Dec 2019
"This is a private club for pilots that has some rooms and a restaurant, very close to Wilson Airport. Pilots rooms wing is two stars, Captains wing room is three stars, and the restaurant isn’t fancy but perfectly good.

The history and ambience are interesting, and we received excellent service.

Definitely an unusual place to stay in Nairobi, and we were glad our agent recommended it." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
L&J
UK

"Starting the holiday in Kenya"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"This was a repeat stay for us. There were a few problems this time, but they were resolved and we still enjoyed it. The room lacked a few amenities (second mug, working insect spray) but the receptionist sorted these. There was also a very loud noise from a water pump; the receptionist got the maintenance man out (despite the fact it was gone 10 pm) and all was fine.

The positives include a very quick journey from Jomo Kenyatta airport at that time of the day, being very near Wilson airport for the next flight, and a clean and comfortable room. Most importantly, nothing beats waking up in Kenya on the first morning, with mousebirds in the garden and planes just beyond, rather than in an international airport hotel." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
L&J
UK

"Ideal base for Wilson Airport"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2018
"This is not an impersonal, international airport hotel - it's an old colonial club with good facilities, and that's exactly what we were looking for.

Some of the photographs we'd seen led us to believe that it might be a bit rough and ready, but that was not the case for our room in the Captain Wing, which was was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The veranda and little garden area backed onto the runway, so sitting out there first thing was a lovely start to our trip. Check in was efficient and friendly, and reception staff were extremely helpful (we owe Dorothy a big thank you).

We arrived at JKIA at 9 pm, but the journey to the Aero Club was fine and didn't get us in ridiculously late. Having a leisurely start to the day before the couple of minutes drive to the Safarilink terminal was a definite bonus." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
N Ireland

"Perfect for a quick overnight close to Wilson"

1 night Arrived 5 Mar 2018
"There are few reviews of this property so I was a little anxious about staying here. With a late arrival into JKIA and an early morning flight from Wilson airport, this was the perfect solution.

I had one of the Captains rooms, which was clean and spacious, with a large ensuite. Not luxury, but perfectly adequate for a good nights sleep.

Because the transfer to Wilson is quick and traffic free, breakfast could be a lesuirely affair. It was pleasant to be able to enjoy breakfast with a view of the garden." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr C
West Sussex

"Ideal post safari day room"

0 night Arrived 1 Aug 2017
"A day room at the Aero Club was the perfect post safari solution before catching BA's late evening departure to LHR - the key word is CONVENIENT. In short, we were in our rooms minutes after leaving the Safarilink aircraft, with a short stop to collect our extra bags stored FOC with Safarilink." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr C
West Sussex

"Gold Star family safari at El Karamaafari"

2 nights Arrived 26 Jul 2017
"The Aero Club completely met our needs. The rooms where fine, with plenty of hot water and comfortable beds.

The general facilities were also very good and we made good use of the pool and the excellent Java restaurant.

We didn't need to use the Safarilink cafe for breakfast as we were pleased to find the Java opened for breakfast at 06.00.

In sum, while the Aero Club is not luxurious, the facilities are very good and above all it is a very convenient location, close to JK airport and even closer to the new Safarilink Departure facility." See all these reviews: 6n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Ascot

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 2 Jul 2017
"Room OK for one night and breakfast good but room by a very busy road and a night club that had very loud music until 0430!!!

We had very little sleep!!!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr M
Crediton

"Aero Club of East Africa review"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2017
"Easy transfer from JKIA and very handy for flights from Wilson, taxi costs Ks 300 to Safari Link
Restaurant is separate enterprise, only had breakfast, was very good
Room was simple, clean and tidy" See all these reviews: 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Marlow

"Interesting for a 1 night stay..."

1 night Arrived 11 Feb 2017
"A quirky and interesting old colonial club and hotel.  Very close to the runway at Wilson Airfield, but if you love planes this is the place for you.  Friendly and helpful staff and interesting decor including aero engines!
The bar serves the best fresh orange juice that I have ever tasted.... and of course Tuskers...
I love the billowing mosquito nets...  Rooms and facilities not very modern, well not in room 11, but loved the atmosphere.

Good WiFi in the rooms and bar...

Java at the Aero Club
Really amazing giant samosas and good burgers, all washed down with Tuskers, what could be better?  Very friendly and helpful staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya; 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 27
79%
27 reviews of Aero Club of East Africa by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
14
6
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


The Emakoko

The Emakoko

The Emakoko is a luxurious, owner-managed safari lodge in a beautiful gorge on the edge of Nairobi National Park.


96% (77 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (48 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


91% (26 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


97% (23 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa