This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by L&J from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

Lamu & Diani, July 2019

Kenya between 1 Jul 2019 and 11 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was our second trip with Expert Africa, and our second excellent holiday.

Once again, Richard got it just right, interpreting our half-formed wishes and making suggestions for things we hadn't thought of but turned out to be exactly what we wanted."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

"Starting the holiday in Kenya"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2019
"This was a repeat stay for us. There were a few problems this time, but they were resolved and we still enjoyed it. The room lacked a few amenities (second mug, working insect spray) but the receptionist sorted these. There was also a very loud noise from a water pump; the receptionist got the maintenance man out (despite the fact it was gone 10 pm) and all was fine.

The positives include a very quick journey from Jomo Kenyatta airport at that time of the day, being very near Wilson airport for the next flight, and a clean and comfortable room. Most importantly, nothing beats waking up in Kenya on the first morning, with mousebirds in the garden and planes just beyond, rather than in an international airport hotel."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Peponi

Peponi

"Beautiful, relaxing, delicious"

4 nights Arrived 2 Jul 2019
"We loved our stay in Peponi. The location was beautiful, the room was gorgeous, the food was delicious (and often exceptional). It was lovely to be able to sleep with the widows open (no danger from people or monkeys) and hear the waves hitting the balcony wall. Service was attentive but unobtrusive. The involvement from management was spot on - clearly fine tuning advice to our interests and wishes. It felt entirely safe and comfortable to walk alone along the beach and in Shela village behind the hotel.

Boat transfers from the airport and into Lamu town are a bit challenge with some mobility difficulties (uneven rocks, slippery steps, narrow planks) but there was always plenty of help on hand, which made it perfectly manageable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

"Relaxed beach holiday"

4 nights Arrived 6 Jul 2019
"This is a great place for an easy beach holiday, and this was our second stay. We had a Beach Cottage, which is spacious and well-equipped, with a comfortable veranda with lovely views down to the sea.

The beach along this part of Diani is exceptional, and you can swim at high tide, low tide and all points between. The beach restaurant is relaxed and friendly, and Willy made us excellent ginger tea in the mornings! Staff were flexible and helpful about sorting out a day room and other facilities for us on the last afternoon, which we very much appreciated.

Our only difficulty was with the transfer from Mombasa airport. No one was there to meet us, and it turned out they had they had got the time of our arrival wrong. Luckily, the driver was not far away when we rang, and was able to collect us without too much of a delay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Wonderful trip to Samburu & Coast, May 2018

Kenya between 11 May 2018 and 24 May 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our holiday was exactly what we wanted, and we had an amazing time.

Expert Africa's staff are hugely knowledgeable, and clearly wanted to understand our needs in order to make all the right recommendations. The whole process felt collaborative, and was like talking to an experienced traveller rather than a traditional travel agent; we never felt under any sales pressure. Staff were responsive and helpful, including during the trip.

We are already thinking about another trip, and have every intention of using Expert Africa again."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

"Ideal base for Wilson Airport"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2018
"This is not an impersonal, international airport hotel - it's an old colonial club with good facilities, and that's exactly what we were looking for.

Some of the photographs we'd seen led us to believe that it might be a bit rough and ready, but that was not the case for our room in the Captain Wing, which was was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The veranda and little garden area backed onto the runway, so sitting out there first thing was a lovely start to our trip. Check in was efficient and friendly, and reception staff were extremely helpful (we owe Dorothy a big thank you).

We arrived at JKIA at 9 pm, but the journey to the Aero Club was fine and didn't get us in ridiculously late. Having a leisurely start to the day before the couple of minutes drive to the Safarilink terminal was a definite bonus."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Sasaab

Sasaab

"Sasaab has got it just right"

5 nights Arrived 12 May 2018
"We loved our time here. The location couldn't be more spectacular, with panoramic views across the river; the resident dik-diks and hyraxes add to the charm. Our room was amazing: huge, well-equipped, and with stunning views. The plunge pool was very cold but welcome during the hottest parts of the day (and the main swimming pool is much warmer, also with amazing views). The beds could have been a little more comfortable and less creaky, but that's a quibble. The toiletries were lovely and we needn't have brought our own. The communal areas were very comfortable with lots of seating options and, if anything, even better views than the room.

The food was incredibly delicious, and got the balance of feeling luxurious without being totally overwhelming (in quantity or richness). After some initial confusion, they went to great trouble to meet some slightly unusual dietary requirements without making us feel that we were being treated differently from anyone else. The birthday cake danced and sung in by chefs, waiters and askaris will be remembered as a birthday highlight.

The service was excellent, and staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was forever being cleaned and tidied without us ever seeing it being done. We were always met with cool towels and cold drinks when we returned from activities. Agnes, the Assistant Manager, was always there to see us off and greet us warmly on return.

Against this amazing backdrop, the activities still managed to stand out. There was an excellent variety, including games drives, bush breakfasts by the river, a bush dinner under the stars, sundowners at the rock, a market and village visit, and a morning walk along the river banks. The quantity of wildlife was not spectacular (and might have been disappointing if we'd not been on safari before) but was made up for in quality and in the knowledge of the guides. A particular highlight was watching elephants visiting an elephant graveyard (while other safari companies drove past, clearly missing the significance). We were lucky enough to have the vehicle to ourselves throughout, and therefore to decide exactly what to do and when. Our main guide, Ole, was wonderful, and so was Gabriel on our last day.

Overall, we felt totally spoilt and incredibly privileged throughout our time at Sasaab."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
The Sands At Nomad

The Sands At Nomad

"Relaxing stay at a beautiful beach"

5 nights Arrived 17 May 2018
"The location of the hotel was excellent, with a short transfer from Ukunda airstrip and very easy access to central Diani, local shops and restaurants. The beach was glorious: long stretches of white sand, minimal seaweed for the time of year, and swimming possible at all times (high and low tide). Beach vendors were present (as one would expect), but for the most part not overly intrusive.

Although we had booked an ocean view room, they were being renovated so we were upgraded to a beach cottage. We hadn't booked this as they looked a bit dark in the photos, but with high ceilings and windows on three sides, this wasn't a problem. The cottage was lovely and private, with a beautiful view to the beach from the bed, the veranda and the private sun-loungers. The bathroom was clean, light and well-equipped. The bed was beautiful, firm and comfortable (but be aware that it is very high, which could be tricky if you have mobility difficulties).

The food was very good and varied, and being able to pick from the al a carte menu on half board is a real bonus. The restaurant location right on the beach is lovely, and the fact that it is a destination in its own right (i.e., not just open to hotel residents) means they can offer a wider choice of menu and that there's a nice mixture of locals and tourists.

Management were very present and engaged, frequently checking in on how things were going.

The spa treatments were excellent, and Dorcas was welcoming and skilled."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kutazama

Kutazama

"Excellent end to the trip"

1 night Arrived 22 May 2018
"This was a return visit for us, and we chose to have single night there to end our holiday on a high note. The location and layout are stunning, with amazing views from pretty much everywhere. The standard of service is exceptional; staff are incredibly friendly, helpful, skilled and engaging. The food was delicious. Menus for the day were discussed in advance with the chef, and we could choose all our favourites.

Despite some minor mobility issues, we made an informed choice to come here, and to stay in the Orchid Treehouse Villa, which is accessed by walking along a narrow path by the edge of the pool. It's worth being aware that any more significant mobility problems would make the whole place pretty unmanageable, as there are lots of steps and rocky pathways.

We were lucky enough to see elephant reasonably close by throughout the first day. A particular highlight has to be sitting in the infinity pool, watching elephant while being served tea and digestive biscuits!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team