This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Jane from Colne

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

4

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

My Sep 2018 trip

Kenya and 2 other countries between 19 Sep 2018 and 30 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We got the balance of Safari (3 days) and Lazing (6 days) just right and all the properties we stayed at great and as expected.

My reservations about Tanzanian safari are the volume of vehicles around the sighting of a leopard and the crossing; it resembles a traffic jam and the authorities need to place restrictions on the lodges/parks as it did affect the experience.

I would have second thoughts about returning to Tanzania having seen this congestion which I haven't encountered before."

Arranged By Jessica Plumb


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"The hotel felt secure with controlled gates baggage and personal scanning and the room was clean and served the purpose.

we had time to kill on our return and went back to the hotel for dinner as we didn't know where else to go.

The meal was okay and we got a lift back to the terminal on their shuttle bus."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2018
"This is a nomadic camp so the facilities are a little more spartan but all the staff were terrific from the water boy sorting the water for the bush showers, to the Chef Barrack who was excellent (no idea how he makes such great food in the arse end of nowhere) the whole team including our fab guide Musa.

We were lucky that the other guests, mainly from the USA, were all really nice which is important in such a small camp when you are all sat together at dinner.

We went to see the Wilderbeest migration and we saw it, heard it, tasted it and felt it (a little too much at times) the wildebeest are so load at night that ear plugs, sleeping pills and loads of red wine are essential if you want to get any shut eye at all. They tripped over the guy ropes all night!

My only negative comment is about the number of vehicles round the animals; 12 round 1 leopard and 40 watching a Wilderbeest crossing. The Tanzanian authorities need to restrict vehicles and place time limits on them for that reason alone I may not return to Tanzania."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kilindi

Kilindi

"Privacy and peace at Kilindi"

6 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2018
"We were a little worried on arrival at the airport, its grim, and the drive North gave an indication of how poor Zanzibar is.

On arrival at Kilindi the gates revealed and oasis of calm - tropical gardens, totally private villas, stellar service and great food. It was exactly what we needed after safari. I did use the Spa for a massage on two occasions and it was really lovely.

The tide retreats a hell of along way which means water sports are limited to high tide. The walk down the beach was lovely and we did the 5 mile return journey past Kendwa and onto Nungwi most days. There are a number of hotels down this strip of the coast and a couple of bars. If you want water sport etc they are all available on the beach."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

April 2016

Zambia between 1 Apr 2016 and 11 Apr 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"I think in retrospect 5 days in South Luangwa in two river camps 45mins apart was 2 days too many and I should probably have tried Kafue/Malawi for half the trip so we had a change of habitat."

Luangwa River Camp

Luangwa River Camp

"Luangwa River Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Apr 2016
"The staff were brilliant the food excellent but the smell of ammonia at the bar from bat guano was eye wateringly strong. The bar needs moving or the matter resolved. There were a few tatty hessian door mats which needed replacing and my bath/shower had peeling paint. Christobel our host did advise that they had a blank week coming up when repairs would be completed.

It just seamed a bit tired when compared to Nkwali but it was a super camp"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Nkwali

Nkwali

"Nkwali safari"

3 nights Arrived 6 Apr 2016
"Lovely rooms, well maintained great food attentive staff and I can't really fault it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Royal Livingstone Hotel

Royal Livingstone Hotel

"Vic falls option"

2 nights Arrived 9 Apr 2016
"Lovely Sun Int hotel with indoor bathrooms but it was all fur coat and no knickers. whilst the staff were lovely they lacked service skills and need more training in many cases. The food was the worst we had all week.

Fab rooms in a great setting but you are plagued by heli and micro lite noise all day if sat on the deck or round the pool"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team