This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Jenny from Faversham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

6

My Sep 2018 trip

Rwanda and 1 other country between 25 Sep 2018 and 4 Oct 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"I had high expectations, and I wasn't disappointed. Thank you very much for an amazing trip. End to end, all arrangements worked well. I felt by looked after without any of the 'package' feeling that sometimes comes with an organised trip. High quality throughout, and first rate guides and other staff.

I'm pleased I spent a couple of days in Kigali prior to being 'met' and would recommend the same to other travelers.

I will certainly recommend Expert Africa to others."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

Sabyinyo Silverback Lodge

"Very beautiful, a perfect spot."

4 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"I had a suite, which was spacious and comfortable, with great views over to Mount Bisoke. In the evening I could hear the villagers going about their business - children chattering, singing and drums. It was so beautiful in the early evening relaxing after the days exertions, with a glass of wine on my terrace. The food was excellent, and lots of it, with snacks and packed lunches if you weren't back at the lodge for lunch. I liked the personal dining - the group dining experience one often encounters can sometimes be a little tiring! The staff were helpful and charming, without being intrusive. I recommend the massage. Peter looked after me very well. All in all, a most wonderful stay.

While the 198 steps weren't not a problem for me, it's worth mentioning to guests who may not be as fit!

Below - I haven't commented on activities because these were arranged separately to the lodge."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
City & Genocide Memorial Tour

City & Genocide Memorial Tour

"City & Genocide Memorial Tour review"

25 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

I had already done a city tour by the time I met Safari, so we went straight to the genocide museum. The museum is very well done; the content is harrowing. The gardens are peaceful and encourage reflection.

It was interesting to hear from Safari, and to have him answer my questions.
Excellent
Golden Monkey Trekking

Golden Monkey Trekking

"a good pre-gorilla trip"

26 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

The walk to 'find' the monkeys was really enjoyable. We were a big group, but that didn't negatively impact either the walk or the monkey experience. The guides are informative and fun. I'm pleased I understood that hiring a porter is a good way of contributing to the local economy.
Excellent
Canoeing in Rwanda

Canoeing in Rwanda

"A moment of calm, highly recommended "

26 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

There's a lot of dashing about, early starts and fitting everything in. This was a wonderful moment of calm, cruising down the river with yet another wonderful and very professional guide. It's interesting seeing life on the riverbank - men fishing, women washing clothes and working in the fields, and small boys having fun. I also spotted pied kingfishers, malachite kingfishers, sacred ibis and other birds. I would recommend this excursion.
Excellent
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

27 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

It's hard to describe just how wonderful an experience this was. I did two one hour visits and would recommend doing two. The walk to my first group was gentle, the second was rather more strenuous. There are plenty of helping hands though, including your porter, so most people of reasonable fitness will be fine. The guides are very knowledgable and experienced and although there were some 'naughty' adolescent gorillas who got too close, I never felt at risk. The guides also understand the magical moment for us tourists and offer help with photos and suggest the best places to stand. Sabyinyo silverback lodge provided gaiters and gloves, and you are offered a stick to help with the hike - take it. When you see the gorillas, don't spend all the time behind your camera lens! It really is worth concentrating on a few good photos and then simply enjoy the experience. An hour goes quickly, but is enough - for both the gorilla and us.
Excellent
Mount Bisoke Trek

Mount Bisoke Trek

"Mount Bisoke Trek review"

28 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

It was hard to get a good understanding as to how challenging this hike might be as accounts are so varied. It wasn't especially muddy and there were no red ants (that I saw). But it's not the easy hike that some describe. The main thing to bear in mind is the altitude and how tough the last 30 minutes or so is - and I think Expert Africa should mention this when suggesting the trek. I'm a fit 59 year old and I thoroughly enjoyed the trek and would recommend it, but the last 15/30 minutes were very hard. My porter and the 'military' were great at helping and encouraging, and the guide was accurate in gauging how much longer it would take me to reach the top. As it happened, I managed to get up and down within the suggested 3 hours, including time at the top for lunch. I was the only hiker, and I think that made it easier for me as I wasn't having to keep up with fitter young things. It was a relatively cool day, which helped with the hike/altitude. The crater was shrouded in mist, but the wind ensured I got some good views of the crater lake.
Excellent
Kigali Serena Hotel

Kigali Serena Hotel

"Kigali Serena Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 29 Sep 2018
"It's a big international hotel of the type found all over the world, and served its purpose for an overnight stay between journies. Lovely hot shower and a comfortable bed.

If I visit again and need a similar overnight stay I would head to Heaven."
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Gorilla Trekking Safari

Gorilla Trekking Safari

"Gorilla Trekking Safari review"

29 Sep 2018 • Morning excursion

See previous entry
Excellent
Namiri Plains Camp

Namiri Plains Camp

"Namiri Plains Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"A first rate experience. The camp was comfortable, staff helpful and food delicious. The star of the show was the guide Patena who managed to locate animals as if by magic - the knowledge and skills of the guides never ceases to amaze. The hot water bottles for the morning drives were very welcome, and breakfast 'out' perfect. It's relatively remote location meant we saw few other vehicles, which was one of the things I wanted to avoid. I would heartily recommend and am keen to visit their women only staffed camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Airport Planet Lodge

Airport Planet Lodge

"Airport Planet Lodge review"

0 night Arrived 4 Oct 2018
"I wasn't certain about the need for this 'day stay' - a few hours in a hotel room between flights, but it worked extremely well. It gave me an opportunity to shower and refresh, having come from the very dusty Serengeti, before heading back to Nairobi. By comparison, sitting at the airport would have been a bad option! I had a tasty light lunch, recommended by the waiter, and all was smooth and straight forward."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team