This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Stone Town Discovery Tour

Stone Town Discovery Tour

Reviews: Stone Town Discovery Tour

Below are independent comments from 15 of our travellers who have done this activity and have kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa.

Showing 1-10 of 15
Date
Giovanni
Biot

"Stone Town is not what we expected"

Based at Emerson Spice on 22 Oct 2020
"Stone Town must have been a magnificent and lively place .... 80 years ago. Now unfortunately most buildings are not being taken care of and are falling apart. Streets are dirty and crowded and walking around is not pleasant. The promenade on the sea is nice, particularly in the evening when they set up a food market. The Palace of Wonders was under renovation and could not be visited. None of the other interest points (Royal Palace, slave market, Freddy Mercury's house) is really worth the travel, you just visit them because you are there." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Dr & Dr S.
Knutsford

"Superb & authentic local tour guide"

Based at Zanzibar Palace Hotel on 12 Nov 2019
"Our guide Anjam was a wonderful host and showed us a side of Stonetown that you would never discover without a guide.

He showed us the "real" Stonetown - a place that people live in day-to-day, not just a tourist destination - as such we were introduced to local traders, herbal pharmacists and shared coffee with a local book seller. The salted chilli mango was a seasonal taste sensation!

We couldn't recommend Anjam enough - a true gentleman and great company for a few hours." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Ms S.
Bainbridge Isla

"Nice guide;OK tour"

Based at Zanzibar Coffee House on 6 Nov 2019
"Stone Town has a fascinating history but the historical building/museumes have not yet been developed enough to make them worth going to.

The guide walked us around and told us stories but really you could have just read it. There just wasn't much to see. That said, it is always interesting to walk around an African town and market if you have never done it before. We have so I would have skipped this." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Mrs L.
London

"Stone Town Discovery Tour review"

Based at Zanzibar Palace Hotel on 11 Aug 2019
"Interesting and informative guide. We learnt a great deal about the history of the town.

A very worthwhile tour." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs E.
Bristol

"Stone Town Discovery Tour review"

21 Jul 2019
"We absolutely LOVED Amjam - he gave us a fantastic insight into life in Stonetown - and was delightful and kind and respectful - it was one of the highlights of our trip !

He encouraged us to try foods that we wouldn't dream of normally trying - unripe salted mango and baobab sweets - !

He was extremely knowledgeable and well informed - his English was, of course, faultless." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
DGJM
London

"Insiders' Tour of Stone Town"

Based at Zanzibar Palace Hotel on 19 Jul 2019
"It was an interesting experience to be taken around Stone Town by a local who was born and raised in Zanzibar. He took us through local markets and the winding streets of the town, which could have been confusing to navigate on our own. He also encouraged us to try local foods to enhance the experience (halwa, baobab, coffee).

We enjoyed hearing about his history of the town, but would have been interested to hear more about the interactions of all the various groups that comprise Zanzibar, particularly post-revolution. Still, it was a great introducing to the town." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Damara Dik Diks
UK

"Intersesting, informative Tour"

Based at Emerson Spice on 18 Jul 2019
"Our guide was very good. He explained the history of Stone Town and also took us to the markets and we had a very good all round walk. We could see and he explained to us, the dire need for renovation. It is sad to see things on hold, eg the House of Wonders. Money seems to not reach the right people! A sense of a town which is surviving but which really needs its government to direct funds to restore buildings and things like refuse collection.

Local people great, and a sense of harmony between Christian, Hindu and predominantly Moslem communities. This was a big positive.

Sensed the future depends upon government really thinking carefully about how it regulates tourism and ensures locals have chance to stay living within Stone Town.

Very good English spoken by our guide and he gave us a really good tour." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mr S.
Edegem

"Stone Town Discovery Tour"

Based at Emerson Spice on 13 Jul 2019
"A different perspective on Stone Town." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Excellent
Mrs P.S.
Baldock

"superficial over view"

Based at Emerson on Hurumzi on 24 Sep 2018
"It was a good way to understand the layout and history of the place.

It did not include any visits to museums but the guide gave plenty of information.

We were disappointed not to be taken into the slave museum as we has specifically asked for our tour to be focused on the slave trade when we booked our holiday months beforehand." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Average
Mr Peter P
USA

"Stone Town Discovery Tour review"

Based at Chumbe Island Lodge on 19 Aug 2018
"Was a slight dissapointment. Hope to do some shopping for wood carvings, but it didn't happen. The guide and his family were very hospitable for the home hosted lunch. However, it was way too much food for the middle of the day, especially given the heat. Enjoyed the conversation however.

Liked the cafe he took us to, especially the specialty coffee drink.

Hoped to tour the Membi ruins, but it didn't happen." Read more about this whole safari
Overall
Good
Showing 1-10 of 15
88%
15 reviews of this excursion by travellers since Aug-2007.
Overall rating by our travellers
8
5
2
0
0
Filter by month

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team