This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Dr S. from Knutsford

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

1

Amazing trip to Selous, Ruaha and Zanzibar

Tanzania and 1 other country between 3 Nov 2019 and 18 Nov 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a brilliant trip to Tanzania, with a great variety of scenery, wildlife and culture.

We appreciated the gentle encouragement to go to 2 separate safari parks as we had been put off visiting Ruaha by the extra cost, but it was worth every penny. The contrast in environment and scenery between Selous and Ruaha was particularly marked during our visit as the rains had come early in Selous but yet to arrive in Ruaha. We hadn't realised quite how striking the differences between the 2 parks and wildlife were. We appreciated that Olivia didn't pressurise us to book a more expensive holiday but we would recommend highlighting these differences explicitly to future customers.

The variety of walking, boat and driven safari was brilliant, with expert guides and drivers able to find/spot wildlife and share insights about every species. Sharing these experiences each night at the communal dining areas was lovely too.

The guidebook sent to us before the trip was a really useful extra and we used it to book a recommended eco-tour to Jambiani village as an extra. The leather travel wallet has a lovely construction but could do with being a tiny bit larger (just an extra centimetre?) to accommodate the A4 documents sent out before the holiday.

The camps, hotels and transfers all worked seamlessly - there were no niggles beyond a minor adventure with an aircraft stuck in the mud at an airstrip after overnight rain. We felt very well looked after at each destination and extend our thanks to every member of the teams for making our holiday so memorable."

The Slipway

The Slipway

"Comfortable but basic accommodation"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2019
"The Slipway hotel is set in a lovely enclosed area on the coast in Dar es Salaam. The enclosed shopping area with restaurants made it ideal to unwind after a long flight.

The evening food was tasty and there was a great breakfast selection. However, out room was quite rudimentary with clean and basic shower and washing facilities.

We'd happily recommend The Slipway as a stopover before safari, but perhaps choose somewhere more luxurious if staying longer in Dar?"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Delightful lakeside safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2019
"Lake Manze Adventure Camp was a brilliant place to stay in the Selous and have an authentic safari experience. The open nature of the camp, with no fences to keep out the wildlife made for amazing up close encounters with wildlife - on several occasions we were woken by the sound of hippos close by our tent and also saw elephant and buffalo from the porch of our tent.

The tented accommodation isn't high-end luxury, but we found them super comfortable with a hard floors, hot running water and mosquito netted doors to keep insects out; the open air shower and bathroom added to the immersive safari experience.

We took advantage of the possibility of going on walking and boat safari as well as the traditional game drives and recommend all of these activities to visitors.

We really enjoyed the great food each evening served in a communal dining area, as it offered an opportunity to talk with fellow holiday makers and share experiences from the days safari."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Immersive bush camping experience"

3 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2019
"Like its sister camp in the Selous, Mdonya Old River offers super comfortable bush camping with excellent helpful staff, delicious food and an immersive safari experience located on an old dried up riverbed.

From the communal area we had regular visits from giraffe, impala, monkeys and a resident troop of mongooses. The managers set a camera trap one night and shared images of a hyena that also visited whilst we were asleep.

The food served is delicious home-cooked-style instead of a la carte and we preferred the lovely selection of vegetables and side dishes to more restaurant-style rich cuisine. When the weather allowed, we ate under the stars, served by super attentive staff."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

"Unique hotel with central location"

2 nights Arrived 11 Nov 2019
"This boutique hotel has been sympathetically converted from an old warehouse and offers characterful rooms with tall ceilings and high beds, quite unlike anything we'd stayed in before.

The breakfast was very tasty with a lovely selection of fresh fruit and cooked options.

The location is perfect for exploring old Stonetown."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Stone Town Discovery Tour

Stone Town Discovery Tour

"Superb & authentic local tour guide"

12 Nov 2019 • All-day excursion

Our guide Anjam was a wonderful host and showed us a side of Stonetown that you would never discover without a guide.

He showed us the "real" Stonetown - a place that people live in day-to-day, not just a tourist destination - as such we were introduced to local traders, herbal pharmacists and shared coffee with a local book seller. The salted chilli mango was a seasonal taste sensation!

We couldn't recommend Anjam enough - a true gentleman and great company for a few hours.
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe Beach Hotel review"

4 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2019
"We adored the picture perfect white sandy bay at Pongwe; swimming was limited to high tide only, but that meant there was a massive beach to explore by foot at low tide, where locals farm seaweed in tidal pools.

Pongwe is perfect for a few relaxed days after safari and/or a visit to Stonetown. It is unspoilt and has a laid back feel and isn't for people looking for lots of inclusive activities. We made use of the kayaks and swimming options, but were surprised that there was a charge associated with snorkelling, as some literature said that this was included.

The food at Pongwe was great - we ate all our evening meals there and indulged in a massive seafood feast on our final night."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team