This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway

Reviews of The Slipway

Wildlife sightings and reviews

22 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Slipway and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 22
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs L.
Stamford Hill

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2020
"Fine for our short overnight stay.

Also gave us a packed breakfast to take away, due to our early start." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & MS L
Connecticut

"Choose another hotel"

1 night Arrived 6 Dec 2019
"The Slipway made an error in the date of our reservation and failed to pick us up at the airport.

The 'executive' room was tired; a carbon monoxide or smoke alarm was taped to the ceiling. We could not be accommodated in the restaurant due to a party.

It took 2 hours to get to the hotel through choking traffic." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Dr & Dr S.
Knutsford

"Comfortable but basic accommodation"

1 night Arrived 4 Nov 2019
"The Slipway hotel is set in a lovely enclosed area on the coast in Dar es Salaam. The enclosed shopping area with restaurants made it ideal to unwind after a long flight.

The evening food was tasty and there was a great breakfast selection. However, out room was quite rudimentary with clean and basic shower and washing facilities.

We'd happily recommend The Slipway as a stopover before safari, but perhaps choose somewhere more luxurious if staying longer in Dar?" See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs JP
London

"Pre-safari stay"

1 night Arrived 20 Oct 2019
"Adequate for a one night stop over in Dar before going on safari but nothing more than that.
Room was fairly basic but clean. Noisy air conditioning unit.
Pool area was nice and we enjoyed a beer overlooking the ocean as the sun went down.
Reasonable meal in the The Waterfront restaurant.
In general the photos on their website make it look more attractive than it actually is." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Ms R.
San Giuliano T.

"Excellent position "

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2019
"Excellent position on the seafront, with shops nearby.

Friendly staff and good service. They gave us a packed breakfast because of our early start. Much appreciated.

Clean room with a balcony overlooking the sea." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs S
france

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2019
"For the purpose of the stay (a stopover en route to safari), it was perfectly acceptable, the rooms a bit basic, only one towel and one bottle of water provided for two people, and quite a strong drain odour in the en suite bathroom. But the staff were friendly, and both the seafront and terrace restaurants were pleasant." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr J.
Biggleswade

"One night stopover at the Slipway"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2019
"The Slipway provided a great way to relax after our flight and get into "Africa time" rather than heading straight off to safari. The hotel had a nice pool, the staff were friendly and helpful and we had a lovely meal in the evening overlooking the sea. Our rooms were clean, spacious and were on the same floor, which was great as our boys were in a separate room.

The only slight downside was that the traffic to and from the airport was really bad, meaning it took at least 90 minutes both ways and we had an early start (8am pick-up) the next morning to ensure we got to the airport.
Altogether, very happy though." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
NomadTraveller
Eire

"Lovely Hotel and nice location"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2019
"Great location - some small shops outside and in the compound and some restaurants nearby to get some thing to eat also. Ordered a pizza from PizzaHut that took nearly an hour to get to us - i know it was not the hotels fault - just to be aware it is slow - this is Africa after all. the staff working were very helpful in placing the order for us and using their personal phones to assist us." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr MG
SE London

"Perfect 1 night stay at the Slipway"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2019
"Great hotel for a 1 night stop over. About 50 minutes drive from the airport in a nice area of Dar Es Salaam where there's a good selection of restaurants and bars. The staff are very helpful and welcoming." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Damara Dik Diks
UK

"Perfect First Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2019
"The Slipway Hotel was perfect for us for a two night stay in Dar, meeting up with our son. He too had recommended it and we liked its lovely views out to sea, pool and the whole set up. Interesting design and for us, exactly the price and type of hotel we wanted. We loved the fact that we could walk down a level to the shoreline and to some wonderful craft shops selling beautiful African items, and a bookshop. Plus the fact that the Slipway seemed very much a part of life for locals too, and not just an isolated hotel on its own.

Our room was fine, just what we needed. Staff friendly and helpful. Arabic design of buildings really appealed and lovely open air eating area and bar. Good feeling to it as so open plan and part of the community. Not some impersonal big name branded hotel! Didn't feel like we were in hot, busy Dar, but instead had a good feeling of being rather an oasis. Very friendly feel to it. Also had a sense of history to the hotel, and we liked that old world charm. A great place to arrive at from the plane and to look out to sea, and breathe a sign of relief - we have arrived!" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 22
79%
22 reviews of The Slipway by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
11
3
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


83% (181 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (52 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


78% (46 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


84% (11 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Das, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


78% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa