This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway
The Slipway

Reviews of The Slipway

Wildlife sightings and reviews

30 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Slipway and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 30
Duration
Arrival date
LJ and DJ
GJ

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2024
"There is a good Thai restaurant very close by." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Ms G.
Brussels

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 24 Jul 2023
"Perfectly adequate for a one night stay before an early flight.

Friendly staff, nice area" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
FR
Australia

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 10 Jun 2023
"I loved the location of this hotel although it was a bit far from the airport but it was worth it to be by the sea. The shops and restaurant area had a great atmosphere and I loved the sea view from my room." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Botswana; 2n in South Africa; 1n in Zambia; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr W
Essex

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 26 Feb 2023
"Again not much to say about this hotel. I had a day room for 12 hours while I waited for my flight.

The Slipway is in a nice complex if you have a few hours to kill in Dar and don’t want to go too far. The room was clean and comfortable with a decent bathroom.

I spent a couple of hours at the Waterfront restaurant watching the world go by and thoroughly enjoyed a Stonetown Fish Curry." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs K & 5
Maryland

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2022
"Our one night back at the Slipway was fine. They had stored a bag for us for a week which was very helpful. We were able to do some shopping in the small shops in the hotel complex. If we could plan again, we would add another day in Dar to explore the city." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mrs K & 5
Maryland

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 6 Aug 2022
"The Slipway was a lovely introduction to Dar Es Salaam and Tanzania. The staff was welcoming and helpful, especially when helping us with a mixup with airport transportation. The rooms were spacious and beds comfortable after a long flight. The only negative was the breakfast which was disappointing in terms of selection.

We enjoyed the location and the waterfront restaurant for dinner (service was very slow, but the food was good, especially the Stone Town Fish Curry.)" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs J
Leeds

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 22 Jun 2022
"Only stayed one night after the long flight so didn't really explore - but there was plenty of dining options and all the staff were very helpful. Large room and a huge balcony - a bit quirky - but very clean. No issues whatsoever. A good stopover.

Only slight negative - It seemed a long way back and forth from the airport but understood it took us to a coastal setting rather than central Dar es Salam." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Ms W
Austria

"Perfect start for our honeymoon"

3 nights Arrived 7 Jan 2021
"It just felt so great to be back to Tanzania after a long time, and the Slipway was a perfect start for our honeymoon.

We felt so lucky to enjoy live music at the seafront restaurant (every Saturday) in the evening of our arrival. The excellent food and sea breeze made us forget the cold of Europe immediately.

We also liked the pool and the many nice curio shops around the hotel as well as the fact that the hotel, restaurants and shops are frequented by tourists, expats and local people alike, which creates a really nice and relaxed atmosphere." See all these reviews: 14n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs L.
London

"The Slipway review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2020
"Fine for our short overnight stay.

Also gave us a packed breakfast to take away, due to our early start." See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & MS L
Connecticut

"Choose another hotel"

1 night Arrived 6 Dec 2019
"The Slipway made an error in the date of our reservation and failed to pick us up at the airport.

The 'executive' room was tired; a carbon monoxide or smoke alarm was taped to the ceiling. We could not be accommodated in the restaurant due to a party.

It took 2 hours to get to the hotel through choking traffic." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Average
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Showing 1-10 of 30
82%
30 reviews of The Slipway by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
10
15
3
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


82% (179 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


80% (75 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (54 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


80% (17 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Dar, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


80% (10 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton Dar es Salaam

Four Points by Sheraton Dar es Salaam

A typical Four Points by Sheraton hotel, this city hotel provides comfort and style in central Dar es Salaam, offering the perks and familiarity of the Marriott brand.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa