This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hyatt Regency Hotel
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Reviews of Hyatt Regency Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

16 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hyatt Regency Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 16
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs C.
Warwickshire

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2022
"The whole place, including my room stank of cigarettes.

They did not have notification of payment at the point of check in but did by check out.

The roof top bar was full of prostitues with at least one member of the bar staff acting as a pimp!" See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Terrible

Location:
Good
Service:
Terrible
Facilities:
Terrible
Rooms:
Terrible
Activities:
Terrible
Mrs G.& Mr H.
Moelln

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 23 Sep 2022
"The Hyatt is a modern hotel. The rooms need a little bit of renovation. We had a sea-view club room, so we can use the club lounge. You get free wine and drinks and food from 6 to 8 pm. That was such a lot, that we didn't visit the restaurant.
The pool is nice and quite big.
We didn't leave the hotel, because there is nothing around." See all these reviews: 21n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr P
Hertford

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2022
"Due to problems on our outward journey and very late arrival into Dar es Salaam, we only spent about two and a half hours at the Hyatt Regency.

Nevertheless, our limited experience was all fine." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr A
Washington DC

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2021
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr A
Washington DC

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2021
"A comfortable, functional travel hotel in downtown Dar es Salaam.

The hotel was still operating under the strictures of COVID procedures, and probably wasn't quite at its best. Even so, the staff was responsive and efficient, the rooms were nice, and the food in the restaurants was good.

The rooftop bar (which was not fully open on weekdays) provides an excellent view of the harbor, and comings and goings of ferries and other vessels supply a nice back-drop for a glass of wine; it also has a pretty nice billiards table." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania; 12n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs L
Utah

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2021
"The Hyatt was a great place to end the trip.

The breakfast was great.

Thanks to Hyatt for letting us check out late since our flight did not leave until late in the evening." See all these reviews: 20n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Miss N
UK

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"room did smell a bit musty but it was very clean and comfortable.

Food was excellent" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Short stay before flight to Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"An impressive hotel to drive up to. Security very tight with gated access. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Went up to our room with a porter taking the luggage. Room was comfortable and as only had 7 hours there (not overnight) decided to have room service for food. We only had a pizza each but they were promptly delivered on a trolley table at the time they said and were very good pizzas.

When we wanted to check out the porter was immediately up to the room to help and took us to reception. Checking out was painless and the staff friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Stuart
Twickenham

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jan 2016
"We only stayed at the hotel for one night, (New Years Eve), but as expected from such an international hotel, the room was very pleasant, large and good facilities. The hotel, has a great spot out on the waterfront and the roof top pool (which is on the roof of the 2nd floor podium) is great and the roof top bar (on top of the building) is great for an evening drink with views over the bay.

Wort noting the breakfast is very good." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr&Mrs A & M
Malta

"Comfortable and convenient"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The staff are very friendly.

We had a delicious buffet meal and absolutely loved having a drink on the 8th floor." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 1-10 of 16
79%
16 reviews of Hyatt Regency Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
4
9
2
0
1
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


82% (179 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


79% (59 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (53 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


82% (26 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Dar, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


80% (10 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa