This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Hyatt Regency Hotel
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Reviews of Hyatt Regency Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

10 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Hyatt Regency Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 1-10 of 10
Duration
Arrival date
Mr M & Miss N
UK

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 9 Sep 2016
"room did smell a bit musty but it was very clean and comfortable.

Food was excellent" See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs F
Harrow

"Short stay before flight to Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 7 Sep 2016
"An impressive hotel to drive up to. Security very tight with gated access. Staff on reception were very friendly and helpful. Went up to our room with a porter taking the luggage. Room was comfortable and as only had 7 hours there (not overnight) decided to have room service for food. We only had a pizza each but they were promptly delivered on a trolley table at the time they said and were very good pizzas.

When we wanted to check out the porter was immediately up to the room to help and took us to reception. Checking out was painless and the staff friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Stuart
Twickenham

"Hyatt Regency Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Jan 2016
"We only stayed at the hotel for one night, (New Years Eve), but as expected from such an international hotel, the room was very pleasant, large and good facilities. The hotel, has a great spot out on the waterfront and the roof top pool (which is on the roof of the 2nd floor podium) is great and the roof top bar (on top of the building) is great for an evening drink with views over the bay.

Wort noting the breakfast is very good." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr&Mrs A & M
Malta

"Comfortable and convenient"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The staff are very friendly.

We had a delicious buffet meal and absolutely loved having a drink on the 8th floor." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
A family
Yorkshire

"Kilimanjaro Kempinski Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 17 Aug 2010
"Kilimanjaro Hotel was disappointing as on our arrival, the restaurant was closed and they were unhelpful by not offering any food. We had to request towels form our room." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Food:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Ms L
Boston

"My jaw dropped when I saw the room."

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2010
"This is a very nice hotel. I'm not sure I will ever stay at one that is nicer. At the end of a long trip, it was a special treat to be able to stay in such a fabulous hotel.

The bathroom was beautiful, the views were amazing, and the bed and furniture were very comfortable. Room service was surprisingly affordable." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Rwanda; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr B & Dr M
Canada

"Kilimanjaro Kempinski Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2010
"Rooms are well appointed and comfortable.

The service was efficient and friendly and both the breakfast and dinner buffets provided a wide range of very good food." See all these reviews: 15n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr JC
SE London

"Kilimanjaro Kempinski Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2009
"We stayed here for 1 night at the end of our honeymoon. Lovely hotel which is very comfortable but we were really disappointed with the service and attitude of some of the staff when we arrived at 12.30pm. We were made to wait for half an hour when we checked in and were told initially that our room would be ready in a few minutes. At 1pm I asked how much longer we had to wait and eventually was told that our room wouldn't be ready until after 2pm, so the Receptionist suggested we went and had some lunch which we were happy to do, and they would come and get us when our room was ready.

When we tried to have lunch by the pool we were initially told in a rather unfriendly manner that we weren't allowed there as we didn't have a room. Eventually we were allowed but overall it was a rather frustrating and unfriendly welcome we'd received. No one came to find us to say our room was ready so at 2.30pm I went back to Reception...and waited another 20 minutes whilst they tried to find us a room.

Our room was very comfortable and quite stylish but was not a sea view as booked. When I questioned this with Reception they were aware of this but said we would have to wait longer for a sea view room to become available - frustrating so we stayed with the city view room we'd been given.

On the up side, the pool and spa is very nice and Level 8 bar and the Oriental Restaurant are both excellent and very popular." See all these reviews: 12n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The E family
Sweden

"Kilimanjaro Kempinski Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 8 Jan 2009
"We only stayed one night and ate from the buffet. We didn't really get a feeling for it.

The pool is very nice and the rooms were great.

A little too cold when we arrived. The bathroom was very big and cold." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Middlesex

"Cool Kilimanjaro Kempinski Hotel"

1 night Arrived 26 Dec 2008
"We had quite a shock when we arrived here as the comparison to the Serena Inn was so marked. This is a very modern hotel where a lot of thought has gone into the design which was most impressive, with internal fountains etc, but it was very impersonal and the staff not particularly friendly. The bedroom was quite cold and impossible to raise the air-con. Although the bathroom was well designed, I found the bath very slippy and difficult to get out of.

The only meal we had at the hotel was breakfast, which was amazing with a huge choice.

Although the swimming pool was fine, I was a little surprised that there was no shallow end and you were completely out of your depth to begin with.

I'm pleased we had an overnight in Dar. We went to The Slipway on the evening of 26th Dec and arranged for a City Tour for the Saturday before we flew off which gave us the opportunity we had wanted to see Dar which was so different from Zanzibar." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 7n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 1-10 of 10
82%
10 reviews of Hyatt Regency Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
3
5
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


83% (181 reviews)
Oyster Bay

Oyster Bay

North of downtown Dar es Salaam, the Oyster Bay feels like an exclusive hideaway, with its contemporary design.


98% (52 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


78% (46 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


79% (22 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Das, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


78% (9 reviews)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa