This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Grantham

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

Fantastic trip

Tanzania between 7 Feb 2018 and 27 Feb 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a wonderful time overall and met some very interesting people.

We would have no hesitation in doing the same trip again, but I don't think we would take in Mafia Island. I think it's just us - we've outgrown just going to the beach. If we were planning this again I think we would stay an extra night and chill out at Beho Beho (in fact, Beho Beho offers far more luxury than Pole Pole and was much more comfortable) and then maybe a day at Oyster Bay in Dar before coming home."

Arranged By Lyndsey Marris


Sand Rivers Camp

Sand Rivers Camp

"A warm, friendly camp - run by a good team"

4 nights Arrived 8 Feb 2018
"Sand Rivers was a busy camp but extremely well run with a wonderful atmosphere.

It was evident that a lot of thought had been given about pairing people up for the safaris. Michelle and Julian were extremely good hosts and were sensitive to the changing dynamics of the group as characters came and went.

We saw wild dogs and, most unusually, a civet cat who stayed still long enough to be photographed.

Would definitely recommend."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ikuka

Ikuka

"Fabulous location, lovely camp"

4 nights Arrived 12 Feb 2018
"Ikuka was a very well run camp and it was evident that everyone worked as a team, not only to provide guests with a great experience, but because they were colleagues and helped each other out.

The rooms are very comfortable, the food was good and plentiful - in fact, their bush breakfasts were the best I think we have ever had. It wasn't the usual cold fried egg sandwich - it was much more imaginative and changed every day.

In some respects this was a more formal camp in that the staff, including the manager on duty (for us Tanya) was always there to wave you off and greet you back from safari and the staff serving food and drinks were extremely attentive. When we were staying there were some guests who wanted to go for shorter drives and, even though they hadn't booked a private vehicle, every effort was made to accommodate them.

Meal times provided a good opportunity to hear about everyone's day and enjoy each other's company, although it was possible for you to dine privately in your own little group if you wished.

We had some eventful game drives and some quiet ones but were privileged to see roan antelope.

All in all, a luxurious camp, good attention to detail in the rooms, great food and staff eager to ensure you have a good time."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kichaka Expeditions

Kichaka Expeditions

"Superlative - an experience of a lifetime"

3 nights Arrived 16 Feb 2018
"Kichaka is definitely not for everyone, but boy, did we enjoy every moment. The camp is situated high up and overlooks the river - which I found amazingly peaceful.

The focus here is not on physical luxury and enormous amounts of food - although the tents are more than adequate (beats most of the brick and mortar four wall bed and breakfasts I've stayed in), the bucket showers were nice and warm and we never did 'run dry' during a shower even when washing long hair and we definitely didn't go hungry. In fact, it was rather nice to have simpler food after a week of quite elaborate food.

The jewel in the crown, however, is the time spent bush walking. It was amazing, even in such heat and Moli is a master at making sure you are never in the sun for too long before he stops under some amazing tree and hypnotises you all with fabulous tales - ask about the termites - it should be a TED talk!

Obviously, to cope with the walking you need to be mobile and, especially if you are not very tall like me, able to do a little bit of clambering but the pace is not fast. In addition to animals, Moli finds shade and ensures you drink plenty of water. Top tip - if you get hayfever make sure you have antihistamines if you are visiting when the grasses are tall and pollen around.

The guiding here is on a completely different level and I could not begin to compare it with anything else I've encountered in my previous six trips to Tanzania. If you like being out in the bush, visit this camp."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Luxury camp - great guiding"

3 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"This was our second visit to Beho Beho which obviously means we rate it! The camp itself is extremely comfortable but not formal. Set on an escarpment, the bandhas are incredibly spacious and open to the bush. There is also a small swimming pool affording a wonderful view of the world below.

The staff do all they can to ensure you have a good time and, unlike other camps where you are assigned one guide, you go out with all the guides at different times. I really like this system, as you get a different slant as everyone stamps his own personality on his game drives. We saw plenty of game - including wild dogs hunting and had a good day out on Lake Tagalala.

A warm and friendly camp with excellent guiding - thoroughly enjoyable."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole review"

4 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2018
"A comfortable, boutique type hotel with a lovely swimming pool and lots of small places to sit and read or watch the sea or simply integrate all the sounds and sights of our safari.

The food was plentiful and what was really good was the system of choosing what you wanted to eat for lunch and dinner at breakfast time as it meant you were not automatically served four courses if you only wanted two. The english of the staff is a bit patchy and I had made the mistake of saying that I would eat fish. At home I stick to a predominantly vegetarian diet but will eat fish if it makes someone's life easier. The staff at pole pole interpreted this as being that I would eat fish for every course, other then dessert, at lunch and dinner each day. When I said I didn't want to eat fish every day and could I see a vegetarian menu they said there wasn't one. I did speak to the customer relations manager to say I didn't think they had understood that I wanted to eat vegetarian food and could he just make sure that the restaurant staff knew, but again this was lost in translation and there was no supper for me the first evening. I stuck to my guns and they gave me some curried vegetables but thereafter I was offered vegetarian food.

Against this, however, they were incredibly helpful and went out and bought flipflops for my husband as he had forgotten to bring his - so I am sure the mix up was a language issue.

There is good diving as it is set in the Marine Park and is a good base if you don't want to be surrounded by too many people."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Wonderful - Can I do it all again?

Tanzania and 1 other country between 28 Oct 2015 and 12 Nov 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip to Beho Beho in the Selous was fantastic. It might have just been the time of year we travelled, but I don't think I would recommend this as a first safari destination as the game viewing was not as prolific as, say, the Serengheti. We were very pleased that we spent a whole week at this Lodge, not just for the wonderful atmosphere, company and food, but because the first few days we didn't see too much. In a sense this is wrong as there is so much to see, but it was more in the way of landscape and bird life which was truly lovely.

However, towards the end of the stay we saw an enormous amount - it was as though the larger animals had all been off on their own safaris and came back on the same day! So we were driving areas we had visited before and rather than deserted they were heavily populated.

The guiding was superlative and we liked the system the Lodge had of rotating the guides so you went out with each guide and benefitted from the particular enthusiasms and expertise of each.

Kilindi was a lovely chill out place with friendly staff and delicious food - even lots of choice every day for a vegetarian. We had a fabulous time and I would jump at the chance to do it all again and stay at these venues.

Yes, one of our bags arrived two days after us - but people were helpful and this really did not have any negative impact on our trip - in fact, it demonstrated just how much trouble people will go to (Trisha & Heribert at Beho Beho) to ensure you are sorted and inconvenienced to the smallest possible degree."

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Fabulous camp; fabulous people"

7 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2015
"Beho Beho is a beautiful Lodge and, more importantly,it is currently managed by a great team in Phil and Trisha. We really did feel like we were part of a happy, settled, well run home and family and there was a real sense that everyone was a valued member of the team.

The Lodge itself is elevated giving spectacular views over the bush. The bandas are enormous, comfortable and very well appointed and good to chill out in during the hot part of the afternoon if you don't fancy a dip in the pool.

The food was excellent and my vegetarian option was always scrumptious and imaginative.

The standard of guiding was exceptional. We would not hesitate to go back here.

One of our bags was left in Nairobi and Trisha kept on the case and then arranged for one of the guides to drive 2 hours (4 hour round trip) to collect the bag from another airstrip in Selous; otherwise we would have waited 5 days, not 2 for the bag to catch up with us. So full marks."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kilindi

Kilindi

"Wonderful, peaceful chill out hideaway"

7 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2015
"We had a lovely time at Kilindi. This is one of the places to go if you want some total downtime.

The site is quite spacious so all the rooms are quite secluded so it would, theoretically, be possible to be a hermit here if you so wished. The pool / public areas of the hotel overlook a beach much of which is used as a working fishing bay by the local village and during our walks we watched the progress on a boat being built and one being repaired using all the old fashioned tools and not a nail in sight - all put together with perfect wooden pegs. There is quiet, secluded beach area with beds which is away from the fishing activity if you wanted the beach rather than the pool.

The food was stunning. This is the only place that, as a vegetarian, I have had a vegetarian menu each night with as many choices as the standard menu and the balance of flavours was gorgeous.

The staff are friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The hotel will arrange excursions for you if you wish, but there is no pressure brought to bear. This is not a place if you want lots of water sport activity, although there are some kayaks, but is the best place we have found so far if you want peace and space. The food, again, was amazing!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Feb 2013 trip

Tanzania between 9 Feb 2013 and 18 Feb 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"Our trip surpassed all expectations and we have been to Tanzania and other African destinations many times. All our connections were seamless and the Nomad camps and their staff delivered a really high standard.of service and made us feel not just welcome but special.

I can't thank the team (Ellie) at Expert Africa enough for helping us in putting the trip together and suggesting going to Lamai - what a special place."

Onsea House

Onsea House

"Overnight and lunch on return"

1 night Arrived 9 Feb 2013
"The development of Onsea House has been a big improvement. Outward our stay was excellent but on our return where we had a day room and lunch there were very few options on the menu and service was very slow."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp

"Nomad Serengeti Safari Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Feb 2013
"We had a wonderful experience here with great service from all the staff who ran the camp and a good guiding.

Overall it surpassed our expectations and it was a great start to our holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lamai Serengeti

Lamai Serengeti

"Lamai Serengeti"

4 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2013
"We were privileged to be able spend such a wonderful 4 days here. Apart from the last night we had the Lamai camp to our ourselves. Sacha and his team were great hosts and there was nothing that was too much trouble. Our room (no. 2) had simply stunning views across the plains toward Kenya and you could have sat there taking in the scenery and wildlife all day and not got bored at all. Our guide Gabriel who we had met before at Katavi (another Nomad Camp) was simply great and so knowledgeable. We told him that we had the best experience of our all our trips to Africa in those 4 days.

The food and overall standard of service was simply excellent.

I can't think of any holiday where our 8 days away seemed like 3 weeks! Lamai is a destination that everyone who has a passion for East Africa should go to. It's positioning high above the plains provides a really special location with unrivaled views.

Going 'out of season' had the benefit of few visitors but with great wildlife experiences - only the masses of wildebeest were missing but we saw those in the south in the first 4 days"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team