This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House


6°9’41.5"S 39°11’32.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

63 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Coffee House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 63
Duration
Arrival date
TC & K
London

"Hidden gem in Stone Town"

1 night Arrived 4 Jul 2017
"We stayed one night in Zanzibar, before heading off on safari. Arriving in the afternoon, and leaving very early the next morning, this was always going to be little more than somewhere to rest our heads, and a base to wander rounds the streets of Stone Town. Zanzibar Coffee House was recommended to us as a simple option along those lines, and it served it's purpose perfectly. However, it's also somewhere we would happily have spent more time.

Above everything else the staff at the hotel were incredibly welcoming and helpful. We were on honeymoon and to our surprise a couple of lovely chocolate muffins appeared in our room. They also fixed us up breakfast to take with us the next morning, before the kitchen had opened up.

All in all, this is a hidden gem in the heart of Stone Town." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs E
Croydon

"A welcoming refuge in Stone Town"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"The Coffee House is a beautiful old building in the midst of busy and bustling Stone Town.

We were made extremely welcome by the manager, Salome, and her staff made us very comfortable. Our room was comfortable, large - and quiet. We only had one night there, before moving on to our next destination but we returned there a few days later for lunch. Food was excellent and the coffee is good too.

We enjoyed our breakfast with excellent views from the tower top terrace." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
PA, USA

"Great little gem in Stonetown"

1 night Arrived 9 Aug 2015
"Such a cute little place. It reminded me of a hostel for grownups probably because the first floor is literally a coffee shop. The manager here was extremely helpful and super sweet. She was very proactive in asking us what our dinner plans were ( which at that point we had none) she made a few recommendations which led to her making a reservation for us.

We were leaving the next day to head home and she was had no problem offering a late check out which was amazing and very helpful to us.

One word of advise if you stay here, don't bring a lot of luggage as there is no car access to this hotel. You will need to walk a short distance with your luggage." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Canada

"Lovely room with personality"

1 night Arrived 23 Feb 2015
"While the hallways aren't air conditioned, our room was and it was absolutely necessary in February! The room was very large and there was a rainshower in the bathroom. The lounge/breakfast area on the roof top has a nice breeze and is a nice area to relax in. Also - best coffee in Tanzania!!

There is no elevator in the Coffee House, so if you're totally out of shape, this may not be the place to stay. A member of the staff will carry your bags to and from the room, however.

There is a small honour fridge on one of the floors which is convenient for when you don't want to go out for a drink.

The narrow streets outside the hotel and where all the small shops are were kept quite clean." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Dr C
Isle of Wight

"Hotel with character and cool roof terrace"

2 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2014
"Lovely quirky place in the heart of Stowntown just round the corner from Emerson & Green Hotel.
Staff are super friendly and there is an excellent, relaxed coffee shop on the ground floor. Quite a haven.
Rooms are good with interesting decor; the place feels like a proper heritage Omani influenced house.

Best part is the rooftop terrace: you can have a sundowner beer (honesty fridge) looking out over the rooftops.
Breakfast is served there too - a perfect boiled egg and toasted muffin was just the job. Oh and a good coffee of course." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Mrs & Mr H
Canada

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Oct 2014
"A 1 star hotel in the middle of a slum (garbage in the streets, run down buildings). Wifi mostly wasn't working." See all these reviews: 5n in Tanzania; 4n in Rwanda; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Terrible
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Terrible
The M-W family
London

"A beautifully historic place!"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jan 2014
"We loved our stay at the Zanzibar Coffee House! It oozed style and atmosphere - great rooms (our connecting rooms were perfect for our family) - great cafe at the bottom - and an amazing roof top veranda to enjoy breakfast and take a rest from the hustle and bustle of Stone Town.

The coffee served was top notch - "The best!" according to Anne, who is a coffee aficionado." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs T
Victoria

"Interesting place"

3 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2013
"Most people i suspect choose a hotel on the waterfront whereas Zanzibar Coffee House is about 200m inland amongst the maze of laneways in Old Stone Town.

We had a suite which was nice as that meant we had aircon which was nice given how muggy Stone Town got the minute you walked away from the seafront" See all these reviews: 12n in Zambia; 3n in Zanzibar; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs M
Stockport

"Full of character and charm!"

2 nights Arrived 9 Aug 2013
"We had a great stay at Zanzibar Coffee House, the building itself is quirky and charming. We had the most amazing room - Cappuccino suite which was full of character.

The location is excellent and we really enjoyed being at the very heart of StoneTown. The roof Top terrace is a lovely sanctuary and we enjoyed escaping up there once we needed a break from the hustle and bustle. Service was very good and the room was spotless.

We would highly recommend The Coffee House when staying in Stone Town." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar; 6n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms T
DC

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2012
"Really cool building and our room was great. Beautiful roof with views of Stonetown." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 4n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 63
83%
63 reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
25
25
12
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


91% (63 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


94% (23 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


82% (19 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (6 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa