This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House


6°9’41.5"S 39°11’32.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Coffee House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Brockley

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2010
"The most disappointing part of our trip.

While the room was fine it didn't seem like very good value for money. And there was a really irritating intermittent buzzing sound from just outside the window every 10 seconds which went on 24/7. Despite these negatives, the staff were always very friendly, the place was clean, and the rooftop terrace for breakfast was amazing.

So not an awful experience, just one that, unlike the rest of the places we stayed, didn't live up to expectations." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Dr H & family
London

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2010
"We only spent two nights at the Zanzibar Coffee House but very much enjoyed our stay. It is nestled in the maze of streets of Stone Town and so gives you the opportunity to experience the town at first hand.

The staff are delightful and the rooms were all clean and beautifully proportioned with A/C if needed. The coffee was excellent and the breakfast, with fresh fruit and delicious freshly baked pastries. It was a great place to end a brilliant holiday." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr B & family
Norwich

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2010
"The location is right in the heart of Stonetown. It is a very simple, well appointed guest house with a vibrant coffee shop on the ground floor. Lots of people had their laptops and internet access is good and free to residents.

The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. You only get breakfast but that is on the roof top which is fun and you are able to mix (or not, as you prefer) with other guests then.

It is quiet, and you are woken to the smell of fresh baking every morning. The staff are lovely and very helpful." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
The P family
Norfolk

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2010
"I liked the quirkiness of this place but the rest of the family didn't. I guess having a school outside your window starting before 7 and a view of a man having a p in the alley below you are not to everyone's cup of tea.

The real problem was that after our first night of 2 we were told to settle our bill as we were leaving. There had been a mix up in the booking (African end) because of a change in flight times not being passed on to the hotel. When we arrived they didn't ask us why we were a day late nor tell the local agent when we hadn't appeared.

This meant that we had to pack and wait for new accommodation which the local agents sorted out extremely well. They acknowledged their error but couldn't understand why they had not been informed by the hotel when we hadn't appeared on our first night. This rather soured our opinion.

Don't stay here if you like quiet rooms, comforts or luxury. The photos in their brochure do give a rather grand view." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Ms F & Mr F
UK

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jul 2010
"Great interesting / quirky suite room (we had the Capuccino suite) with funny steps and levels, with nice Zanzibar style furniture. The coffee shop downstairs is also very good and they made a nice honeymoon cake for us on arrival which was lovely.

The room was rather noisy at night, so I would strongly advise traveling with ear plugs (middle of town, kids running around, mosque calls etc). Also I thought the floor was quite dirty and you could not walk without shoes in the bedroom without getting dirty "under"feet. They probably sweep regularly but don't think mopping is an option as it's not tiled. (That is why I only selected "average" for the rooms, although I did like the look of them).

The bathroom was clean though.

Good roof terrace at the top with a nice view, where you take your breakfasts. Nice jasmine flowers on our pillows before night time.

" See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Miss & Mr B
Herts

"Zanzibar Coffee House"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2010
"We loved our room at the Zanzibar Coffee House, it was large, airy and very comfortable, it was in a great location near all the hustle and bustle of Stone Town. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Unfortunatley when we left at 6am to come home there was a powercut and we had to pack and get ready in the dark, but in some ways it just added to the experience." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
Norfolk

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2010
"Loved jasmine on pillow, rooftop terrace fantastic, wonderful coffee, really friendly staff" See all these reviews: 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs E
Sydenham

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Jan 2010
"Our stay at the Zanzibar Coffee House was the conclusion to our whole holiday and we were pleasantly surprised to find such wonderful rooms above what is a very modest entrance. (Easily missable if you're not concentrating!) The rooms/suites are all named after types of coffee (not surprisingly) and are decorated with a distinctly north african feel around the centerpiece of an enormous four poster bed. The coffee house is situated in the very heart of Stonetown and, once you have familiarised yourself with the local streets, easily accessible from the popular eating/drinking areas.

The coffee house itself is a charming place to sit and relax away from the bustle of the streets. Breakfast is provided on the roof of the building providing great views of the town and comprising fresh fruit, pastries and cooked breakfast to order. We didn't eat lunch or dinner here and therefore can't comment but the menu looked varied and well priced.

This is by no means luxury accommodation but overall the rooms are large, beautifully decorated and excellent value for money. A perfect base for exploring all that Stonetown has to offer." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Miss S
London

"Hidden Gem in Stone Town"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2009
"I am so pleased that I stayed at the Coffee House, even if it was for only one night. The location was perfect - just 5 minutes walk from the market and not much farther to the waterfront and many of the historic places of interest. My room - the Cappuccino Suite - was huge and, although I arrived early and well ahead of the usual check-in time, the staff ran around and cleaned the room so that it was ready within 30 minutes of my arrival. Just enough time to sample the fabulous coffee!

The Coffee House is 100% run by ladies who were all very helpful. They recommended an excellent (and very reasonably priced) local tour guide who I spent an extremely enjoyable and educational 3 hours with walking round Stone Town. Unfortunately I had to leave very early the following day, so wasn't able to sample the breakfast. However if their coffee and homemade chocolate cake is anything to go by, then it would have been delicious! My only regret about the Coffee House (and Stone Town itself) is that I didn't stay longer.

One thing to note for future travellers is that the room does not have a safe, nor is there a secure facility at reception. There is a small box in each room which you can use to lock away your valuables, however you'll need to have your own padlock." See all these reviews: 11n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Honeymooners
London

"Zanzibar Coffee House stop over"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"Very friendly and a good location to explore Stone Town.

Fairly basic accomodation was clean and comfotable. It was great to have air conditioning and the staff had made a special cake to celebate our honeymoon!" See all these reviews: 4n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 61
83%
61 reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
24
12
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa