This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House


6°9’41.5"S 39°11’32.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Coffee House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 41-50 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs ME
W London

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2009
"The coffee house is full of character and the room was spacious and comfortable. The breakast in the morning was delicious and the coffee's were the best we tatsted throughout our holiday.

The staff were also very friendly and helpful." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr M
London

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2009
"This is a quirky little hotel in the centre of Stone Town. We stayed in the Cappuccino Suite which was a large room with en suite bathroom. The room has an usual layout, reflecting the age of the building, and the owners have furnished the rooms in keeping with this. The bathroom suite looked to be new and the rooms were very clean. As we stayed only one night, we probably didn't experience everything the hotel had to offer but it was very comfortable.

Breakfast is served at the top of the building with 360 degree views over Stone Town, which makes for a memorable experience. The coffee shop downstairs offers a welcome respite from the heat and bustle of the streets outside." See all these reviews: 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
C family
Shrewsbury

"Atmospheric, clean and helpful"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2009
"It was a bit of a shock to be parachuted in to a crowded and busy Stone Town after days by the beach, andf so it took a few hours for us to get our heads around the fact that the hotel was a very clean and comfortable oasis in Stone Town.

The roof-top seating area is lovely - though we didn't find it until relatively late in the day.
As everywhere, friendly and helpf ul staff." See all these reviews: 6n in Rwanda; 4n in Zanzibar; 1n in Kenya; 1n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
M family
Hampshire

"Wonderfully exotic"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"I wasn't sure what I had come to: and you have to walk from the market as the street is so narrow, but a lovely place. Amazing coffee, lovely rooms and I wish i'd discovered the rooftop sitting room earlier: I could have stayed there all day! Sitting on cushions having breakfast above Stone Town's rooftops: probably the best place to view it!

Situated between the market and the main Bazaar street: because it is a coffee house, you have to go out to dinner and return in the dark. I perhaps wouldn't have been happy to do this alone, but as a family of four it was fine although pretty dark. It would be easy and a bit scary to get lost, but much more interesting than staying in one of the main hotels.

the staff even got up at 5.30am to make us coffee and rolls before we left.

Wandering round Stone Town was fascinating, although you need to say "no" quite firmly. Nothing like as bad as India or anywhere though, and very few obvious beggars." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms S & Mr A
New York

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2009
"It's easy to get lost in Stone Town (practically impossible NOT to get lost) but we knew every time we walked out the front door that it would take an hour of wandering to find our way back to the Coffee House. Which is not the worst thing if you have time and enjoy a good wander. We stayed in a split-level suite with a large bathroom and a beautiful big bed. At first it seemed more high-end than Asmini (where we'd been previously), but there were no toiletries for guests - not even hand soap! Service was pretty poor - the female staff downstairs seemed bothered by our requests to make dinner reservations, give us directions or make a recommendation for dinner. We came back to the hotel with 45 minutes before dinner and our towels hadn't been replaced - I had to ask twice just to have a towel to take a shower. We also got to dinner that night and our reservation hadn't been made - we were given the worst table in the house (on the beach next to the boat loading dock - loud, bright and fume-y) which was unfortunate, because we only had one night for what we were hoping was going to be a romantic, relaxing meal. The innkeeper Jane was very sweet and helpful, and breakfast on the roof was lovely. Coffee was also, predictably, delicious. If service had been better we would have been much happier with the Coffee House." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
The H family
Sweden

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2009
"The wonderful roof top terrace was our oasis where we had a very good breakfast, then a nice cold beer in the afternoon and at last a pleasant time late in the evening in the cooling breeze." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr & Mr G
Bangor

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2009
"This had a very authentic feel, with huge rooms, comfortable beds, fabulous coffee and cakes made on the premises, and very friendly staff. It's certainly quirky, but it felt a bit down at heel - the room had a lot of bare floor without rugs, the bathroom was small and pretty basic, the window netting had holes in it - not major problems, but it didn't quite live up to its description on the website.

The rooftop sitting area had spectacular views, though the breakfast itself was a bit disappointing in terms of choice, by comparison with the safari and beach lodges. We didn't get a cooked breakfast on our final day because we had to leave before the kitchen opened at 6.00 am, so they gave us coffee, fruit and muffins.

It's a 10 minute walk back from the waterfront area, but it's fairly easy to take a wrong turning, and pretty dark at night, so you need a torch and a good sense of direction! It felt perfectly safe though." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Mr S-S
West London

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Mar 2009
"During my brief stay, the ZCH was a lively, friendly place with a young clientele. The coffee is excellent!

Although Stone Town is compact and easy to walk around, at night there is little street lighting and virtually no street signs. As many of the restaurants are around Shangani Road, which is quite a distance from the ZCH, it is easy to become disorientated trying to find one's way back across town late at night and I got completely lost doing so!

I hired an excellent guide from under a tree outside the Serena Inn, who charged US$5/hour.

I ate at the Silk Route Restaurant (next to the National Bank of Commerce), which was a tasty Indian restaurant (main course: Tsh15,000)." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 8 Feb 2009
"Liked the quirky room, but it may have been awkward for someone who was a bit unstable ( hell of a walk with several different height steps to the ensuite!!).

They were most helpful in providing us with drinks and something to eat prior to our early morning departure." See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 4n in Rwanda; 1n in Tanzania; 1n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs C
Kent

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Dec 2008
"Judging by the comments of others (Trip Advisor) we are the only people who did not like this hotel.

The room was just over 7ft wide. It was quite long which felt like you were living in a corridor. The bathroom was 33 inches wide. We asked if there was another room available but were told that we would have to pay a lot more for a different room – but that there were none available anyway. Don't remember there being an option for upgrading the room but having looked at their website and the brochure both show tantalising snippets of photos, but no proper images of the rooms!

The staff were helpful and breakfast was lovely, but I would not recommend this hotel to a friend." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Showing 41-50 of 61
83%
61 reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
24
12
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa