This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House


6°9’41.5"S 39°11’32.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House

Wildlife sightings and reviews

61 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Coffee House and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 51-60 of 61
Duration
Arrival date
Mr L & Ms A
UK

"Zanzibar Coffee House"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2008
"Charming 'boutique hotel' style accomodation in the maze of Stone Town's intertwining passages. Cool, clean rooms with beautiful traditional Zanzibari furniture were welcome respite from the heat and grime of the streets.

The roof-top terrace was great for watching the sunset, catching the breeze and for breakfast.

Gorgeous, smiling all-female staff insisted on carrying our bags up 3 flights of stairs to the room (despite serious protesting!)." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
J & P
Ireland

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2008
"Airconditioning!! was soooo welcome after such a hot rip on our white N. European constitutions.

Our room was huge, and in such an athmospheric building - having a beer on the roof at night we were in a different world. A refuge from the noise and warren of the town." See all these reviews: 5n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Lancashire

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Oct 2008
"The room was comfortable, clean, nicely decorated and we did appreciate the fact we had air conditioning, but we had no hot water while we were there as our hot water heater did not work, so cold showers etc.

There also was a lack of information regarding the hotel, such as how we got in at night when the coffee shop was closed, also that we had a honesty fridge upstairs (which at first was not stocked) to help ourselves to soft drinks, or beers. Also the morning we left early, they said they would provide coffee and a sandwich but they didn't say where or what time.

The breakfast lounge up on the roof the only place you could sit apart from your room or coffee shop, was suppose to be available in the evenings, but the night watchman had locked up by 9.00pm so was not available. We can understand if nobody is around they would tidy up but if you are out for a meal , which since it is only B & B you would only get back to the hotel about this time.

Disappointing as I am sure this could be a really comfortable haven in a busy, dusty town, as we where only here two nights it didn't matter to much but I wouldn't like to stay here longer." See all these reviews: 10n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr & Mrs N
Bourne

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Oct 2008
"Rooms very basic and frankly disappointing although air conditioning was a plus. The mosquito net looked as though it needed a wash and the window gauze was damaged. However when a light bulb was reported as not working it was instantly fixed.

Breakfast was good but the take away breakfast on departure was not acceptable.

There were disadvantages to the location - e.g. no vehicular access, so luggage had to be carried ." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
The giraffes
Kent

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 4 Oct 2008
"This is a really nice hotel but what lets it down is its location. It is hard enough to find in the day but almost impossible at night with no street lights or street names to guide you.

However, they do offer to pick you up from your restaurant and escort you home, which would help.

We stayed for one night and that was enough for our purposes, which was mainly bargain-hunting." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Facilities:
Average
H family
Hampshire

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"If you want to be in the thick of the action in Stone Town this is perfect - minutes from the market and only a little further from the waterfront.

You may have to watch where you step in the narrow alleyway outside but inside it's a beautiful oasis and the views from the rooftop terrace are fantastic." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Nightjar Family
UK

"Zanzibar Coffee House"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2008
"Good location for our only day in Stone Town.

Fantastic coffee shop and deceptively good hotel, slightly shabby on the outside but with excellent, tradtionally furnished rooms inside." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 7n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs Dolphin
UK

"Zanzibar coffee house"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2008
"Lovely hotel with great rooms and service. We were given a specailly made welcome honeymoon cake which was a lovely touch! We only stayed one night and had a very early morning start but they organised sandwiches and cake for us. Transfer to and from the hotel was very good and punctual." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Mr & Ms Lion cub
UK

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2008
"We were only at this hotel for a few hours. The location was probably not the prettiest or easiest to find- set in a back street next to the main market. When we arrived, they were not ready for us and we had to wait about an hour and half for our room to be ready.

We hired a guide through the hotel who spent the afternoon with us and he showed us around and was great - if a little expensive! The room at the hotel was really nicely decorated - very authentic and quite quirky being a coffee house downstairs. Sadly, our toilet did not flush which was not very good.

The staff were friendly if not a bit chaotic! Overall, for an overnight stay, it was quite pleasant. However, having seen various other hotels during our tour throughout the day, I think I would choose a more picturesque setting next time overlooking the sea?" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 4n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Activities:
Average
The Flying Fish
UK

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Aug 2008
"A really sweet place. Great rooms, lovely service and brilliantly located to explore Stone Town.

Not much I can really say here apart from try the chocolate milkshake if you ever stay here!

Just far enough away from the ouazzine to not bother us." See all these reviews: 7n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 51-60 of 61
83%
61 reviews of Zanzibar Coffee House by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
24
24
12
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

The Zanzibar Palace Hotel is a highly regarded boutique hotel with very personal service and just nine rooms, all of them Zanzibari in style.


90% (48 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (22 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa