This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs C. from Beaconsfield

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

4

Excursions taken

1

My Sep 2018 trip

Kenya and 1 other country between 14 Sep 2018 and 27 Sep 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a brilliant holiday. We enjoyed our stay in Stone Town, a very interesting place, and our stay at Pongwe Beach was very relaxing and everything we could ask of a beach stay. Our safari experience was on a different scale, exceeding our expectations on every level. It’s hard to imagine how it could have been bettered. More than half of the people we met at the Kicheche Mara camp were repeat customers. They really have got everything right."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

"Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport review"

1 night Arrived 14 Sep 2018
"A very brief stay but all staff we came in contact with were very helpful and welcoming. Room comfortable and bathroom clean. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Great location when you fly in one night and have an early for a domestic flight the next morning."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

"Kicheche Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 15 Sep 2018
"Our first safari experience exceeded all expectations on every level. The camp was delightful, tents were very private and we had a great view from our tent entrance. The communal areas were well maintained and we felt welcome to use these at any time.

Camp organisation was excellent. We were warmly welcomed on arrival. Staff were always ready when we set off and one of the managers (Ray and Thorburn) were always waiting to meet you on your return and hear about your experiences - a very nice touch.

The kitchen and front of house team (Wellington, Charles and Michael) were brilliant. Food was consistently good and my dietary requirements taken care of. There was always someone ‘there’ when you needed anything. Meals were communal, outside for lunch and under cover in the evening. With an ever changing group of visitors, Ray and Thorburn were brilliant at making sure everyone was comfortable and included. Early morning drinks (and biscuits!) arrived on time. Breakfasts and lunch out on our drives were really good too and we were always provided with nibbles to go with our sundowners.

The security team were always on hand to escort us to/from our tent and the communal areas.

We were fortunate to have our guide, Saruni, to ourselves. His skills and knowledge were outstanding and we were very comfortable in his company. We saw so much more wildlife than we had expected and were so incredibly close to the animals. The conservancy scheme certainly seems to work well. We were often the only vehicle watching and were very rarely with more than 2 or 3 other vehicles. We had one long days drive to the Masai Mara national park where we saw a much higher number of vehicles.

Animal sighting highlights - many but include a cheetah- lioness ‘face off’, witnessing a kill (crocodiles getting a zebra that couldn’t get up the river bank), being close enough to see very young elephants suckling, seeing tiny lion cubs play and watching a satiated lion drinking from a water hole, so close that we could hear him.

All in all a most amazing experience that we will never forget."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve

Safari in Maasai Mara National Reserve

"No wilderbeest crossing but a kill"

17 Sep 2018 • All-day excursion

Our trip to the national reserve was a long, and particularly hot, day. There were plenty of wildlife viewings en route. We saw our only leopard here, but were one of about a dozen vehicles. Quite a different feel to the peaceful setting in the conservancy. We didn’t see any wildebeest crossing, but were in the right place and the right time to witness 2 zebras attempt to cross the river. They struggled to climb the bank to get out - one made it but we could see the 2 crocodiles heading towards the other one. We could hear the crunch of jaws on the zebras head. We wanted to watch, but we didn’t!
Good
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

"Zanzibar Coffee House review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2018
"We arrived quite late so were welcomed by the ‘night watchman’. Although the kitchen was closed he offered us a cold drink and some cake. There had been a last minute glitch with our booking meaning the large ensuite room was not available. Our smaller room (Espresso) was still very nice but we had an external, but private, bathroom across the corridor which was a bit disappointing, quite small and dark. We had been given the option to change hotels, but opted to stay as booked and were refunded the room cost difference. The hotel was quirky but charming and staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the roof terrace was a great start to the day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Pongwe Beach Hotel

Pongwe Beach Hotel

"Pongwe paradise"

4 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"A lovely place to finish our holiday. Our room was literally on the beach. The communal areas were very pleasant but the high level of service, attention to detail by the staff and their permanently cheerful approach made our stay really great. We were so well looked after. Breakfast and dinner were excellent. There isn’t really much to do other than relax, swim and read (it was too windy for scuba diving) but it was what we wanted for the end of our holiday. It’s difficult to list all the great staff, but we loved Mary, Moody, Esther and Fatuma."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team