This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel


6°9’36.6"S 39°11’31.3"E

Reviews of Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Wildlife sightings and reviews

46 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Zanzibar Palace Hotel and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 11-20 of 46
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Ms J
N London

"Nice friendly hotel, bit old fashioned for us"

1 night Arrived 28 Jul 2012
"This was a really nice hotel and the staff there were very nice and made a real effort to make our last stop on honeymoon special, but the decor itself wasn't quite our thing.

Having said that the main thing we wanted from Stone Town was a good tour and the tour guide we had was excellent.

There were good bits of the hotel - a nice freestanding bath in the suite we were in, nice beds and good roof top views, but we did see some more modern hotels in Stone Town - Mashariki Palace I think was one - which seemed a bit more special." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr L & Ms F
UK

"Zanzibar Palace hotel"

2 nights Arrived 14 Jun 2012
"Great rooms, great details and a real character hotel" See all these reviews: 6n in Zanzibar; 5n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms O & Mr T
Herts

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 24 Feb 2012
"Beautifully decorated room and well located within Stone Town. We had the Arabica suite which had a small outside balcony.

Very attentive and pleasant service, especially front desk and at breakfast. The only drawback would be the stairs, as Arabica is at the top of the building. We are relatively fit and only middle aged. An older or less fit couple might find the steep stairs more of a problem." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 5n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr O
France

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Nov 2011
"We loved our 'Arabica' suite, even though we feel we did no spend enough time in it to do it justice! We only had a day and a half in Stonetown and so many things to see... The hotel is well located, but as we have found out, nothing is ever far in Stonetown, it is just a question of finding your way around!

Owners and staff were very pleasant and efficient. The hotel if full of character and takes you back in the days of the Sultans, with wifi, flat-screen TVs and DVD players as a bonus! ;-)

We really enjoyed our short stay in Stonetown (after the initial culture shock!) and were very pleased with our choice of hotel." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Dr & Mrs H
UK

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"We chose to end our stay in Tanzania in Zanzibar instead of spending a night in Dar es Salaam and it was well worth the extra short plane hop. We had just enough time to explore and get lost in Stone Town - a fascinating place.

The Zanzibar Palace lived up to its reputation - a beautiful room with enormous bath, excellent service and the best meal of the holiday." See all these reviews: 11n in Tanzania; 1n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Bicester

"Old and new in perfect harmony"

2 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2011
"A beautiful and extremely well run (by a Dutch couple) small boutique hotel.

The location is just a short walk away from all the sights and sounds of Stone Town yet easily accessible by vehicle. There are lit streets around meaning it is safe to walk to and from the hotel at night.

Each room is individually decorated. We stayed in a deluxe room on the top, fourth, floor which involved a steep climb up the narrow stairs but was well worth it for the views and excercise! It really was luxurious with everything needed and more, including balcony, fan, aircon, in room safe, mosquito net over the large hand carved bed, wardrobe, hot shower, dual sinks, wifi, tv and dvd player. You can even borrow a laptop.

Small restaurant serves great food from a small menu and there's also a small bar. Games and books available.

We'd definately recommend asking the staff to organise a walking tour with a registered guide.

A great way to ease back into reality after a safari and beach stay. We'd not seen a newspaper, heard the radio, seen tv, received/sent any emails or texts etc. in two weeks which was bliss.

Highlly recommended for a few nights in Stone Town to experience the history and cultre whilst either acclimitising to Tanzania or preparing for a return to home." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Miss B
London

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2011
"Very helpful and friendly owner who gave us lots of information about what to do in Stone Town.

Room was impressively sized and appointed." See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr McD
Bournemouth

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 13 Aug 2011
"Wonderful counterpoint to the luxury beach and safari hotels.

I loved the hubub and the rooftop room was perfect ... glad we had help with the bags!

Dinner was lovely and special thanks to the Night Porter who kept us comfortable with Breakfast at 0430!" See all these reviews: 8n in Zanzibar; 3n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
The A Family
Hassocks

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2011
"This is not a great hotel.

The rooms are dark, have horrible scratchy fabric on the beds, no chairs to sit on and the bathroom was not very clean, the bath was rank. All very dull and below par.

Very disappointing after our wonderful experiences on safari and in Zamzibar." See all these reviews: 8n in Tanzania; 2n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Mr E & Ms W
Uk

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 21 Dec 2010
"A very beautiful and atmospheric hotel - the room was huge with a quite spectacular bathroom. It is well located and the staff were extremely helpful.

We didn't eat lunch or dinner at the hotel but breakfast was very pleasant." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 46
90%
46 reviews of Zanzibar Palace Hotel by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
28
14
3
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Zanzibar

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Zanzibar.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Other lodges in Stone Town

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Serena Inn

Serena Inn

Now trumped by the nearby Park Hyatt, the Serena Inn, in its historic building, was formerly Stone Town's only international-style hotel.


92% (64 reviews)
Zanzibar Coffee House

Zanzibar Coffee House

The Zanzibar Coffee House is a small quiet hotel tucked away in the back streets of Stone Town, with lovely, simple rooms.


83% (61 reviews)
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

The Beyt al Salaam is a pleasant, boutique hotel with only six rooms and atmospheric and stylish Zanzibari décor.


82% (44 reviews)
Dhow Palace Hotel

Dhow Palace Hotel

The Dhow Palace is a very good-value, mid-range hotel, full of Swahili character, and the pool makes it appealing to families.


79% (39 reviews)
Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice

Emerson Spice is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of Stone Town with individually designed rooms adorned with gorgeous fabrics.


93% (20 reviews)
Jafferji House

Jafferji House

Jafferji House is a converted old house that blends modern facilities with traditional style. The ten, unique rooms are show great attention to detail.


81% (19 reviews)
Kholle House

Kholle House

Kholle House offers an atmospheric Stone Town stay in a historic building, and is very good value for money.


81% (18 reviews)
Swahili House

Swahili House

Swahili House is a traditionally styled boutique hotel furnished to a high standard with a convenient location in the centre of Stone Town.


82% (10 reviews)
Tembo Hotel

Tembo Hotel

The Tembo Hotel is a good-value, family-friendly hotel right on the seafront in Stone Town, with 36 rooms and a good-sized swimming pool.


63% (8 reviews)
Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi

Emerson on Hurumzi was Stone Town's first boutique hotel, featuring antique furniture, unique, stylish rooms and a superb rooftop restaurant.


80% (5 reviews)
Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel

Mbweni Ruins Hotel is very convenient if you want to stay on the beach, but very close to Stone Town, or visit Chumbe Island.


92% (5 reviews)
Maru Maru Hotel

Maru Maru Hotel

In the heart of Stone Town, Maru Maru combines contemporary style and creature comforts with a Zanzibari twist.


80% (2 reviews)
Park Hyatt

Park Hyatt

The Park Hyatt Zanzibar is a high-quality example of this group, with excellent facilities and service.


100% (2 reviews)
Kisiwa House

Kisiwa House

Kisiwa's central location in the heart of Stone Town's Shangani area makes it a great base to explore this fascinating town.


No reviews yet
The Seyyida Hotel

Seyyida Hotel

The Seyyida is a characterful old hotel near the seafront in Stone Town, with the rare bonus of a swimming pool.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa