This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Dr & Mrs H from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

10

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2014 trip

Tanzania between 14 Oct 2014 and 28 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Another really excellent Tanzania safari.

Thanks to Liz for helping us plan and putting everything in place.

Just one thing to point out - not a complaint just for your information!

On the return journey from Dar to Nairobi we had to wait one and a half hours before we could check in our baggage. This was not an ideal place to wait. Other travellers from Mafia were catching an earlier flight to Nairobi with Kenya Airways. If we could have caught that we could have spent the transfer time in the Business Lounge in Nairobi. However, our Mafia Dar flight could have been late if a diversion to Songa Songa had taken place as it did on the outward flight so maybe better to be safe than sorry!!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Lake Manze Adventure Camp

Lake Manze Adventure Camp

"Lake Manze Review"

5 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2014
"We are seasoned safari hands and deliberately chose Lake Manze Camp for two reasons.

Firstly because it offers a more authentic 'bush' experience than some of the more luxurious camps. This proved to be the case - we were able to watch elephants bathing and giraffes passing in front of our tent. The camp blends well with the surroundings giving a feel of fly camping but with added facilities! The tent has no electricity but is spacious and well appointed.

Secondly because we hoped it would provide good game viewing and guiding. The guiding was first class both on land and on the lake. We had stayed at other camps in Selous and had to travel longish distances to see much game. At Lake Manze the game was on the doorstep.

Nothing was too much trouble for the managers - who were under pressure due to lack of water (now resolved). Food was the only negative - not very high quality although vegetarians might be happy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala Camp - briliant experience"

4 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2014
"This was our second visit to Kwihala and the first time we have ever made a return visit to a safari camp. We were not disappointed.

The guides (we had Lorenzo and Saidi) are among the very best we have come across and demonstrate what a difference good guiding makes. Not just been able to spot game but to 'think' like the game and through patience and persistence make unforgettable memories for guests.

The camp is run extremely well and the small size makes for a family atmosphere with tales being shared around the camp fire before a first class dinner in the evening.

We hope the new owners keep Kwihala as it is - as we plan to return!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Butiama Beach

Butiama Beach

"Butiama Beach Review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Oct 2014
"We stayed at Butiama for 4 nights after a safari. It is lovely place to relax and Maura and the staff were welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and well appointed with a lovely veranda with sofa and hammock. A few strides took us to the glorious beach where we could take a stroll or just relax. A light lunch is offered and can be taken by the pool, on the beach or in your room.

Information was given to us on the activities verbally on the first evening.. We assumed all activities were available every day but this was not the case. However when we did ask for a different activity to those on offer they did accommodate us.

A folder in the room with all information would have been helpful and easier than having to ask for prices etc. at the bar.

All in all an excellent end to out Tanzanian holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

My Oct 2011 trip

Tanzania and 1 other country between 13 Oct 2011 and 26 Oct 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was one of our best African holidays.

Careful planning (thanks to Liz) meant we got exactly the kind of camps and experiences we prefer. Most of the time we had a guide to ourselves - always a bonus!

It is hard to think that we can better this - but I am sure we will try. I am reliving our wonderful holiday completing this feedback

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

No"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala - excellent camp"

2 nights Arrived 14 Oct 2011
"Selous Impala was a really good first stop for a safari holiday.

Ideally situated overlooking the river the camp offers both driving and water activilies. We enjoyed both - the variety of birdlife and the fishing on the water and the beautiful game drives around the acacia forests. We were fortunate to see the wild dogs en route from the airstrip and Gerrard came up trumps with an excellent lion sighing.

The camp is very well run with excellent service (personal waiters and Masai warriers to escort us to bed.)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala fly-camp

Selous Impala fly-camp

"Selous Impala fly camp"

1 night Arrived 16 Oct 2011
"A lovely experience. A friendly efficient team catered for our needs.

It was wonderful to get up at sunrise and watch the wildlife wake!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Selous Impala Camp review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2011
"good"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwihala Camp

Kwihala Camp

"Kwihala CAmp review"

4 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2011
"This camp was the highlight of our stay in Tanzania. Beautiful tents were widely spaced to give maximum privacy. Service was exceptional - even the drawers were tidied and clothes refolded.

The bucket showers provided a touch of the real bush experience. Without doubt, however, our stay was made 'special' by the guiding of Marius. Marius has a true passion and is very happy to share it liberally. We were happilly riisng each day at 5 to be off by half past to experience the African sunrise.

Game viewing was excellent - two lion prides, leopards and 700+ buffalo - lots of bird life. We are old African hands but we found we still had much to learn."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Pole Pole review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2011
"We really enjoyed our stay at Pole Pole after staying in safari camps. It was very relaxed and designed to allow visitors to chill out. Excellent room with a terrace and day bed. With the package comes a free activity each day - we chose a snorkeling trip in a dhow followed by lunch on a deserted island and a trip to Chole island where we saw the remains of the old slave market, a modern dhow building and hundreds of fruit bats.

A trip to swim with the whale sharks (not free) was a wonderful experience.

The down side of Pole Pole as mentioned elswhere is the tidal nature of the site. Activity timings depend on the tide and swimming from the beach is not easy. We were disappointed that the new swimming pool was not available - we understood it was to be finished in January."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Zanzibar Palace Hotel

Zanzibar Palace Hotel

"Zanzibar Palace Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 25 Oct 2011
"We chose to end our stay in Tanzania in Zanzibar instead of spending a night in Dar es Salaam and it was well worth the extra short plane hop. We had just enough time to explore and get lost in Stone Town - a fascinating place.

The Zanzibar Palace lived up to its reputation - a beautiful room with enormous bath, excellent service and the best meal of the holiday."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent

Expert Africa

Zambia between 8 Sep 2008 and 23 Sep 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"A really excellent trip! One of the best organised trips we have done to Africa.

Particularly appreciated help through Lusaka airport and obtaining visa. All transfers went like clockwork and there was mimimum loss of holiday time in transferring from camp to camp.

Well done.

Suggestions for improvement:

No"

Arranged By Lucy Copson


Chongwe River Camp

Chongwe River Camp

"chongwe river camp"

4 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2008
"Enjoyed the water based activities very much, fishing and canoeong excellent. Night drives disappointing and long. Wildlife viewings from the canoe excellent.

Visit to village and cultural centre a highlight - to be recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team