This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs F from Sussex

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

My Nov 2012 trip

Botswana between 1 Nov 2012 and 13 Nov 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"A wonderful holiday with exactly the type of camps and experiences we wanted."

Arranged By Megan Green


Image alt

Westcliff Hotel

"Westcliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2012
"Very pleasant and comfortable hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in both restaurants was excellent.

Although it was half an hour from the airport it was worth the drive even for a one night stay. The hotel offers free shuttles to the shopping malls but we didn't get the time to take advantage unfortunately."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Lebala Camp

Lebala Camp

"Lebala Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2012
"Good size rooms, very comfortable and smart decor. Very friendly staff and good food, the only camp that served hot porridge for breakfast!

The drives here were longer, compared to the Wilderness camps, which we found a bit tiring. We had General as our guide for the first day and when he had to fly back to Maun Charles stepped in and was an amusing and knowledgable guide. We were treated to seeing wild dogs most days and otherwise saw a good range of game and birds. The open topped vehicles did mean we were open to the sun and in the firing line of branches, but also gave great visibility for birds and for stars.

The older vehicles also meant that the drivers were able to really drive off road without problems. The only camp to have a tracker as well as the guide in the vehicle.

Our walking safari got exciting when we suddenly spotted a leopard, but Charles was very calm about it and quickly radioed for the vehicle so that we could try to get closer."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Tubu Tree Camp

Tubu Tree Camp

"Tubu Tree Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Nov 2012
"A beautiful setting with elevated rooms and lovely communal areas. The rooms are smaller than some of the pther camps which did make them feel very hot during the day. The camp was very smoothly run with lots of attention to detail. Our guide Gibson was accommodating to the different wishes of all his guests and was keen to please and learn.

This camp, and it's staff, didn't feel quite as relaxed as the others but it may have been because leopard had been in the camp and the staff were concerned about guests moving from the rooms to the communal areas. The walkways to the rooms would have benefitted from a boardwalk as walking on the dark sand made everything very dirty. The traditional night on Monday was excellent and had a very traditional feel.

The mekoro ride was very relaxing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Chitabe Lediba

Chitabe Lediba

"Chitabe Lediba review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Nov 2012
"This camp has the feel of a larger organisation, being so close to the bigger Chitabe camp. The rooms are very large and have a modern, clean feel. Lovely comfy chairs to relax on both indoors and on the verandah. Large communal areas and a very relaxed feel to the camp.

The splash pool area is lovely and definitely the nicest pool of all the camps we stayed at. Our guide Mo was extremely knowledgable and skilled as well as entertaining. The game viewing was the best of our trip. The food was very good quality and well presented."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Little Vumbura

Little Vumbura

"Little Vumbura review"

3 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2012
"Arriving by boat in the summer is a short ride from the parking spot but a lovely way to arrive at the camp. The rooms are of a good size and have a traditional feel. The food here was of extremely high quality and very varied. The traditional evening in the boma provided us with a huge variety of food in three courses and the entertainment from the staff was very enthusiastic. The staff were relaxed and seemed to genuinely enjoy working at the camp.

Our guide Kay was knowledgeable but not as chatty or easy to get on with as other guides. We discovered wild dogs on our last day and were privileged to be able to follow them tracking their prey."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team