This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

74 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 19 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

82% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

7% success

Zebra

100% success

Black Rhino

89% success

Giraffe

89% success

Buffalo

76% success

Eland

71% success

White Rhino

71% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Wildebeest

47% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Striped Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 74
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs H
Glasgow

"Superb Accommodation "

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2018
"Staying at the Emakoko was a real treat. We were collected from the airport by our guide Jeramiah who was superb. We commenced a game drive prior to arriving at The Emakoko which was a fabulous start to the holiday.

The welcome at the Emakoko was great nothing was too much trouble. Rooms are perfect and the communal areas very welcoming. I cannot rate the food highly enough, fine dining." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms S
Ste Marthe

"The Emakoko review"

0 night Arrived 12 Mar 2018
"This was a brilliant idea!! The place is gorgeous and a wonderful way to unwind, shower and get ready for the long trip home.

The lunch that was served was fabulous! Worth every penny." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs P
Darlington

"Wonderful base for exploring Nairobi Ntl Park"

2 nights Arrived 12 Mar 2018
"We loved the Emakoko. The food was outstanding, and the wines offered (mostly African) were excellent. Our room was beautiful and quite comfortable, with an attractive view of the property from our balcony.

We were amazed at the number and variety of animals we were able to see this close to the city of Nairobi. Our guides were friendly and well informed.

The staff at Emakoko couldn't have been any friendlier, and management went out of their way to help us with travel logistics for a trip back into town." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
SueD
UK

"Amazing place"

1 night Arrived 22 Feb 2018
"The Emakoko, situated in the Nairobi NP, was a wonderful surprise. The lodge is stunning, the food totally amazing (en route for a Michelin star surely). I stayed here for the convenience of being (roughly) between the two airports and an earlyish morning flight out, and by arriving around lunchtime was able to do a game drive that included good close-up sightings of white rhino. Great place, lovely staff. One night was not enough! - it would have been lovely to relax here for a couple of days at least." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2018
"This is a great place to start or finish your trip to Kenya.

We stayed here once before for one night but felt that this was too short so this time we stayed two nights. This worked much better as we were able to visit the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust as well as seeing a good diversity of wildlife on the game drives. Nairobi National Park is an excellent place for viewing both white and black rhino.

We were really impressed with the quality and variety of the food. Each meal was like fine dining in a high-end restaurant. " See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr Jeff D
USA

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2018
"We loved The Emakoko.

It was a perfect segway to going on safari. And it was an excellent location right on the Nairobi National Reserve.

Very happy we stayed two nights as we arrived very late on the first day. Even though we arrived very late, Anthony had a lovely dinner waiting for us. Our room was fabulous, located right near the main lodge. Though we had read that the rooms all the way at the top had better views, we feel that those on the lower level, after a long, strenuous flight, had views very similar, and had great views also, and did not require any stair climbing. We really only had one afternoon to enjoy all its features since we were recovering from our long journey to Kenya the day before we arrived. We wish we'd had even more time! The pool was under maintenance so we were not able to experience it on our stay. " See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr V
Texas

"Two Nights at the Emakoko to Start"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2018
"We began our safari in Kenya with a two-night stay at the Emakoko at Nairobi National Park. This was a great way to level into the trip and shake off our jet lag. Our BA flight from London did not get into Nairobi until almost 10:00 PM, and by the time we got to the lodge, it was after midnight. Nevertheless, the staff and manager had stayed up to greet us and prepared a light dinner for us. This was definitely a nice touch and a welcome repast.

Our assigned guide, Elizaban, also met us at the airport and drove us to the lodge. As it was low season (late January), there was only one other couple at the lodge, so our game drive the next day was private, and the level of guiding was excellent. The food was uniformly good and the staff was incredibly friendly. Our Safarilink departure the next day was at 10:00 AM, and our guide transported us to Wilson Airport, giving us a mini-game drive en route.

By the time we left, we were well-rested from our long flight schedule from the U.S. Even better, we were already in the safari groove. Staying at the Emakoko was definitely the right call for us and provided a great start to our trip. " See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr S
Chicago

"Great place, perfect location, divine Emakoko"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jan 2018
"A perfect start to our trip. Two nights in a superb haven right by the National Park.

The staff were many and attentive. The rooms were large and beautiful. The food and wine was excellent. And the safaris and excursions were perfectly organized.

This is an absolute must. It couldn't be bettered." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs P
Wiltshire

"Day room at Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2017
"Room and food superb. Unfortunately the journey to and from the airports was too long, very bumpy and dusty. Owner suggested 45 min maximum time to get to International airport and it took an hour and a quarter at least, especially with the extra security checks at airport perimeter" See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr C & Mr A
London

"Very nice, albeit brief, stay"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2017
"We stayed here for one night after we arrived in Nairobi and before heading to the Masaai Mara.

Very nice accommodation, lovely staff, good food and very convenient in Nairobi National Park" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 74
96%
74 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
62
10
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (61 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (56 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (48 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


79% (27 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton

Four Points Nairobi Apt

The Four Points by Sheraton (part of the Marriot group) is one of the newest additions to the hotels within Kenya International Airport’s security perimeter.


92% (25 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


97% (23 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


90% (6 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


100% (3 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa