This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

116 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 53 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

75% success

Leopard

3% success

Cheetah

13% success

Wild dog

5% success

Zebra

88% success

Giraffe

88% success

Black Rhino

80% success

White Rhino

79% success

Buffalo

74% success

Eland

61% success

Wildebeest

56% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Striped Hyena

6% success

Pangolin

3% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 116
Duration
Arrival date
Ms A.
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2023
"What a unique spot! I found The Emakoko an ideal place to wind down before traveling home. The view from Room 10 was amazing, the staff members were very nice, and the food was great.

While I did not see any of the animals from the wildlife survey during my day at The Emakoko, I did see a couple of very cute Sykes' monkeys, lots of hyrax, and some nice birds. I also saw several black rhinos in Nairobi National Park, on the side near the main gate." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Simona
London

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2023
"The Emakoko was the best way to start our trip.

After a long flight and a late arrival, we found ourselves in a magical place having a wonderful dinner. The lodge is beautiful, the staff attentive, the food great.

The visit to the elephant orphanage and the afternoon game drive were also really exciting activities." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Ms M.
Canada

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2023
"A great luxury lodge. I would recommend it to anyone." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

MBG
Tucson

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2023
"amazing food and people and
rooms and lobby. luxury !!!!!" See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

White Rhino

1 sighting

Mrs C.
California

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2023
"A nice bit of luxury after being in the bush for 8 days. Beautiful rooms and excellent food.

My one complaint would be the way I was dropped off at the airport. Peter was not able to stop close to our terminal and did not help us in retrieving a cart to carry our luggage. He unloaded the luggage and left us to find our way. After the excellent way I was greeted when I arrived in Nairobi, I was expecting better." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

White Rhino

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms K.
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2023
"My room at the Emakoko was incredible, just breathtaking. It was hot and I was surprised there wasn't air conditioning in the hotel like there was at Tamarind Tree. But still, the room was so beautiful. The one thing wrong was the fan. It was incredibly loud and noisy (could not have it on when I was in the room) and did nothing to cool the room at all. Placed somewhere else in the room and much quieter would have been better. The outside walkway was in need of repair and seemed to be a trip hazard. The other facilities were beautiful.

The food was a little bizarre - there were a couple of dishes none of us could eat. Maybe focusing so hard on gourmet that it took away from just good food. The gentleman who took us around Nairobi shopping was wonderful. The gentleman who took us to the airport, just dropped us, didn't even offer to help with our bags or offer any advice on where to go or seem to care at all - just awful. Jane wasn't even dropped at the right terminal.

The rest of the complete, horrible chaos at the airport - 4 hours of lines for luggage drop off and passport control and only making the flight because they held it - were the fault of the airport, not the gentleman from the Emakoko. Regarding the wildlife sightings below, we declined a game drive on our arrival and just wanted to see whatever wildlife we saw on the way out shopping. Nairobi National Park was pretty dismal and depressing after the beautiful Masai Mara, mostly due to the lack of rain, I'm sure." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Giraffe

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Striped Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms J.
USA

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 6 Mar 2023
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 2 Feb 2023
"This is a great place to stay when arriving in Nairobi and when about to depart as it is close to the international airport and Wilson airport.

It is a really good place to see white and black rhino." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

6 sightings

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Canada

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 12 Nov 2022
"As a post-safari stop to refresh prior to the journey home, the Emakoko provides an opulent environment to reflect and unwind.

Rooms feature large balconies overlooking Nairobi National Park, which are shared amongst the many resident Hyrax and Sykes Monkey! Dinner was equally superb; the only complaint here was having to depart for Jomo Kenyatta and the long voyage home!

Note that we did not opt to partake in a game drive.. as a result of the current drought, the conditions in the park were arid; we spotted a few impala on the way to the Emakoko but other than that, the wildlife was less abundant than our previous experience and we chose to take advantage of some needed downtime at the resort." See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms R.
Mons

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2022
"The lodges were built ten years or so ago and unfortunately, though my daughter’s lodge was cool, mine was orientated to preserve the heat. Opening the glass terrace doors was a relief and an invitation to curious monkeys and other wildlife who through time have become charmingly familiar. Here, I longed for a screen door. But that paled into insignificance with the charm of our Host and his knowledge of Kenya. The staff were attentive and kind.

Our Guide, Elizaban took us on game drives where we saw masses of Ostrich and our only rhino. Visiting also the Elephant Orphanage and the Giraffe Center….both place’s unmissable for children. But more than that, we were treated to the feeding of a newly born Giraffe which our Host had collected after it had been found abandoned and mutilated by some human. We were impressed by the gentle humanity this very young Giraffe was being shown.

There is nothing superficial to the commitment that our Host has for all his undertakings, it was impressive. As were his staff. Elizaban even attempting to teach Balthasar and Octavia to drive the Suzuki….to their utter joy and delight! Out of the three camps we stayed in, their Chef was definitely the winner." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 21-30 of 116
97%
116 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
100
14
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (144 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (59 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (59 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


91% (53 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (35 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


82% (34 reviews)
Tamarind Tree Hotel

Tamarind Tree Hotel

The Tamarind Tree is a stylish international hotel in a great location next to Wilson Airport.


90% (21 reviews)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (14 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


98% (8 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (6 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


84% (5 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge

Ololo Safari Lodge and Farm is a luxury property on the southern edge of Nairobi National Park.


100% (1 review)
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages

Karen Blixen Coffee Gardens and Cottages is small luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen.


60% (1 review)
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa