This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko
The Emakoko

Reviews of The Emakoko

Wildlife sightings and reviews

87 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited The Emakoko and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 30 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at The Emakoko.
Lion

89% success

Leopard

5% success

Cheetah

13% success

Wild dog

9% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

93% success

Black Rhino

90% success

Buffalo

85% success

Eland

79% success

White Rhino

73% success

Wildebeest

64% success

Spotted Hyena

52% success

Striped Hyena

5% success

Pangolin

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 87
Duration
Arrival date
Deb & J-M
Australia

"The Emakoko - Our special place"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2019
"We visited twice with a two night gap at The Giraffe Manor in between.
Both visits were wonderful.

The Emakoko was our favourite place to visit from all the places we stayed across Africa in the month we were there.
We think it was the very special people who work there that made the difference, as we stayed in many beautiful lodges and accommodation types across Africa.

Rooms: The accommodation for our first visit (Room #10) was superb. Very clean (& i am very particular), special touches galore, view, layout, 'wow factor' all there in spades. I would not change a thing nor was there anything to fault.
During our second visit the room was low & close to the lodge... can't remember number? 3 perhaps? and was not as special.
A bit dark. Couldn't use bath as it was so badly damaged, safe didn't work, no battery in walkie talkie, view not as spectacular. However, the cleanliness, attention to detail with the special touches ie flowers, 'welcome back' message and the care taken to keep the fire going so it was always warm whenever we arrived at our room, made this visit very special also.

Food: Fresh, innovative, tasty, plentiful and the wonderful, warm & friendly, professional service team made it all the better for eating. 5 star.
Lawrence & Patrick and their teams seemed to be able to predict and be one step ahead of us in respect to anything we may wish for ie more bread, a wine top up etc. J-M's dietary needs were very well addressed and he enjoyed all the alternate dishes made with care just for him. Some Swahili lessons (we asked for some tips) were very much welcomed and enjoyed by us both also.

Personnel: 11/10
Everyone made us feel at home and so welcome. Nothing was a problem. Any slight request or inquiry was acted on straight away, even when we didn't expect it. The team at the Emakoko are proud of what they do and how they do it and it shows. They are warm, genuine and very friendly people and seemed as happy as we were to see us again when we arrived for our second visit. it was like 'coming home'. Very professional, organised and always a step ahead. The team are always looking for ways to do that little bit extra to make you feel special and surprise you & it works. It was very sad to leave.

Game drives:
10/10
The knowledge of our game drivers and sightings we saw were amazing.
Both had a wicked sense of humour. Elizban particularly had a perfect sense of timing and knew just when to stop and for how long... his sense of timing was almost as good as his sense of humour!
We were very fortunate with each drive to see something very special eg 2 lionesses and 5 cubs, family of hippo (mum, dad & baby) 'water dancing' just on sunset, white rhinos etc." See all these reviews: 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Spotted Hyena

2 sightings

White Rhino

5 sightings

Wild dog

5 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs M
Weymouth

"Amazing to be so close to Nairobi"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2019
"This was an amazing camp in a national park so close to Nairobi that you could see the city skyline as well as wildlife in front of you.

The pickup from the airport and transfer to camp was so well organised, it was a game drive in its own right when we arrived as soon as we passed through the park gates.

We were only here for one night, but this camp is worth a longer stay.

Great food and accommodation - and the rock hyrax love to eat the roses!!!!!" See all these reviews: 17n in Kenya; 9n in Zimbabwe; 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

White Rhino

6 sightings

Wildebeest

8 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Steve H
Leeds

"Amazing Emakoko"

1 night Arrived 29 Jan 2019
"Ideal first call from JKIA to start off a safari - Nairobi National Park is underrated and getting to Emakoko is just a game drive away.

Emakoko is a wonderful lodge - great cottages in a wonderful setting with abundant birdlife. Fantastic food. Elizaban is a knowledgeable and friendly driver/guide and all the staff are helpful and attentive whilst also managing to be discreet! Antony is a very congenial host and runs a great lodge

A great introduction to a safari." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr F & Mrs B
Preston

"Emakoko Review"

1 night Arrived 25 Jan 2019
"We spent just a half day there as day guests in readiness for our overnight BA flight home. Originally we intended to visit the giraffe sanctuary but found this would take a long time and it was better for all of us to chill out after a very busy week of game drives etc.

The food was excellent and it was in a great location. However the drive there had some of the worst roads we had seen ! Very bumpy !

Overall a nice ending to a perfect trip but maybe the Emakoko is looking a little bit tired now ?" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

2 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

7 sightings

Mr C & Mr K
Oxon

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 15 Oct 2018
"We were in Nairobi for 24 hours and it was an ideal way to spend our time - being on the edge of Nairobi NP was much better than staying in a City Centre Hotel.
Staff very attentive and Rachel was an outstandingly welcoming host.
Very good food.
Very spacious and comfortable rooms. Ours was at the top so getting there was hard work but it had the best view." See all these reviews: 15n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

6 sightings

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

White Rhino

2 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr & Mrs P
London

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"Great place to finish off safari holiday and relax prior to return flight home.

10 very comfortable rooms - 5 along valley floor and 5 up on the top of the valley slope. Plenty of activities on offer - we chose to just chill out before our flight home.

45 min drive to airport." See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 4n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Carluke

"Nairobi safari"

2 nights Arrived 26 Aug 2018
"Fabulous lodge with equally fabulous staff. Extremely welcoming and attentive. Room huge and comfortable with good views of gorge.

Guide very good on safari and helpful when visiting Giraffe sanctuary and SheldrickTrust. Outsdanding food, as good as top restaurants at home.

Need two nights to enjoy all lodge has to offer." See all these reviews: 8n in Zambia; 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

4 sightings

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Giraffe

8 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Zebra

4 sightings

Dr H
Sussex

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"Enjoyed the stay here, even though only 1 day game drives.

Saw good number of animals and birds.

Friendly staff" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

White Rhino

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs P
Horsham

"The Emakoko review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2018
"Very welcoming even though we arrived at almost midnight. Lovely adjoining rooms, just a shame we weren't there to enjoy them for longer.

Very bumpy difficult access.

Location, easy access to airport and in the national park - difficult to say much more." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
The C family
Surrey

"The Emakoko review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2018
"Cannot really fault Emakoko - nice place - nice people, but the journey late at night through traffic and then over rough(ish) game roads was not really worth it. Took over an hour.

We arrived very late in the evening and left very early in the morning so there was not much point in the effort of going. A nice hotel very near the Airport would have been a much better idea.

Didn't get a chance to see any of the Park and in any event since the have now built a Chinese built elevated Train line right through the middle of Park it is not worth seeing." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Poor
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 87
97%
87 reviews of The Emakoko by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
74
11
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Nairobi

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Four Points Nairobi Airport

Four Points Nairobi Airport

The Four Points by Sheraton, set within the perimeter of Nairobi International Airport, is ideally located for a first or last night in Kenya.


91% (80 reviews)
Eka Hotel

Eka Hotel

The Eka is an affordably priced business-class hotel in a relatively convenient location between Nairobi International Airport and Wilson Airport.


86% (62 reviews)
Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

The Ole-Sereni is a modern, stylish hotel neighbouring Nairobi National Park and located 6km from Wilson domestic airport.


79% (58 reviews)
Macushla House

Macushla House

Macushla House is a very pleasant, small, owner-managed bed and breakfast hotel in a leafy part of southwest Nairobi, very convenient for visiting the Giraffe Centre and Sheldrick's Elephant Orphanage.


90% (52 reviews)
Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport

Crowne Plaza Nbi Apt

The Crowne Plaza Nairobi Airport (formerly known as the Lazizi Premiere and now part of the InterContinental Hotels Group) is the oldest hotel at Nairobi International Airport.


88% (52 reviews)
Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor

Giraffe Manor is a unique, perennially popular lodge on the outskirts of Nairobi, offering up-close-and-personal encounters with the rare Rothschild giraffes that roam its extensive grounds.


98% (32 reviews)
Aero Club of East Africa

Aero Club of East Africa

The Aero Club of East Africa is a private members' club in the grounds of Wilson Airport, Nairobi, offering offering comfortable rooms and a good restaurant, bar and swimming pool to non-members.


81% (31 reviews)
Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi

Hemingways Nairobi is a luxury country-house style hotel, with a spa and gym, in the wealthy suburb of Karen.


97% (6 reviews)
Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp

Nairobi Tented Camp is the only tented camp located inside Nairobi National Park, making it a great option for a true safari stay close to the city and airports.


88% (5 reviews)
The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel

The Norfolk Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Nairobi and has a reputation for its colourful history dating back to 1904.


100% (4 reviews)
Palacina

Palacina

The Palacina is a complex of accommodation options in a quieter part of central Nairobi.


80% (4 reviews)
Hogmead

Hogmead

Hogmead is a stylish, luxury boutique hotel/homestay in a secluded part of Langata in south-west Nairobi, very close to Nairobi National Park and the elephant orphanage.


80% (2 reviews)
Karen Gables

Karen Gables

Karen Gables is a small, high quality hotel in Nairobi with expansive gardens and only seven rooms.


100% (2 reviews)
Sankara

Sankara

Sankara is a strikingly built hotel in the bustling central Nairobi suburb of Westlands, primarily used as a business stay, with very good dining and leisure facilities.


90% (2 reviews)
Eden Nairobi

Eden Nairobi

One Forty Eight is a very stylish boutique hotel in one of the leafiest corners of the southwest Nairobi suburb of Karen-Langata. The Giraffe Centre at Giraffe Manor is just a 10-minute walk away.


100% (1 review)
Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp

Acacia Camp is a rustic and affordable safari camp in a wildlife sanctuary a 30-minute drive towards Mombasa from Nairobi’s international airport.


No reviews yet
Tribe

Tribe

Design-led, contemporary hotel in the Village Market area of Gigiri, a largely diplomatic and luxury residential suburb 10km north of Nairobi’s central business district.


No reviews yet
The Stanley

The Stanley

The Stanley is a large, traditional hotel – the oldest in Nairobi – offering a range of facilities.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa